We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food with a great view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Bay Lodge Restaurant

Glacier Bay Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Gustavus
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
234 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good food with a great view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We only were able to eat dinner at the restaurant as we only spent one night a the hotel. We around soup and salad for starters and both tasted good. We then ordered seafood for our entrees and they were properly prepared and cooked to our satisfaction. We had ice cream and carrot cake for dessert and both also tasted good. The best part of the restaurant is the view of Bartlett Cove. We were able to watch whales swimming in the cove during our entire dinner. The prices are a little higher but you have to consider you are close to being out in the middle of nowhere. Service was also good as all courses where served in a timely manner. This is also the only place to eat on property so reservations are recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    32
    24
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
573 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Stopped Trying”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived for a 5:30PM dinner reservation on a Thursday evening and found several menu choices, including salmon, unavailable. What we did order was bland and tasteless; almost as if the staff had stopped trying. The service was equally bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washngton, DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It is your only choice so grin and bear it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The food and service was a giant step down from the camp food that I had on the kayaking trip before staying at the lodge.

Let me count the ways that restaurant can be disappointing

Dinner

Sold out of the wine that I wanted with dinner.

Overcooked salmon (even after I explicitly asked for the salmon rare). Vegetables were cold and overcooked.

Slow--it took 45 minutes by my watch to get the overcooked salmon to the table.

Breakfast

The biggest problem is that THE ONLY CHOICE for breakfast is an overpriced buffet. The next problem is that the buffet is set up for the folks taking the cruise up the bay. The cruise leaves at 7:15am. The food may have been fresh and hot at 6:30 but at 8:00 when I had breakfast it was neither. It was in a word: AWFUL.

Lunch

Hamburger and fries would seem to be a fairly safe choice. However, that is not the case. When I asked for a rare hamburger (in hopes of getting something that was not cooked to death), the waiter told me that Park Service rules prevent serving hamburgers that not at least medium well done--mine was very well done. Perhaps, it was from sitting under the heat lamp for long--about 30 minutes between ordering and delivery. The fries were cold. When I asked for hot fries, the waiter seemed puzzled about how to respond but eventually decided to get a plate to which to transfer my cold fries. In a relatively short time, he did manage to bring hot fries. The delay to get mustard for the hamburger was way long.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clrWashngton_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
251 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Pretty good food when available, service so so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

They were out of salmon one night, very early, tried seafood pasta and regretted it. The next night the salmon was great. The breakfast buffet was enjoyable, bacon cooked just right. Service was inconsistent. Some servers were great, some uninterested. Since breakfast was a serve yourself buffet, I'd think they'd have more time to keep our beverages topped off.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly staff, whale watching while you dine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff is very friendly and offers helpful information around the area. The foods we had there are better than plenty of high priced restaurants we have been to. Fish & chips, salmon chowder, seafood pasta, Glacier Bay Burger and Fairweather salad are among our favorites. Best of all, both the deck and the dining room have an unobstructed view of the cove. We often see whales cruising along or flipping their tales right from our dinner table!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jy123188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glacier Bay Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Glacier Bay Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing