We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Alaska Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
1 review
“A Wonderful Alaska Inn”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn was a wonderful part of our visit to Glacier Bay. The Inn is a beautiful log cabin in a beautiful space. The rooms are spacious & comfortable, the food terrific and the staff is very gracious, friendly and they take very good care of their guests. They make arrangements for activities, transport you, provide bag lunches and whatever is needed to ensure that you have the best possible experience. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
60
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My first trip to Alaska and I hit the jackpot! Janie and the gang at Bear Track couldn't be more helpful, the lodge couldn't be more beautiful and comfortable and the scenery couldn't be more beautiful. Every need is taken care of from the moment you arrive at the Gustavus airport. Just tell Janie or Mary what adventures you want to experience while you are visiting and they arrange everything for you with the best guides available. My friend and I went whale watching, halibut fishing, kayaking with the whales and glacier viewing. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer! I tried to smuggle the lodge dog Bandit in my suitcase but he was a little too large : ) Don't hesitate to book this lodge - it is by far the best place to stay in southeast Alaska.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - I had read that the rooms on the back give you more chance to see bears but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Bear Track Inn. The Inn is about a 15 minute drive from little Gustavus airport. The Inn shuttle was waiting for us when we arrived. All transportation is included which is huge since it's remote. Also big is that meals are all included including sack lunches for excursions. Some guests from other lodges came for dinner here and if your lodge doesn't include transport, you have to pay for a shuttle. Dinner is wonderful with about 5 entree choices each night, plus wine menu. Great clean rooms with a game room with TV, ping pong and darts. Staff was wonderful, plus included cookies, tea and appetizers each afternoon before dinner. Dinner seating was between 6:30 and 7:30.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenCatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

For anyone wanting to experience the wonders of southeast Alaska, Glacier Bay's Bear Track in Gustavus is the place to stay. We had three days there -- one was halibut fishing, one was the boat tour of Glacier Bay itself, all the way up to watch Margerie Glacier calve, and the third one was kayaking with the whales. Awesome three days. Couple that with the feeling of "coming home" at the end of the day, knowing that a great dinner was awaiting us after a nice drink in front of the fireplace. Janie and her staff went above and beyond, a couple times, to ensure we got to the inn, had a great time there, and made it on to our next stop with no hiccups.

The inn itself is very comfortable, clean, has big windows for viewing wildlife (like the moose and calf we saw in the meadow!), and feels warm and cozy. The food is wonderful - all the choices you could want at breakfast and gourmet dinners to wrap up the day. The staff is friendly and helpful, always there to answer any questions or concerns.

We highly recommend the Bear Track and really hope to get back their soon with our grandkids!

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of nature!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdsailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a first time trip to Alaska and the first stop was three days at the Bear Track Inn. We arrived from Juneau and we were met at the airport by the inn's shuttle that took us around the area while we enjoyed the comforts of the inn. From the moment we arrived, they treated us like family; Janie and her team made sure we were on time for our activities from the whale-watching, glacier tour and halibut fishing. The inn rooms were comfortable and clean and food was very good. The staff was always there to answer any questions or make recommendations for the next day. The lobby could use a bit of updating with furniture, but we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere which made it a wonderful stay. If we were in the area again, we would definitely stay at the Bear Track Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room at end of hall - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We wanted to get away into the wilderness and this was the place to go. We were very well taken care of with every need met. All of our excursions were fantastic. The food was so fresh and fantastic from salmon to Dungeness crab. I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From the moment you step foot on the property, your every need is taken care of. The staff is attentive, warm and go out of their way to make you feel welcome- you feel like you are staying with family. The Inn is a lovely log cabin set among fields with endless views. Peaceful and serene. The rooms are large, food is top notch and fresh. The owner Janie takes pride in her inn and her customers' experience. And to top it off, they have a mascot Bandit who is the sweetest dog. He accompanied us on a hike and lead the way. We wished we could have taken him home.

Highly recommend Gracier Bay's Bear Track Inn and hope to come back to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front side of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 235KBrenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
8.9 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
204 reviews
5.0 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
111 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
4.7 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn

Property: Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Address: 255 Rink Creek Rd., Gustavus, AK 99826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear Track Inn is a beautifully handcrafted log lodge situated on 97 acres in Gustavus, Alaska. Walk into a lobby with 30’ windows, suede couches and a huge fireplace. Dine on caribou, buffalo, crab, salmon, halibut and more. All breads, dressing and scrumptious desserts are made from scratch. Guest rooms are spacious and comfortable with down comforters and pillows, and private baths. We are known for our hospitality, and for making your dreams a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Bays Bear Track Hotel
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing