We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn is a ***wonderful*** place. Janie, who is the owner of the Inn, is a very gracious hostess: she emails you ahead of your trip and greets everyone personally when you arrive. She is very knowledgable about the area and was very helpful in helping us plan out and get to all of the wonderful things that we got to see and experience (whale watching, hiking, fishing trip, and glacier tours were what we decided on during our three day stay there.) She made my family feel at home in the beautiful, rustic, cabin style lodge that was lovingly designed by her husband. After a busy day of exploring beautiful Alaska, the Inn was a wonderful place to "come home" to. Janie's staff was very courteous and helpful, the lobby is beautiful, with comfortable couches to sit on to read or talk or eat some per-dinner appetizers. My son bonded with Janie's wonderful dog, Bandit, who accompanied us on our 4 mile hike and played with my son on the grounds of the Inn. There were games for my son and I to play, novels on the bookshelves to read and a game room with a ping pong table and TV. Dinner was a great time to relax and enjoy a 4 course meal: soup or salad, a sorbet of locally grown fruit, one of 4 entrees to choose from, and yummy desserts. One night, the chef even prepared the fish that my son caught during our fishing trip and it was delicious and very memorable for our family. During dinner, Janie would go by each table to map out all the guests' itineraries for the next day so you were clear on what to expect. The rooms were very comfortable and we definitely got a good night's rest to rejuvenate ourselves for our next adventure!

We would loved to have been able to stay longer and would be willing to go back some day again to this special place. Highly recommended for sure! Thank you, Janie and staff, for making this one of the best vacations!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Spent three nights at this wonderful lodge very close to Glacier Bay in Alaska. Beautifully appointed, large rooms, excellent food and staff who could not do enough to make sure you had a great time. Innkeeper Janie fixed everything...from the light engined plane that brought me from Juneau over the mountains (seeing mountain goats on the snowline on the way), to the sea fishing where I caught halibut and salmon, to the incredible glacier bay boat trip where I saw brown bear, humpback and killer whales, seals and sea otters...and came close to stunning glaciers to hear them groaning and cracking. At the end of each amazing day, Bear Track was a lovely place to return to for a bit of luxury. All my expectations of Alaska were exceeded. Thanks Janie and team!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My family recently spent 4 days at Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn and we would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for a special place to stay in Glacier Bay. The owner, Janie, and her staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the food was outstanding (we brought back some halibut that we caught and the chef prepared an amazing dish with it for us), the log cabin style inn is breathtaking and warm and welcoming, and the activities abound -- fishing, kayaking, glacier touring, animal viewing, and just relaxing by the fire with a good book or pair of binoculars. The entire experience was 5-star. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for room with views towards the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie Patena... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Bear Track Inn has to be the ultimate Alaskan adventure inn. You wouldn't expect such a beautiful lodge providing 5 star service in such a remote area such as Gustavus. The food they prepare is amazing, they are on top of everybody's itinerary, and Jane (who runs the Inn) personally greets you with a review of your next day's plans over dinner the night before. The definitely go to extended measures to make you comfortable with tasty snacks before dinner and a warm (giant) fireplace in the common area. The views are beautiful, flowers abound with hummingbirds and swallows circling about the lodge. We even saw a couple of moose saunter by the lodge on one of our days. Gustavus is memorable by itself, but the stay at the Bear Track Inn made our entire vacation a truly amazing experience and exceeded our expectations by a mile. We hope we can make it back here someday, this place is a treasure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlow50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you go to Glacier Bay National Park, this is the place to stay! The Inn is one of the most impressive places you can stay. The log lobby with a nice fire almost makes you not want to leave. The staff is outstanding, and with only 14 rooms you will receive all the attention you want. The dining experience for each meal leaves nothing to be desired. Jamie and her staff can make the necessary arrangements from glacier tours, whale watching, fishing, golf and other opportunities to make your stay one you will remember.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lingls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Bear Track Inn is one amazing place. A beautifully constructed and serene log cabin lodge with wonderful accommodations and incredible meals and service awaits you in tiny Gustavus, AK. We stayed for 5 nights in August 2011 for a very stress-reducing, wildlife-filled, laid-back time. Janie (the owner) arranged activities for us w/wonderful salt-water and fresh-water fishing guides, and the most informative Glacier Bay tour. When we returned from our fishing trips w/salmon and halibut, the evening chef cooked up our freshly caught fish and we dined on the best fish ever tasted! Each evening's meal was accompanied by a salad made of lettuce & vegetables picked that day from the hotel's garden. Wine and beer selection was wonderful and rounded out our dining experiences. Even breakfast was top notch - the morning chef shared his recipe for homemade granola that is now a family favorite. Homemade jam was so delicious we asked for it at the evening meal also - delicious w/ice cream...yum! Meals were all-around spectacular, something we hadn't expected but were thrilled about! Staff were all very friendly and helpful. We were so well taken care of, and thoroughly enjoyed our (first) time in Alaska. The fresh air, abundant wildlife sightings (eagles, black bear, whales) and fresh, skillfully prepared food made for one of our best vacations ever.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaB2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I are traveling to all National Parks and were looking for a nice lodge with tours of Glacier Bay National Park. We found a great one. Bear Track Inn is a beautiful lodge with great service, good food and a relaxed and homey atmosphere. They scheduled 2 tours for us. One for a Whale watch tour where we saw many whales and the second to Glacier Bay to see the glaciers. This marked our 51st (of the 58) national parks. Thanks to Janie and her staff for a great time. Especially her kitchen staff. . . great food, guys!! If you are looking for some adventure and a great place to relax, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
8.9 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
231 reviews
5 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
133 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#1 of 8 in Gustavus
49 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn

Address: 255 Rink Creek Rd., Gustavus, AK 99826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Price Range: £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear Track Inn is a beautifully handcrafted log lodge situated on 97 acres in Gustavus, Alaska. Walk into a lobby with 30’ windows, suede couches and a huge fireplace. Dine on caribou, buffalo, crab, salmon, halibut and more. All breads, dressing and scrumptious desserts are made from scratch. Guest rooms are spacious and comfortable with down comforters and pillows, and private baths. We are known for our hospitality, and for making your dreams a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Bays Bear Track Hotel
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing