We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw moose and picked wild strawberries!”
Review of Cottonwood Lodge

Cottonwood Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gustavus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottonwood Lodge
Saint Cloud Fl
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We saw moose and picked wild strawberries!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Beautiful cabin in wooded area. He provided bikes and we rode to the little store, and saw 2 moose on the side of the road. There were delicious wild strawberries to pick in the fields. Frank provided transportation to and from the ferry, he also set up reservations for our wonderful boat tour to glacier bay and provided our transportation. The restaurant, store and grocery are within walking distance, but we rode the bikes. They showed us their beautiful garden and green house. They took time to make our visit special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raqueleliseann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phillip Island, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay at Cottonwood Lodge cabins,surrounded by nature.Spacious,spotlessly clean self catering cabin.Recommend you bring your own food supplies as local store caters to bulk supplies predominately.Your alternative is to eat at the local cafe or restaurants at nearby lodging.Frank will loan bikes to get around and offers shuttle from ferry if arranged.He is also happy to take guests to tour points if tours are booked through him.Thanks Frank for your great ,friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in a cabin here for three nights during our visit to Glacier Bay and couldn't have enjoyed it more. The cabins are clean and light, and well placed within the trees so you feel like you have your own little slice of the Alaskan forest! High ceilings, lots of windows -- my mother liked it so much that she's thinking about using the design for her own cabin one day. Frank was friendly, very helpful, and dropped us off and picked us up from the Lodge and kayaking (particularly helpful since it always seems to be raining in the Southeast). Highly recommend -- be sure to check out the beautfiul greenhouse tucked away in the back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in a cabin at "Cottonwood" for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Frank, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful and suggested walks that we really enjoyed.
The cabin was roomy, extremely clean and comfortable, and it was great having use of the very well equiped kitchen. The area is beautifully quiet, the only sounds you hear are the birds!!
We did the full day Glacier Bay cruise from Bartlett Cove which was excellent.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone who is looking for somewhere so natural and quiet.
We really enjoyed being able to experience non touristy Alaska.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0eleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We enjoyed our two weeks in Cottonwood Lodge. We were greeted with warm hospitality and friendly advice from Frank and Anne. Our cabin was cozy, roomy, clean and quiet. We had a queen bed and a well-equipped kitchen. Frank was very helpful and informative, ready to assist with tours or charters you may be interested in.

We were located off the main road in town and we easily walked to and from the gallery café, the antique shop across the street, Sunnyside market and the Mercantile store. We rented a car from Bud to capture some dawn and twilight photos in and around Gustavus and Glacier Bay. As a temperate rainforest it’s wise to have a light raincoat and boots handy. When it did rain, we went out walking in the cool rain as it passed by and we did not see the showers stay for very long or rain very hard. As the rain clears, the sun appears through the clouds and the landscape is dramatic. This place is a gem and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondack, New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

It was a fabulous cabin and Frank, the owner, was extremely friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Also told us about a nice trail right in town which was not visited by anyone when we were there. Because we brought our own car we never asked Frank to chauffer us around but we saw him taking other guests to/from the ferry. Nonetheless, if someone needs microwave, telephone, internet access, many people around, restaurant, night entertainment then these cabins are not a right fit.

The one-room cabins had everything we needed and are ideally situated in a peaceful spot among trees, loacted in isolated place although very close to the road leading to Glacier Bay Lodge where our tour started. Our only regret is we did not stay longer. Some experts on the Alaska forum emphasized it would be too long to stay five nights in Gustavus. That definitely wouldn’t be too long for us if we wanted to do, besides a boat tour of the Glacier Bay NP, whale watching, hiking on all trails in Glacier Bay NP, maybe biking around town, relaxing and enjoying this remote and tiny town of Gustavus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Gustavus is a very charming town unlike any tourist places. Staying at Cottonwood really helped us get the local feel. We stayed for two nights. The owner, Frank, is more than nice. He was very helpful and accomodating. In fact, the whole town is. I have not been in a place like this in the U.S.

We got there by plane and he picked us up at the smallest airport I have ever been at. The cabins are beautiful, tucked in the woods just as he said on the website. The inside is clean and well equipped. Kitchen works very well. It is quiet and slow paced, takes you away from the real busy pace in our normal life. We had a very comfortable stay.

We rode around in the bikes he provided, did a little grocery shopping and went to the Pep's packing (fish store) and got some fresh salmon to cook for dinner (as well as smoked ones to bring home). They are the best!

Glacier bay tour was very nice. Frank dropped us off and picked us up as we booked through him. The second day we went hiking in the park again, very nice but it was rainy. We were grateful Frank let us use the cabin until the late afternoon (our check out day) so we could change and clean up (from mud and rain).

We love this place and would like to be back someday soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluebear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
0.0 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#2 of 5 in Gustavus
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
0.0 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Lodge

Property: Cottonwood Lodge
Address: Gustavus, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Gustavus
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Cottonwood Lodge Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing