We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottonwood Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Lane Inn(Juneau)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$151
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Juneau(Juneau)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
18
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry dockglacier bay tourfrankbikesairportlodge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 20 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

It was a fabulous cabin and Frank, the owner, was extremely friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Also told us about a nice trail right in town which was not visited by anyone when we were there. Because we brought our own car we never asked Frank to chauffer us around but we saw him taking other guests to/from the ferry. Nonetheless, if someone needs microwave, telephone, internet access, many people around, restaurant, night entertainment then these cabins are not a right fit.

The one-room cabins had everything we needed and are ideally situated in a peaceful spot among trees, loacted in isolated place although very close to the road leading to Glacier Bay Lodge where our tour started. Our only regret is we did not stay longer. Some experts on the Alaska forum emphasized it would be too long to stay five nights in Gustavus. That definitely wouldn’t be too long for us if we wanted to do, besides a boat tour of the Glacier Bay NP, whale watching, hiking on all trails in Glacier Bay NP, maybe biking around town, relaxing and enjoying this remote and tiny town of Gustavus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Gustavus is a very charming town unlike any tourist places. Staying at Cottonwood really helped us get the local feel. We stayed for two nights. The owner, Frank, is more than nice. He was very helpful and accomodating. In fact, the whole town is. I have not been in a place like this in the U.S.

We got there by plane and he picked us up at the smallest airport I have ever been at. The cabins are beautiful, tucked in the woods just as he said on the website. The inside is clean and well equipped. Kitchen works very well. It is quiet and slow paced, takes you away from the real busy pace in our normal life. We had a very comfortable stay.

We rode around in the bikes he provided, did a little grocery shopping and went to the Pep's packing (fish store) and got some fresh salmon to cook for dinner (as well as smoked ones to bring home). They are the best!

Glacier bay tour was very nice. Frank dropped us off and picked us up as we booked through him. The second day we went hiking in the park again, very nice but it was rainy. We were grateful Frank let us use the cabin until the late afternoon (our check out day) so we could change and clean up (from mud and rain).

We love this place and would like to be back someday soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluebear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our visit was much as the previous reviewer described -- great!

Owner Frank is a friendly, accommodating host who provided round trip transportation to and from the airport, as well as transportation to any activities (sea kayaking, Glacier Bay National Park boat tour) purchased through him.

The cabins are set back just enough from the road, and are surrounded by trees, to have a wilderness feel, but a one minute walk from your front door puts you on the main road through Gustavus.

The cabins have a fully stocked kitchen (no microwave, so do your grocery shopping accordingly) and have an upscale studio apartment feel rather than a rustic or tired cabin. Lots of windows provide great natural light, and its secluded deck with chairs & BBQ were a great spot for our nightly happy hour.

Frank provides bicycles free of charge, and Gustavus roads are flat. We both biked and walked to explore and to buy groceries, etc. Glacier Bay National Park Lodge is about 8 miles away, with a few small hills near the lodge, so we opted not to bike there, using the aforementioned transportation or the hourly shuttle bus provided by the park concessioner.

We'd definitely stay here again on a return visit!

Room Tip: All cabins have identical floorplans.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AWeekOrAWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the cottonwood lodge for 3 nights.
We chose this place as an alternative to the glacier bay lodge which most people stay at, as we were seeking a "getaway from the masses" type of vacation (this was just the impression I got from my short visit to the lodge and some reviews I read online. I'm not saying that the lodge is a bad place).

Frank, the owner, picked us up from the Gustavus airport, stopped at the grocery store on the way (for us to buy supplies) and then took us to our cabin.

The cabin was beautiful, clean and cozy. It included a fully equipped kitchen, a comfortable bed, a couch, a dining table and a specious shower room. Outside there is a small balcony with a grill for preparing the daily catch. There was also an excellent heating system in the cabin which kept us warm at night.

The cabins are located in a good distance from each other to maintain privacy and allow a quiet environment.

A little word about Gustavus: The town is very small, but is spread out on a relatively large area so most attractions are not in walking distance. There are no buses and the only public transportation available is the local taxi service which is not cheap.

Frank supplies bikes to his guests to reach some of the closer places and if you book attractions through him - he will also offer you a free ride to and from the attraction.

In general, Frank was very helpful and gave us good advice and recommendations for our time in Gustavus.

If you're seeking a quiet and relaxed time near Glacier Bay - this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meirgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews