We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this trip”

Spirit Walker Expeditions - Day Tours
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Gustavus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spirit Walker Expeditions is a unique facilitator of Alaskan travel and wilderness experience. The leader in premium guided sea kayaking trips since 1987.
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Went on a Whale Watching Day Trip in late August. The kayaking was easier than I thought it would be. We saw a lot of spectacular scenery and wildlife including whales, seals, sea lions, etc. The guide (Jessi) was wonderful.

Thank Traveller111Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWE_Alaska, Manager at Spirit Walker Expeditions - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing your Whales! Day Trip with Spirit Walker Expeditions, and I'm glad you had such a memorable (and easy!) day of kayaking. I couldn't agree with you more about Jessi... she is indeed a wonderful guide and we're thrilled to have her back in 2014 for another summer of sea kayaking! We hope to see you again in Gustavus one day too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a wonderful 7 day wilderness kayak trip leading to the Hubbard glacier in the Russell Fjord outside of Gustavus. The small plane ride to the fjord was spectacular. We were led by 2 phenomenal guides who were not only exceptional in their leadership/kayak/camping skills but extremely knowledgeable naturalists as well. They were a wealth of information and all their equipment was top notch. They were very attentive and extremely personable. The scenery and meals were fantastic. We loved listening and watching the calving of the glacier, paddling among icebergs, camping in fields of wild flowers, viewing sea life and scores of unique birds. What a fabulous experience.

1  Thank antiquerAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWE_Alaska, Manager at Spirit Walker Expeditions - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for joining Spirit Walker's most remote wilderness expedition! Our guides LOVE this trip and its opportunities for amazing glacier viewing (and, yes, listening!), fantastic wildflowers, birdlife and more. Thank you for sharing the experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Took a day trip with Spirit Walker Expedition in early August. Our group included a family of 4 with 2 teenagers. The group ranged in age from mid-twenties to nearly 70. We departed Gustavus dock about 10:30 and returned about 4. Our guide was very professional. Our group exchanged addresses when we returned from a very fun day.

Spirit Walker is a most professional outfitter. Everything is included, from well maintained kayaks, foul weather gear (including boots), and hot drinks along the way, energy snacks and meals.

After a short explanation on the beach about our itinerary, how to don our kayak clothing, how to approach (or not approach) marine life, we were off.

Our experience was surreal, almost like being in a dreamy movie. We paddled along the coast under a veil of fog. Beautiful scenery along the shore. It wasn't long before we encountered our first elephant seal. By the end of he expedition we'd seen so many that we didn't bother calling out new sightings.

While putting on our gear we could hear whales outing just off shore. Sure enough, they were with us most of the time we were paddling.

It doesn't get any better than this. If you want to experience the real Alaska you must get out on the water. Ours was a day trip, but Spirit Walker Expeditions conducts multi day camping trips via kayak in the region between Gustavus and Glacier Bay. If we return to Alaska, we will make this expedition again.

1  Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWE_Alaska, Manager at Spirit Walker Expeditions - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for paddling with Spirit Walker at Point Adolphus on such a surreal day! Listening to the Humpback whales is one of my favorite aspects of any trip there. I agree: if you want to get a real taste of Southeast Alaska you must get out on the water! If you make it back to Alaska, we look forward to paddling with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We did a three day / two night Whales trip as a family (two adults and two kids aged five and seven) in June 2013. I quickly run out of superlatives to describe this trip. From the professional approach adopted by Stephen in organizing the trip to the fantastic friendly approach of our guides, this was a great experience. Our guides Karen and Jessie were great with the kids, the location was spectacular and the whales (and bears and sea otters and sea lions....) certainly put on a show. We will be talking about this trip for years.

1  Thank Elmosfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWE_Alaska, Manager at Spirit Walker Expeditions - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you so much for paddling with Spirit Walker... We love introducing children to the wonders of Southeast Alaska! I'm so glad it was a trip you'll remember for years. For Spirit Walker, family trips are often the most memorable too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A friend and I went to alaska to sea kayak with humpbacks and just enjoy the wilderness and wildlife of alaska. The campsites were beautiful, the whales were everywhere, our guide, Stephen, was organized, thoughtful, safe and downright fun to be around. We had scary (bear), exciting (whales) and silly fun (otters, jumping salmon and seals) moments. Through them all our guide was consistent calm and prepared. There is not a thing i would have changed about this trip. If you want an AMAZING alaska experience, this is your trip. :)

1  Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWE_Alaska, Manager at Spirit Walker Expeditions - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for paddling with Spirit Walker Expeditions! Your enthusiasm about the whales, sea otters - and even the bear! - is greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure sharing our corner of Alaska with you for 5 beautiful days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit Walker Expeditions - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Spirit Walker Expeditions - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing