We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday June 6 2014 Whales”

Cross Sound Express Whale Watching
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Gustavus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: To begin with...I do not delete, hide or edit ANY reviews on this page. That being said...our vessel is 50’ long with seating for 28 passengers and an open back deck with a rain awning for viewing and photography of the whales and wildlife. We depart from the Gustavus City dock which is approximately 9 miles from Glacier Bay Lodge and Glacier Bay. From there we generally take the 7.2 mile crossing in Icy Strait to an area by Chichigof Island known as Point Adolphus. The crossing takes about 35 minutes and quite often we will check out Sea Otters on the way over. Once we get to PA (Point Adolphus) we position ourselves near the whales and shut off the engines so we can drift with them and we place our Hydrophone in the water to hear their sounds over our speaker system. Although we always see whales (up close) we usually also see many Stellar Sea Lions, Bald Eagles and sometimes the occasional Alaska Brown Bear strolling the shores of Chichigof Island. During the course of the tour we offer information about the area, the whales, and the other wildlife we encounter. On the average we see Orca (Killer Whales) about a dozen times a season.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Friday June 6 2014 Whales”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Taz is a comfortable boat. The Captain allows people into the wheelhouse to view whales and with permission allows you onto the bow. We spotted Sitka Black Tail Deer but no Bears. Early in season, so not many whales, but we did see whales. Lots of sea life. Plenty of hot drinks and snacks on board. Glad we took the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BRubin510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable wedding on The Taz!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We recently celebrated a wonderful event on The Taz, a whale-watching boat operated by Cross Sound Express. My fiancé and I got married during a tour on The Taz on July 18, 2013, and we could not have asked for a more memorable wedding. An afternoon on The Taz surrounded by numerous humpback whales was the highlight of a trip that we took to Alaska in the summer of 2011. So when we started making plans for a 2013 trip, we made sure to include another whale-watching trip with Captain Tod Sebens and his crew. After our 2013 Alaska trip was planned, we started talking about getting married while we were there and wondered about The Taz. We saw on the Cross Sound Express website that Tod had hosted weddings on The Taz before, so we gave him a call. Previous weddings had been chartered trips, but we were just interested in a short ceremony during our scheduled tour. After checking with other guests already scheduled for the same tour, Tod eagerly agreed to our request. Since we do not have any family or friends in Alaska, we asked Tod if he would be willing to actually perform our ceremony by obtaining a marriage commissioner’s license. Alaskan law allows anyone to obtain a license to perform a ceremony for a specific couple on a specific day. Again, Tod readily accepted and filled out all the legal paperwork required to officiate. Our wedding on The Taz was incredible. Tod was so accommodating, and he and his crew went out of his way to make our day extra special. We highly recommend The Taz for whale-watching even without a wedding! Tod takes you to where the whales are, and then he turns off the boat and lets you enjoy watching and hearing the whales all around you. Between our two trips, we have seen breaches and bubble-net feeding, and we have had whales right next to the boat. The many sea lions and otters are a bonus!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“Wonderful family experience”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We really enjoyed the experience of watching whales with Captain Tod and Jenty. It was a very fun and imformative tour. We saw lots of whales, of course, but also porpoises, sea otters, sea lions, sea birds, etc. Our 6-year-old was really excited to see whales and porpoises playing in the ocean. The water was really calm, and the scenery surrounding the bay was spectacular. We'd love to go back someday. Thank you, Tod, and Jenty!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank naoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

By time our travels brought us to Gustavus and Glacier Bay we had already had a few impressive encounters with whales, and we strongly considered canceling our trip on the Taz. Good thing we didn't. I don't know how Captain Tod does it but he has become amazingly in tune to where the whales are. Got close enough that we all felt the spray when the whales spouted as they dropped below our ship. It becomes a group event to call out when you spot a whale, but we came to a point in the bay where we all fell silent, whales surrounding us for 360 degrees and breaking surface every five or ten seconds. There was no reason to point anything out - we were in their world and we all took it in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SafariJeff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ultimate whale watching experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We had a great day out with Captain Todd on the Taz. His knowledge of the whales and wildlife and love of the area made the day exceptional. We had fabulous views of humpbacks enjoying a 'massage' in the kelp beds, feeding in synchronised groups and sounding all around us. He was also able to tell us so much about the sea otters rafting up with their babies, the large numbers of bald eagles and all the wildlife.
A truly memorable day with a great character.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PerthExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Sound Express Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Cross Sound Express Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing