We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glacier Bay Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Lane Inn(Juneau)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Juneau(Juneau)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel(Juneau)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
JuneauAspen
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
73
102
31
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
102
31
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkboat tourtwo nightsglacier bayshuttle busday cruisealaska airschool busvisitor centermountain goatslounge areawhale watch tripdeck menuranger talkenjoy natureamazing locationsea lions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It's too bad National Park Service has Aramark running all the great park lodges. You can always plan on mediocrity served up at high prices. Glacier Bay Lodge fits the model. We stayed here because it is a grand park lodge with grand views.

You get picked up at the airport in a ratty bus with dirty windows that you couldn't see wildlife from if it was on the road shoulder. The entire lodge shows similar lack of maintenance. The chair in the room was stained and sagging. The lock on the window was missing. Heater panels hung crooked. The towels were thin and worn. The list goes on. Front desk service seems kind of variable in quality. However, it's a reasonable place to sleep before your bay cruise.

I'd check out one of the highly rated places in Gustavus if returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our group of 86 was stranded by fog at Glacier Bay Lodge 2 extra unplanned days. The staff at Glacier Bay Lodge turned around on a dime and accommodated our group as though they were expecting us, but in reality most of their people worked extra time {some all night 2 nights in a row} to provide wonderful meals and accommodations for lodging, even finding lodging near by to provide for the whole group. All that in addition to watching hump back whales frolic in front of the lodge at any given time, or the several times momma moose and calf were grazing on the grass in front of the lodge. On morning they were just outside the window to greet us when we woke up. What could have been a disaster was turned into an enjoyable time due mostly to the excellent staff going way beyond the call of duty.

Room Tip: This is the kind of relaxing place that any room is excellent. Bring rain gear and boots to enjoy the beauty.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The rooms are basic, but acceptable in a national park lodge, although my so-called "lake-view" room offered only glimpses of the lake through thick forest. However the food is terrible. The breakfast buffet is filled at 6.00 am for those taking the (fantastic) Glacier Bay tour and not refreshed, so by 8 am it is virtually inedible. Poor food and appalling service at dinner - you are trapped there and they know it. The general attitude of the staff varies from indifference to hostility.
On departure I and several others took the ferry from Gustavus to Juneau. Although the ferry company had telephoned the lodge to say the ferry was running 90 minutes late, we were simply dumped at the dock at the scheduled time, and left to wait on the open quayside, where there is absolutely nothing, not even a rest room! OK if the driver had to be somewhere else, but he returned just before the ferry arrived to collect other guests.
That experience perfectly summarises the attitude of this place to its guests.

Room Tip: Higher rooms to ensure lakeview
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Conveniently located in Barlett Cove, clean, cozy rooms, gorgeous surroundings, excellent ranger programs, great restaurant, get to whale watch from the restaurant or the beach right on the property! Only downside - breakfast is buffet only at 13$ a pop with no ala carte choices.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dl0vestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 5 days and nights at the lodge. The shuttle service is indeed free but we did tip our driver because he was very good and he took us where ever we wanted to go and on time if we had a flight in or out.
The rooms were very clean and rustic and big.We did have on major complaint. There are no QUEEN size beds. Only twin. Come on not even queen beds. There is room for queen beds in the rooms.
Food, well it was mediocre. Not bad just not great for the cost. Exact same menu every day. Which is okay if you are only there for 1 or 2 days. One evening and the the next morning I found one and 2 hairs in my food. I brought it to the attention of the waitress and her response was "it is probably mine".That was when we started to get a shuttle into Gustavis to the cafe for our meals.

Room Tip: Get a room closest to the water. Not clear water views. But beautiful foliage.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews