We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B in Page, AZ”
Review of The Bear's Den B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Page
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bear's Den B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Page B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bennington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A great B&B in Page, AZ”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in this lovely B&B while on a 3+ week visit to the southwest. Wow! It is quite a place. Our room was the master king room. This "room" is actually a suite: a huge bedroom, a huge bathroom, and a large closet. Think of an amenity - it's in this "room." The room has its own driveway on the side of the house with private access to the room. There is a large screen TV, I-phone docking station, secure wi-fi, ceiling fan, bedside tables and lamps, a vibrating Lazy Boy recliner, a huge comfortable bed, room darkening shades, and on and on. The bath has a large tub, a walk-in shower, two separate sink areas, private toilet area, mini frig/freezer unit, microwave, coffee maker, etc. There is a large hot tub right outside - which we didn't use but the guest in the other room did. There is a binder with information about the area, local restaurants, activities, etc. which we used. We were warmly greeted by Bubba and Deb upon arrival and shown where everything was and how things worked. Deb was making cookies as we arrived - and we enjoyed a few shortly after they came out of the oven. After we settled in, we strolled to Strombolli's for dinner (about a five block walk). We came back, read for a little while, and got a good night's sleep. In the morning, Bubba prepared a delicious breakfast for us. (Bubba gave us the "breakfast reservation sheet" the evening before and we selected what we wanted and gave the list back to him - and, voila! It was there in the morning in the huge kitchen where we sat and watched Bubba make his magic! We had fruit, juice, coffee, English muffins, and a delicious hearty omelet that Bubba crafted in front of our eyes. We met the other guest who was from Australia - he was having an endless stack of home-made waffles for breakfast - and enjoyed a delightful conversation with him and Bubba and Deb during and after breakfast. After we packed up and paid our bill, Bubba gave us directions to the Glen Canyon Dam and several other hiking trails. We said goodbye and were on our way. The on-line booking process was easy to use and Bubba was easy to work with as we planned our trip. A wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: The master king room is awesome. Huge with tons of amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermonters210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearsDenBNB, Owner at The Bear's Den B&B, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and sorry that I have been so long in replying to you. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and would welcome you back anytime.
Travel safe, until we meet again.
Bubba & Deb-b
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
216
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were indeed well-treated guests in Deb and Bubba's beautiful home. Bubba and Deb could not have been more gracious and helpful hosts. Our room was very comfortable and had a private entrance. The adjoining bathroom was huge and complete with a spa type tub, walk-in shower, two different sink areas, refrig and microwave. Bubba's omelets were excellent and the amount of choice for breakfast amazing. Agree with the review that said "Don't let the neighborhood fool you" - this is one of the nicest homes in the neighborhood and it is close to everything. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearsDenBNB, Owner at The Bear's Den B&B, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review, we really appreciate your both staying with us and getting to know you while you were here. We hope the rest of your trip was awesome and you had a great time. If you are ever back in the area please stop in.
Travel safe,
Bubba & Deb-b
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Sometimes a reviewer praises an accommodation: "It's as comfortable as home." Frankly, I found the Bear's Den in some ways to be MORE comfortable than home. So many little details that I wouldn't have thought of: black out curtains, computer lap desks, great reading lights, huge bathrooms (with mini-frig and microwave) and everything is clean and new. The home was specifically designed as a B&B, and each room feels like a private little suite. The large kitchen and comfy living area are the heart of the home and guests are definitely welcome to hang out there. Bubba makes a fine breakfast and has lots of information about the area and activities. Deb-b lived for a time on the Navajo reservation, so both of them know a great deal about the culture. We came to Page to see Antelope Canyon, and the slot canyons are indeed amazing. But we loved the added surprise of staying with a couple who understand the essence of hospitality and enjoy making their guests feel special and attended to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearsDenBNB, Owner at The Bear's Den B&B, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. You both are very special and we are so glad we got to know you while you were here. We hope the wedding goes great this summer and everyone is very happy. Come see us again sometime.
Regards,
Bubba & Deb-b
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were a little nervous when we first drove through the neighborhood but as soon as Bubba welcomed us all doubts were cast aside. Bubba is a fantastic host. He is a wealth of knowledge about the area; sites to see, places to eat etc. This is a new house built as a B&B, and is close to everything. Everything in the house is new and clean, and well designed. We stayed 2 nights in the Queen room. The bed was very comfortable, pillows were great. The room was spacious, and the adjacent private bath was large and clean with everything you need provided. The common area is very comfortable as well.

Bubba provides individualized breakfasts to his guests. If he doesn't have it on his menu, he will try to get it. He really aims to please. There is plenty of coffee in the morning, and if you like, a lovely jacuzzi at night.

We enjoyed getting to know about the area and about Bubba and his family on our visit. His recommendations for attractions and restaurants were spot on. If we ever found ourselves in Page again, we would definitely stay at the Bear's Den B&B,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearsDenBNB, Owner at The Bear's Den B&B, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
It was our pleasure hosting you and your hubby for the 2 days you were here. We really enjoyed the conversations and getting to know you both. Thank you very much for the great review and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to your return if you are ever in the area. Good luck and have another bottle of wire and think of us!
Travel safe,
Bubba & Deb-b
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Bubba is an exceptional host! Deb-b was out of town when we visited, but Bubba took great care of us. The room was amazing. Plenty of space and very clean. Breakfast was outstanding. We had omlets one day and waffles the next. Really, really good!
It is also very close to Antelope Canyon and plenty of restaurants.
He made us feel like family. I don't know when I will be back in Arizona again, but the Bear's Den will definitely be on my list!

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms is great. We stayed in the largest room, but we saw all of them. Don't fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearsDenBNB, Owner at The Bear's Den B&B, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for the great review, we really appreciate your kind words. We loved that you had a good time while you were here and we hope the rest of your trip was just as nice. We would love to have you back with us anytime.
Travel safe,
Bubba & Deb-b
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I just spent the weekend at this wonderful place. We stayed in the King 2 room and it was lovely,big and roomy and very quiet The bathroom is huge and very well laid out. We spent relaxing evenings in the hot tub after our long days exploring the beautiful area. Bubba was so helpful with advice on where to go and what to do ,as our visit was rather short. Breakfast was great and we dined alfresco on the patio on Sunday morning. We can't wait to return someday soon. No question as to where we will stay!!!!!!!! My advice is to book early because as the word spreads as to what a GREAT place this is, it might be hard to get a reservation. I highly recommend Bear's Den. Good job, Bubba and Deb! Thank you, you're the best host's!

Room Tip: King 2 has a private entrance, but I'm sure ANY room would be a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearsDenBNB, Owner at The Bear's Den B&B, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate all the kind words. Thank you very much for staying with us and I am glad your ring box made it back home without incident. We look forward to your next stay with us and some more wonderful stories to share.
Travel safe,
Bubba & Deb-b
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lex, KY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Even though Google Maps was off a block, this B&B is worth finding. It's in a unique neighborhood with easy access to almost everywhere in Page. We stayed in the "King 2" suite. We had our own outside entrance with very-convenient parking within a few feet of the door. The room was spacious with a "Select Comfort" bed that was comfortable. The unique "darkening" shades lets you nap detached from the outside but are very easy to open. The very-large private bath has two sinks, a walk-in shower, a separate corner tub, two sinks on separate flanking vanities, and a refrigerator/freezer, microwave, coffee maker, snacks, bottled water, plenty of towels, and many other amenities that you might not get in a 4-star hotel.

Even before we arrived, owners Bubba and Deb-b were working to please. We mentioned we wanted to take one of the canyon night tours but hadn't been able to contact the operator over the winter when we planned the trip. Bubba volunteered to run out and get the particulars face-to-face. He handled the booking and continued to follow-up right up to the start of that tour.
He's exceptionally-well organized and provided menus from which we could select when and what we wanted for breakfast, papers with restaurant recommendations, directions, and about any other information you might need.

After one day of "canyon touring", we came back in mid-afternoon a little tired and a little sore. Deb-b uncovered their hot tub for us, turned on their outside TV, set up a shade over the tub, and brought us some popcorn. In the meantime, they let us do a load or two of laundry to get get rid of some of the canyon dust.

Their place reminds you of your home with many photos of children or grandchildren. You can certainly feel like you're home here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prisofazban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearsDenBNB, Owner at The Bear's Den B&B, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
WOW, you guys are totally awesome. Thanks for the extended Thank You however you are the ones that we should be thanking. It was a pleasure meeting you both and thank you so much for the photos. I hope to have them up on the web soon. We have been so busy not much time for working on the internet. We hope you made it home ok and if you are ever in the area in the future please make sure and stop by.
Travel safe,
Bubba & Deb-b
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Page hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear's Den B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear's Den B&B

Property: The Bear's Den B&B
Address: 864 Driftwood Avenue, P.O. Box 4978, Page, AZ 86040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Page
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Page
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2016 Travels Choice Award placing 4th in the US B&B market and the 2015 Certificate of Excellence Award, we specialize in taking care of each of our guests, one at a time. We offer a 2 large King Rooms with "en-suites" master bath with all the amenities you will need to relax and recover from a great day in the area. Our Queen room is not "en-suites" but does have a private bath just across the hall. On our patio we have a 6 person seating area with shade and a 7 person Master Spa Hot Tub for your enjoyment. Let us take care of all you needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing