We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a National Park Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a National Park Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The lodge was everything that I expected - great accommodations, good food (best Caesar salad I've had in a very long time), amazing view, informative hikes and talks. I'm not sure what some of the people who are posting expect, but this is typical of National Park lodges.

I agree with the person who posted "Why would you stay anywhere else?" because they did offer a variety of hikes and talks. I, too, took advantage of all of it and can't imagine being able to do this if I had stayed in Gustavus.

In addition I saw a moose and a porcupine on the main road. I hadn't seen those anywhere else.

The Glacier Bay tour was amazing. I was able to see a plethora of wildlife including eagles, harbor seals, puffin, whales (Orca and Humpback), bears, and mountain goats. The glacier calved several times while we were there as well. I know how fortunate I was to see all of this. Nicole, our ranger, was extremely informative. We were fortunate to have her as our guide.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heavenly628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    90
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
45
105
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The challenge with this property is that it has no competition. While there are some small inns in Gustavus (and I'd probably recommend them over the lodge for sleeping comfort and food), the lodge is the only location on the water, in the park. Aramark has no NEED to do anything to get business or do much to ensure guest satisfaction since few will return and future guests will make much the same choices between comfort and location. Although the local inns seem more expensive, once you include food, transportation, service and amenities it is probably closely priced.

Location - as others have written, the location is terrific - right in the park and up by the water. The nature element of lodge property itself feels a bit overgrown - beware of rooms saying they have a bay view - most have trees grown up in front. Nice nature trails around the lodge and down to the water with a nice interpretive trail.

Check-In - Inefficient. The lodges computer systems, like the lodge itself, probably date back to the late 70's so check in is slow and retrieving information is painful. We were not given our breakfast vouchers as the printer wasn't working and were checked in to the wrong type of accomodation - not a bay view room as we had booked. We chose not to switch and were credited the difference in price. Friendly front desk staff but felt like management/professionalism felt absent - lots of "stumbling" to get things together.

Lodging - The main areas are in need of modernization - more efficient common seating areas, electrical outlets and updated wireless would be nice improvements. There is a NPS outpost on the 2nd floor with information on the area which is informative and helpful. The sleeping accomodations are individual buildings holidng 2-3 rooms which themselves are a throwback to the 70's. The rooms are tired with all-purpose carpeting, beds featuring minimal mattresses, polyester bedspreads and tired linens and bathrooms with dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and bath gel that were all empty. (Photos attached). Lighting was OK and each room did have it's own coffee maker. For the $ charged I would rate this a one star. Housekeeping came very late in the day. As with other Aramark lodges - you are paying for the privilege of being in the park not for the quality of the lodging.

Restaurant - like the lodging - typical Aramark - nothing fancy and relatively pricey for what you get. They don't have to be good because there is only one dining option on-site and guests are usually only there for 1-2 meals. Several key items were out of stock during our stay including basics like bagels & a pork tenderloin entree. Our server Christian was good natured, helpful and attentive - as were most of the servers we encountered. We had one small challenge not getting our breakfast vouchers when we checked in so we mistakenly paid for a breakfast which the restaurant manager Michael took care of by crediting a later meal.

Excursions/Gift Shop - these are concessions and not operated by the lodge. Glacier Bay Boat trip is pricey but worth it to see these incredible works of nature along with a wide variety of animal life. (See separate review). We booked but didn't take a kayak excursion but heard from others that it was nice for a half day, but a bit long for the full day. Gift shop is stocked with snack items, some camping supplies and souvenirs. You can also rent bicycles ($25/half day) to get into "town"

Campground/Other facilitites - The park also has a walk in campground which was very lightly used while we were there and laundry and restroom facilities at the lodge.

Room Tip: Don't shell out extra for Bay View - most rooms views are blocked by grown up trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

You come here once in your life, and you probably stay for two nights.
I arrived at noon on the ferry. At 2, I joined a 90 minute ranger hike; at 4, I viewed the movie; at 5 a brief talk @ whales; at 6, a 20 minute talk by a Tlinget native - followed by a 40 minute q and a with 8 guests; at 7 the evening ranger program; at7:45 dinner at our reserved table. Next morning, we walked to the dock for the all day boat trip - everyone else came by van or minibus. That night, another evening ranger program. Third day, 2 1/2 hour morning guided walk w/ranger. After lunch, trail hike ... Then goodbye.
Try to do that if you stay anywhere else!

A lot of the following is to address previous negative comments ....

About the lodge. It,s 50 years old, open 100 days a year. It,s a typical nat park lodge - rustic, lots of wood, no plastic. We'll maintained. No tv, no wifi - but why did you come here?
The staff is all seasonal , lots of college types, friendly, anxious to help, but not always professional (remember, these are the same kids who leave two
week,s worth of underwear on their bedroom floor).

The rooms are spacious, rough sawn wood walls, carpet clean, as is small bath. Each room has a queen and a twin. We never unpack for a two night stay, so the twin provided an ample "closet"
The rooms are in separate modules of 4 units or so, connected to the lodge by open boardwalks. We had a " view" room. Didn't ask or pay extra for it. 50 years of tree growth have obscured the views .... ( the park service doesn't chop down trees to provide room views).
The prices are NOT high - Alaska Has the highest col in the us, and dining room prices were comparable to every place we visited in AK.

The dining - of course the menu doesn't change. You,re only here two nights, in the middle of a national forest! The halibut dinner was the best I have ever eaten. Breakfast is buffet only; they could never serve a la carte and get the mob to the boat on time. Reserve a table for dinner, or prepare to wait.
There is only a service bar, but you can drink in the dining room or the lobby, with it,s gas (can anyone guess why? ) fireplace.

Like I said, why would you stay anyplace else?

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jkwhimsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed for 2 nights at the glacier bay lodge. You have got a very nice view from the lobby/restaurant on the bay. The view from my room however was mainly on trees and other cabins. I liked that the room was spacious. Unfortunately housekeeping does not seem to do a very good job. There was still a lot of hair from previous guests in the bathroom. There was even an used bend-aid (plus hair) in the drain of the tub, yuck.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimion2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed there 2 nights in the end of July. It's in a very rural location. Hotel was nice, close to the bay, hiking trails, and a great boat tour. Food was not bad, however since it's so rural, you have to eat breakfast lunch and dinner here, because there is no other place to get it. Customer service was strange. Sometimes the front desk people were very helpful, and sometimes they seemed clueless. On our last day, we had a flight out at 5:08 pm. They scheduled us to take the last shuttle to the airport at 345. Bus driver was late! He ended up getting us (and 25 other guests) to the airport at about 445. We all rushed in, and Alaska airlines refused to let us on the plane, because we hadn't checked in 40 min ahead of time. Given the fact that there is not Internet in this town at all, there was no way to! Alaska air was firm on not letting us in the plane, and told us we needed to find a place to stay for the night ( they also mentioned that the hotel has done this before, and knows to bring people early to the airport!!)The hotel was not interested in the problem and did not in any way help us out. This was annoying because it was their fault! So word of advice: take an early shuttle to airport!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homewood415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were quite disappointed when we visited Glacier Bay Lodge. I was told when I booked our package that meals were included. When we arrived, we were told they were not. They did give us vouchers for breakfast. There was only one restaurant and the first night we ate there, at both the table next to us and our table the bills presented were not correct - example: the crab cake starter I ordered was $13.95 and came back on the bill at $32.00. It was corrected but it took the table next to us, three tries to get their bill right. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired - when we arrived there were cleaning supplies left on the bathroom counter in our room and the next day the room was not cleaned at all. We were early in the season - second weekend they were open - and it felt like they were not ready. The people at the front desk were trying and everyone was friendly but it appeared that there really was not a competent manager in charge.

It's a beautiful location - I hope they get their act together.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
221 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The main lodge is very nice and the lobby is welcoming and cozy. The restaurant is adequate and the service is friendly and accommodating. Rooms are good-sized, clean, quiet, and adequately appointed. And pif course, the location is stunningly beautiful. But it is the mattress from hell. The mattress is so bad, it is hard to even comfortably lay down with a book for a half hour in between activities. I wish there were some real competition to pressure the Lodge to a higher standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
8.9 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
4.5 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
5.3 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Bay Lodge

Property: Glacier Bay Lodge
Address: 179 Barlett Cove, Gustavus, AK 99826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glacier Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Bay Hotel Gustavus
Glacier Bay Lodge Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing