We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful, wonderful service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gustavus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, Cabins and Guesthouse at Glacier Bay Gustavus
Ranked #4 of 9 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a place you'll want to hang out! Gustavus is a pearl of a destination, and Deb Woodruff (Blue Heron's proprietor) made it even better. The property is both lovely and very, very comfortable. The breakfasts are large and truly delicious. Her fleet of bikes make getting around the area both fun and easy: both the boat dock and the town's main crossroads are less than 10 minutes away.

All of our needs were cared for, from plane and tour reservations to warm, dry clothes for the boat trip into Glacier Bay. Her willingness to help us out with weather-related schedule changes made our time there both simple and relaxing.

Strong WiFi connection in common / sunroom

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, Cabins and Guesthouse at Glacier Bay Gustavus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband, our two teenage sons, and his brother's family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Heron B&B! Deb, the owner and her staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. She doesn't miss a detail and coordinates all of your activities and meals while in Gustavus. We stayed in the Lupine and Fireweed Cottages, and they are clean, comfortable and have everything you need to relax. The fire pit is a great way to end your day. The breakfasts we were treated to were truly amazing! Farm fresh eggs, French toast, steel cut oatmeal, and homemade rhubarb spread were some of our favorites. I highly recommend the Blue Heron B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit to the Blue Heron Bed & Breakfast in Gustavus, Alaska and are already talking about a return trip! Deb and the rest of the friendly staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay at the Blue Heron consistently exceeded our high expectations. The breakfasts were outstanding, with Four Seasons Hotel quality and a healthy dose of Gustavus hospitality. Our cabin was truly wonderful and extremely comfortable, with all the comforts we could possibly ask for (full kitchen, comfy bed, plenty of room and a great view)!

For those who don't live in or travel to Alaska regularly, please be aware that rural ('Bush") Alaska communities, even ones as charming as Gustavus, have a very wide range of accommodations available, in many case only requirements seem to be a bed and a roof...I honestly know of someone who rents out their utility shed as a cabin! Buyer beware, but rest assured that you will always remember Deb and her wonderful B&B as one of the highlights of your vacation, just as we do!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Let me say that the experience we had with Deb of the Blue Heron was outstanding! She was booked by our tour agent Colette of Rainbow Mountain Adventures and as Colette mentioned, Deb goes above and beyond to make sure her guests have an unforgettable trip. We had no idea how much trouble she went to until our stay was almost over. Due to the unpredictable Alaska weather we were not able to get to Gustavus the first night as planned. Little did we know Deb was behind the scenes trying to move heaven and earth to arrange transportation or us. We finally arrived the next night via her fisherman acquaintance who brought us over on his boat. She was patiently waiting at the docks for us when we arrived at 11 pm. She took us to her adorable, immaculate, peaceful cabin and got us settled in. She had arranged for our rental car to be waiting for us when we woke up the next morning so that we could catch our early morning Glacier Bay boat tour. After a breakfast fit for royalty, she stored our luggage for the day and sent us off for our tour. That evening she even came to the airport to make sure that we were able to fly out when the weather was once again questionable. She truly deserves more than 5 stars! I wish we would have been able to stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LivetoTraveltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a three week Alaskan vacation. We began our trip in southeastern Alaska, and it proved to be some of our favorite days of the trip. It was In large part due to our stay at the Blue Heron Inn. Deb greeted us at the ferry, eager to make us feel at home in Gustavus. After Deb gave us a tour of the community, we checked into the guesthouse. The room was very clean, comfortable, well furnished, and had windows on three sides of the room giving it a very open feeling. I'm sure the cabins are just as nice. Breakfast each morning was definitely a treat- different choices of delicious food each morning. We stayed in many B&Bs throughout Alaska, and this was definitely our best breakfast! Deb worked to set up dinner reservations, a glacier trip out of Glacier Bay National Park, and our whale-watching tour. I'm sure we had the best whale-watching boat! Deb had extras that made a difference in our stay-bikes to ride, warm coats for the boat trips, laundry facilities, and transportation to activities within community. During our stay at the Blue Heron, we slowed our travel pace and really enjoyed just being in Alaska. When time to leave, Deb was out with other guests; therefore, Pete drove us to "meet the jet" for our flight to Anchorage. When in line to board, we heard our names called. It was Deb, who had returned and rushed to the jet to say good-bye and wish us safe travels! Staying at the Blue Heron is truly "At Home in Gustavus"!
John and Cynthia Goodman

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CGOODMAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

If you are planning a stay in Gustavus to explore the Glacier Bay region, look no further than Deb Woodruff's little haven of tranquility. From the initial phone encounter it was clear that she intended to make us feel at home and to share her enthusiasm for the region she cherishes. She spoke to us at length about all the possible activities available and how best to schedule them.
We stayed in the Fireweed cottage which is private and peaceful, complete with a full kitchen if you should desire to cook, which we didn't. She provides so much more than just "bed and breakfast"... the breakfasts were fabulous and so filling that you could easily skip lunch. But she also provided attentive concierge services for our activities, spending an enormous amount of time attempting to set up extra excursions after we arrived, all without any booking fees. She and her staff drove us to and from various activities and really saw to our every need.

Be sure to have her reserve a dinner reservation for you for at least one night at the fabulous Gustavus Inn, and arrive a half hour early for the fun socializing and appetizers. The Inn books up early with their own dinner guests, so plan ahead.

Whatever you do in Gustavus, Blue Heron provides a wonderful home base that truly feels like it's run by Mom.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsietall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Start with a stay at the Blue Heron and then plan your Alaskan holiday from here. Deb confirmed not only our room reservations...she checked on flight details, dinner reservations,boat trips, kayaks, bikes, anything that we wanted to do during our stay. She was a welcoming hostess with connections to everyone in the surrounding area. It was a real vacation for the whole family!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank P3J3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
2.6 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#2 of 5 in Gustavus
131 reviews
6.6 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
229 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
1.5 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#2 of 9 in Gustavus
48 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, Cabins and Guesthouse at Glacier Bay Gustavus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Bed and Breakfast, Cabins and Guesthouse at Glacier Bay Gustavus

Address: Quarter Mile Dock Rd, Gustavus, AK 99826-0077
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range: £118 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Bed And Breakfast, Cabins And Guesthouse At Glacier Bay Gustavus Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing