We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Alaska Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Jan & Ela are great hosts and run an outstanding B&B on Gustavus. Jan is most accomplished in nautical skill, latest photographic art, internet satellite knowledge (enough to sail from Hawaii to Alaska) in a concrete sail boat and build a beautiful home, B&B, barn and much more in Gustavus. This is the place to stay on Gustavus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Janusz and Ella are the most wonderful and helpful B&B owners I have ever come across. They not only helped me with the tour booking but also picked and dropped me from the Airport and the dock at Glacier Bay Lodge on Bartlett Cove. I was scheduled to fly from Juneau to Gustavus for one day to visit Glacier Bay. My flight got canceled due to bad weather at Juneau. Upon informing Janusz of the same, he was able to arrange a local plane for the 20 minutes flight. Once in Gustavus, they offered a home cooked scrumptious dinner as there are not many places open for dinner when I had reached. The room was big, clean and comfortable. There are bikes at the inn to move around. Overall the visit to Gustavus is memorable and it includes the hospitality of Janusz and Ella .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anurag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Like the other reviewers we really appreciated the care Janusz and Ella take of their guests: nothing was too much trouble. We were met at the airport, activities were suggested for our "down time" and bikes provided to explore the neighbourhood. They arranged the Glacier Bay tour even down to suggesting the best seats on the boat (and the weather too) and taking us to the landing stage. We enjoyed conversations with like-minded guests and home cooked meals too. Whale watching with Janusz was a pleasure. The house is comfortable and homey: our stay was made special by the inn keepers and the other guests.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Car0lineB_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Jan and Ella were outstanding hosts. The people we met while there three nights were very interesting travelers. The food and room superb. We also did the whale watch and kayaking that Jan provided to us at a very reasonable rate. I highly recommend you do both. They took care of all of our transportation needs, including finding a prop plane to take us to Juneau when the airport had to cancel our flight due to fog. Jan and Ella are outstanding people and I am glad to have met and spent some time with them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TomEd1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our two nights with Janusz and Ella was like staying with good friends. They both were as friendly and helpful as can be. After they picked us up at the airport we arrived at their B&B and were introduced to the six other guests. Shortly thereafter we enjoyed an expertly prepared fresh fish dinner. The following morning they prepared a fine breakfast for us and shuttled us to the Glacier Bay Lodge where for our glacier boat excursion day trip. Based on their advice we followed the excursion with time spent at the Lodge enjoying the scenery and dinner there. The following day we spent time relaxing around their B&B prior to being shuttled back to the airport. Their B&B reflected what we think are some of the attributes of living in Alaska; they built it themselves and they involve themselves with several other endeavors beyond inn keeping. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Wild Alaska Inn was a wonderful headquarters for a visit to Glacier Bay and Gustavus. As well stated by olliesam, Gustavus is a tiny town (500 residents) on the 5-mile road between the ferry dock and Glacier Bay National Park. Janusz and Ella were gracious and wonderful hosts. They booked our Glacier Bay tour on the national park boat, and small group (just two of us) whale watching on Jan's well constructed 30' boat with a thankfully covered wheelhouse. Jan offers a discount on whale watching if you stay with them. When the weather turned dicey, Jan even offered to change the booking to a competing operator at a later time. We ended up staying with Jan and had a great time despite the weather. Apparently, the much larger and crowded tour boat out of Hoonah (Icy Strait Point) was intimidated by the fog and missed out on two separate whale pods we were able to see up close.

Delicious home prepared breakfast is included, and comes with a bonus of lively conversation with fellow travellers. They will also prepare a delicious and reasonably priced (for Alaska) dinner if notified in advance. They will meet you at the airport or ferry dock and return you on departure. Bicycles are available and perfect for local travel to the few shops and cafes in town. Be sure to stay long enough to enjoy Jan and Ella's great hospitality and the breathtaking scenery, wildlife, and cultural experience of Gustavus. I would recommend three full days exclusive of arrival and departure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Gustavus is a tiny, not easily accessed town, so we were not looking for, nor expecting, luxury and innumerable amenities in our lodging experience. Wild Alaska Inn is just what you'd expect: a comfortable, friendly B & B in a remote, wilderness town. We were met at the ferry terminal by both Jan and Ella ( I'm not sure how to spell their names correctly...every reviewer has done it differently) and given the grand tour of Gustavus, which is really just a four-corner stop. These guys are very nice and, having lived here for quite a while, really know the area and the town "gig". Jan cooked us a delicious white king salmon dinner. Based on the cost of our dinner the next night at the Gustavus Inn (fresh Dungeness crab - yummy!), I thought his pricing was very reasonable ($35 apiece). The breakfast was delicious, too: good coffee, eggs, crepes, sausage, and toast with yummy jams. Jan was very helpful getting our next night's dinner reservations and confirming our kayak and Glacier Bay tours. We used their bikes (with helmets!) to bike into "town" and watch the centennial activities (log rolling and panning for gold, like you do). The rooms, at least upstairs, are very basic and small, and fairly noisy; you could hear the late nighters talking downstairs, and the breakfast preparations at 6 the next morning. The bathroom is shared between the 3 upstairs bedrooms, but it's very clean and spacious. The gathering area is small and squeezed in next to the dining table, but it is cozy, and the hosts are welcoming and have good stories to tell about Gustavus and their adventures and challenges of small town living. Wifi is slow, but it was everywhere there!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank olliesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
4.5 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#2 of 5 in Gustavus
130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#2 of 9 in Gustavus
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
4.5 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay

Address: 1 Mountain VIew Road, Glacier Bay, Gustavus, AK 99826
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range: £73 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Alaska Inn cedar house is located in lovely little town of Gustavus/Glacier Bay, Alaska -One of the most beautiful spots in the entire state, and a perfect gateway to Glacier Bay National Park.Enjoy Wild Alaska's free service that helps you arrange outdoor adventures of your choice: whale-watching, Glacier Bay Tour, sport fishing, hiking, bird watching, photography, and kayaking that are available nearby. This small family run business would like to provide you with the best, warm, friendly service at competitive prices.. Included in price is Airport/Ferry pick up and drop off.Hot breakfast is included at no extra charge for guests.Also free wireless, free parking and free use of bicycles.After busy day of adventures and activities you can warm up by the fire place, rest and enjoy home cooking during your stay at cozy Wild Alaska Inn.This charming wooden house in Gustavus, Alaska is 0.3 Miles to Wild Alaska Charters and also is the closest Inn to the Glacier Bay National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Alaska Inn At Glacier Bay Gustavus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing