We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host and great cabins”
Review of Cottonwood Lodge

Cottonwood Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gustavus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottonwood Lodge
Adirondack, New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Great host and great cabins”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

It was a fabulous cabin and Frank, the owner, was extremely friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Also told us about a nice trail right in town which was not visited by anyone when we were there. Because we brought our own car we never asked Frank to chauffer us around but we saw him taking other guests to/from the ferry. Nonetheless, if someone needs microwave, telephone, internet access, many people around, restaurant, night entertainment then these cabins are not a right fit.

The one-room cabins had everything we needed and are ideally situated in a peaceful spot among trees, loacted in isolated place although very close to the road leading to Glacier Bay Lodge where our tour started. Our only regret is we did not stay longer. Some experts on the Alaska forum emphasized it would be too long to stay five nights in Gustavus. That definitely wouldn’t be too long for us if we wanted to do, besides a boat tour of the Glacier Bay NP, whale watching, hiking on all trails in Glacier Bay NP, maybe biking around town, relaxing and enjoying this remote and tiny town of Gustavus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Gustavus is a very charming town unlike any tourist places. Staying at Cottonwood really helped us get the local feel. We stayed for two nights. The owner, Frank, is more than nice. He was very helpful and accomodating. In fact, the whole town is. I have not been in a place like this in the U.S.

We got there by plane and he picked us up at the smallest airport I have ever been at. The cabins are beautiful, tucked in the woods just as he said on the website. The inside is clean and well equipped. Kitchen works very well. It is quiet and slow paced, takes you away from the real busy pace in our normal life. We had a very comfortable stay.

We rode around in the bikes he provided, did a little grocery shopping and went to the Pep's packing (fish store) and got some fresh salmon to cook for dinner (as well as smoked ones to bring home). They are the best!

Glacier bay tour was very nice. Frank dropped us off and picked us up as we booked through him. The second day we went hiking in the park again, very nice but it was rainy. We were grateful Frank let us use the cabin until the late afternoon (our check out day) so we could change and clean up (from mud and rain).

We love this place and would like to be back someday soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluebear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our visit was much as the previous reviewer described -- great!

Owner Frank is a friendly, accommodating host who provided round trip transportation to and from the airport, as well as transportation to any activities (sea kayaking, Glacier Bay National Park boat tour) purchased through him.

The cabins are set back just enough from the road, and are surrounded by trees, to have a wilderness feel, but a one minute walk from your front door puts you on the main road through Gustavus.

The cabins have a fully stocked kitchen (no microwave, so do your grocery shopping accordingly) and have an upscale studio apartment feel rather than a rustic or tired cabin. Lots of windows provide great natural light, and its secluded deck with chairs & BBQ were a great spot for our nightly happy hour.

Frank provides bicycles free of charge, and Gustavus roads are flat. We both biked and walked to explore and to buy groceries, etc. Glacier Bay National Park Lodge is about 8 miles away, with a few small hills near the lodge, so we opted not to bike there, using the aforementioned transportation or the hourly shuttle bus provided by the park concessioner.

We'd definitely stay here again on a return visit!

Room Tip: All cabins have identical floorplans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWeekOrAWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the cottonwood lodge for 3 nights.
We chose this place as an alternative to the glacier bay lodge which most people stay at, as we were seeking a "getaway from the masses" type of vacation (this was just the impression I got from my short visit to the lodge and some reviews I read online. I'm not saying that the lodge is a bad place).

Frank, the owner, picked us up from the Gustavus airport, stopped at the grocery store on the way (for us to buy supplies) and then took us to our cabin.

The cabin was beautiful, clean and cozy. It included a fully equipped kitchen, a comfortable bed, a couch, a dining table and a specious shower room. Outside there is a small balcony with a grill for preparing the daily catch. There was also an excellent heating system in the cabin which kept us warm at night.

The cabins are located in a good distance from each other to maintain privacy and allow a quiet environment.

A little word about Gustavus: The town is very small, but is spread out on a relatively large area so most attractions are not in walking distance. There are no buses and the only public transportation available is the local taxi service which is not cheap.

Frank supplies bikes to his guests to reach some of the closer places and if you book attractions through him - he will also offer you a free ride to and from the attraction.

In general, Frank was very helpful and gave us good advice and recommendations for our time in Gustavus.

If you're seeking a quiet and relaxed time near Glacier Bay - this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meirgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
0.0 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
0.0 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Lodge

Property: Cottonwood Lodge
Address: Gustavus, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Gustavus
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Cottonwood Lodge Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing