We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gustavus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, Cabins and Guesthouse at Glacier Bay Gustavus
Ranked #2 of 9 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our best Alaska experience!”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for four nights and were delighted with everything. The room was lovely and clean with a great view, the breakfasts were varied and delicious, and everything Deb booked for us, including the flight over from Juneau, the whale watch, the kayaking trip, dinner at a local inn, and a trip into Glacier Bay, more than met our expectations. Deb picks you up and returns you to the airport as well as any other place for which transportation is not already provided. She truly makes you feel like you are visiting a friend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
trinidad and tobago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Deb will make you feel so comfortable. This is really personalized attention you are made to feel at home welcomed and a true guest. Oh and by the way the rooms are neat clean perfect. The breakfast is original and delicious. And Gustavus just feels like Alaska. You will not go wrong staying here in fact you will not find a better Bed and Breakfast in all Alaska. Great job Deb.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtybc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Myself and 2 friends stayed in the Fireweed Cabin for 2 nights in June. We were greeted by Deb as our flight landed and were given a guided tour of the town before being shown to our cabin. The cabin was located overlooking the wilderness and was in excellent condition and spectacularly clean with a full kitchen and bathroom. Bikes and warm clothing are provided for all guests to use and guests are free to borrow DVDs from their impressive DVD collection. Deb and Charlie went out of their way to make us feel at home and well looked after. Each morning all guests were invited to the Sun Room to enjoy a large and freshly cooked breakfast.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blue Heron and would recommend it to anyone visiting Gustavus. A perfect introduction to rural Alaska!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaiserChiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I can't imagine a better B&B anywhere. Very comfortable, large, clean, like new room. Deb and Charlie, the owners are very nice and set up activities for me and either took me themselves or set up a ride. Breakfasts were awesome with freshly rolled oats used for the oatmeal, omelettes with your choice of many ingredients, french toast, rhubarb crisp with rhubarb grown in the garden, bagels, OJ, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. etc. etc. Beautiful setting on a large piece of property surrounded by wildflowers and forest. They have fishing gear, bicycles, warm jackets and boots all available if you need them at no charge. But most importantly they are just truly nice people and try to make your visit as pleasurable as possible.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveManhattanBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We recently came back from 5 days at the Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast and can't say enough good things about it. They have cabins and rooms and both are absolutely charming, and comfortable, with just the right amount of space, even for us with a small baby. We started out with 3 days in a cabin and ended with 2 days in a room. Here's what stood out to me.
(1) The accomodations are perfect. Everything is spotless and seems well taken care of, very aesthetically pleasing, Well thought out design that's pretty, original, and functional. Great views out of the windows. We saw a moose and her cub. In fact, the owner (Deb) came over to our room and pointed it out to us or else we would have missed it, hesitant about interrupting us, though we were thrilled she did. Other than this, she never came by and everything was always very relaxed and peaceful. They have binoculars in every room so we could watch the moose with ease. I loved that they have thought of and make an effort to provide everything a person could need: well stocked kitchens in the cabins, including some basic spices and condiments; extra parkas, boots, hats, etc so a person can be outfitted for their trip (which was great, because I had not brought a heavy enough jacket); mosquito repellant; VCR/ DVD players with lots of titles for loan; a picnic bench and barbeque area with a waterproof barrel stocked with (almost) everything you could need for a fire - charcoal, lighter fluid, aluminum foil etc. (except for some reason the matches were missing, but another guest let us use his. I'm sure if I had pointed it out to Deb, she would have gotten us some). A whole rack of different sized bikes for use around town. Deb even borrowed a bike with a trailer for a child from someone she knew, because we were coming with our 9-month-old son. She also had a sippy cup and graham crackers, and even a booster chair, waiting for our son but I digress... or maybe that's the next point (2) the individualized service and attempts to make the experience perfect. When we were staying in the room (so no kitchen) and wanted to barbeque, Deb loaned us a picnic basket with real plates etc. which she or her cleaning people later cleaned. I'm sure most innkeepers would have preferred to save themselves the trouble, but Deb went so out of her way repeatedly to make sure we were well taken care of. There are many other examples of that, but this is getting long and I still have a few more points so I'll move on (3) The AMAZING breakfasts. They are the best I've had in years. Again, everything was high quality above and beyond, despite the fact that groceries are very expensive in Gustavus. It would always include a wonderrful fruit salad (the type that has a bit of everything - with berries and kiwi and grapes and melon), steel cut oatmeal (that she apparently cuts herself) with 6-7 types of dried fruits and nuts you can add as toppings (dried blueberries, cranberries, almonds, pinenuts, etc.), toast, several types of sweetbreads, rhubarb in a sauce, OJ, coffee/tea and probably a few other things I am forgetting all served family style. Then there would be, yes a MAIN COURSE. Omelette, or crepes, or pancakes, or potatoes and eggs with ham or bacon... I didn't have one thing that was less than excellent and every day I was newly amazed by how good it all was. (4) The sunroom where you can hang out and breakfast was served was solid windows, so it was just lovely. (5) Deb took care of arranging everything for us from our flight in from Juneau to our outings to a rental car we needed so it really felt relaxing, not like we needed to research and put together all the elements. I mention Deb a lot, but Charlie, her husband, was also very nice. Deb just was more involved in our stay.
In summary - great attention to detail, owners take pride in it and literally built it themselves (which really floors me, because it was such quality craftsmanship). This place is a real find.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USandSWISScouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmont, NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Our group of 6 stayed here for 3 nights and were very, very pleased. Deb met us at the airport and took us back when we had to depart. She arranged all the tours and rental cars. Accomodations in the 2 cabins and View Room were outstanding. Everything was clean and nice and even most of the bikes worked. Food was absolutely outstanding. The Sunroom was a great common area. If we ever return to Gustavus, we would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stanemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

It was our first trip to Alaska!
I did enough research to know we wanted to stay at Gustavus or Glacier Bay, take the day glacier cruise, go whale watching, try half a day of kayaking, and take a small airplane to and from Juneau.

What I didn't know was how to dress, how to get to all the places, and which companies to use.

Lucky for us, I saw the good reviews for Blue Heron B/B and called Deb. She scheduled the airplane, whale watching trip, glacier tour, kayaking tour, and a rent car for one of the days. She picked us up at the airport, gave us a quick tour around town, outfitted us with some warm and waterproof clothes, and dropped us off for the whale watching tour. She also suggested restaurants and helped with some other transportation.

Oh, and we stayed in Fireweed cabin. Well maintained and clean. Nice views. And good breakfasts with lots of variety.

We highly recommend the Glacier bay area for a vacation. And if you go, the place to stay is Blue Heron.

  • Liked — Service and local information
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
6.6 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
2.6 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
1.5 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, Cabins and Guesthouse at Glacier Bay Gustavus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, Cabins and Guesthouse at Glacier Bay Gustavus

Property: Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, Cabins and Guesthouse at Glacier Bay Gustavus
Address: Quarter Mile Dock Rd, Gustavus, AK 99826-0077
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Bed And Breakfast, Cabins And Guesthouse At Glacier Bay Gustavus Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing