We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, friendly and relaxing”
Review of Annie Mae Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Annie Mae Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed upstairs in the main house in one of two rooms that share a bathroom. There is another bathroom downstairs so there wasn't a problem. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. The room was a bit small but it had two beds. Horses roamed freely around the area, there was a lovely green field behind the lodge. There were pictures of the original owners and early days all around. The family still owns the lodge. There were bikes available to use and the ride into the four corners of Gustavus was pleasant. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was included and was very good with lots of choice. Hot items could be purchased for an additional price but the fruit, cereal and muffins were plenty for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was our "jumping off" place to stay before a week long small cruise aboardM/V Sea Wolf. The people that run this lodge were very nice - helped get us around town, answered all questions,and the meals were very good - above average. Local seafood was a plus. Dinner was with others staying at the lodge, so if that's not your thing, you won't like this. For us, it was fine - the people we met were nice and friendly.
Rooms are small, no TV, and the WIFI did not work. That was one downside as I sort of counted on that.
Still worth the stay... oh - wonderful grounds too.... beautiful town .

Room Tip: book an outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Great place to get away from it all. People were friendly, service was great, the food excellent.
Sandy beaches, bicycles, great shops. Strawberry Point Tours showed us around. Hiking trails beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Location is remote, horses roam around free, stream in the back. Everything is spotlessly clean. Food delicious and they cater to your food preferences. Vegetarian, Fish Lover etc. Spurce Tip Syrup they should sell by the bottle. Family and staff are extremely accomadating, friendly, helpful and informative. There was one staff member that was not as helpful or friendly as all the others (heck there always has to be one). I will return to this haven in Alaska!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1LGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We flew to Gustavus to visit glacier bay and to kayak. The lodge arranged everything, including our flight over and back. The food, was delicious and the inn charming. The rooms are smal but well arranged. They have two dogs that my sons enjoyed playing with. The whole island is woth a side trip

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank MEBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed at the Annie Mae during a camping and kayaking trip on 3 non consecutive nights between August 5th - 14th. Each evening the staff puts out appetizers with tea, lemonade and water. There is wine and beer available upon request. The meals were incredible. We had the option of freshly caught crab almost every evening as well as a local fish. There was also chicken and beef options. Breakfast was a warm your belly option of biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, french toast, blueberry pancakes. I HIGHLY recommend the bacon. It was increadible. The syrup served is called Spruce Tip, reddish in color and apparantly quite delicious. It is local to the area. I should mention that I have Celiac disease (gluten allergy) and they were able to accomodate it quite well. Even provided rice crackers at the evening snack hour.
On each evening we returned, the staff had already placed our bags in our rooms. After kayaking for several days the last thing we wanted to do was carry our additional luggage up the stairs to our rooms, so this was a wonderful suprise. Also, we did not settle up our bill until the end of our stay. This was also a great suprise. Instead of paying for our drinks after each stay, they allowed us to pay at the end of the week. Most folks were placed in the same room on each night, so you knew what you were getting and where your room was when the person meeting your van informed you that you would be staying in "fireweed" again.
The lodge has a phone that you can use to make phone calls to the lower 48 at no additional charge. I am not positive, but think they probably use internet calling. Cell phone reception is limited, so this is a good perk they provide. I could receive texts, but I am not sure how any phone calls would have gone. You can also have wireless access for $5 per day. I cannot comment on the performance, but a couple of folks used it with success.
Another big bonus was that the staff did laundry for us. For a charge of $15 we were given a trash bag that we filled with our dirty laundry. They washed it and it was returned to us that same evening, freshly washed and folded. There are several bikes and helments that you can take out for a spin. The local coffee shop / art gallery is about a 20 minute leisurly ride from the lodge.
Our group had Billy as our main staff person for most of our trip. He was so friendly and helpful. One of our group members got her jeans soaked and he was kind enough to dry her jeans and put it in her luggage that she left at the lodge so she could wear them when she returned. But in addition to Billy, every staff member we encountered was wonderful and helpful.
Please note that there is a "staff gratuity jar" at the front counter, and be generous. We tipped a little extra to the folks that gave us extra special attention.
This is a family owned establishment. If I got the story right, Annie Mae is Billy's great grandmother. Three sisters bought the lodge and named it after her. I enjoyed being able to support a locally owned establishment.

Room Tip: I loved the night I stayed in the interior room which is one of the original rooms of the lodge. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citygirl00110024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Our stay was during the latter part of July 2012. My family and I stayed here for two nights, not consecutive, but sandwiched in between kayaking/camping. We had two rooms, both of which had in suite bathrooms. The rooms were very clean. Bedrooms were small, but the furniture was well thought out with the beds having under bed storage drawers. You can open the windows, and have the cool Alaskan air come in to your room. :) We had dinner and breakfast while staying there. The food was good. Our first dinner there, we had a very nice server named Billy who provided lots of info, and he was anxious to make sure that we had everything that we needed. They also put out appetizers in the afternoon - smoked salmon, cream cheese, fruit, and other goodies. No charge to the guests, which I found quite refreshing. Also, tall iced pitchers of tea, water, and lemonade were put out so that the guests could help themselves to it during the day. I'm not able to speak about the costs, because this was part of a kayaking/camping trip that we purchased through Mt. Sobek/Alaska Discovery.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalenciagaTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
5.3 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 4 in Gustavus
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Gustavus
134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie Mae Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie Mae Lodge

Address: PO Box 55 Grandpa's Farm Rd # 2, Gustavus, AK 99826-0055
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range: £107 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Annie Mae Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the stunning beauty of Southeast Alaska at the Annie Mae Lodge in Gustavus at Glacier Bay. We have been serving guests for over 25 years and are one of Alaska's Premier Country Inns. We are set in a field of wildflowers on the banks of the Good River at the entrance to Glacier Bay National Park! The Annie Mae Lodge features down home comfort and hospitality, cozy country style lodging, and expertly prepared meals in the small homestead community of Gustavus. Our staff is knowledgeable and friendly and here to help you have a memorable stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Annie Mae Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annie Mae Lodge Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing