We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views and OK food”
Review of Rainbow Room

Rainbow Room
Ranked #13 of 58 Restaurants in Page
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Start your day in Lake Powell Resort's Rainbow Room with a bountiful breakfast buffet filled with fresh fruit, pastries, pancakes and eggs - to fuel up for the adventures ahead. After a fun-filled day, join us again as our chef tempts you with entrees ranging from fresh fish to flame-broiled beef and a delightful selection of vegetarian fare. We welcome our guests to come as they are and enjoy the casual spirit of the West at our resort.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and OK food”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This huge, high-ceilinged, circular space has amazing views across Lake Powell, and is worth visiting just to see them. The food doesn't quite live up the views or the "fine-dining" marketing, but it's OK if not especially memorable. We had dinner there just ten days ago but I can't remember what I ate! It's also the place you take breakfast if you're staying at the hotel - the buffet offers a decent selection and it's not too expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    110
    60
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Mixed service spoiled this restaurant”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We ate there two nights, the first night it was very busy and we could see that, but he waiter was excellent and the god very nice. He advised us on wine and helped us make a great notice. The second nigh we waited an hour for our main course and watched all the tables around order, get served eat and leave, we were not offered an apology it was appalling

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 186400Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fancy Restaraunt Fancy Prices Blah Food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I liked the service with multi-cultural employees named Ivan and Igor from Russia as they have exchange students or something working summers? or something like that but then the food comes and its so blah!!! The view is lovely and beautiful and then again the food is blah!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank malinda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What Do You Expect?”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I read many reviews on this resort and restaurant, but here's the most important thing to remember: if you visit Lake Powell, you are in the middle of the desert. I can't believe folks think they are going to get a 5 star restaurant in the middle of no where. Here's all the things you need to know about the Rainbow Room.

1. You're lucky to find decent food this far into the desert.
2. The food is shipped in via Aramark distribution so don't expect anything organic
3. The food is prepared as best as possible ( not great ,but edible)
4. The staff is willing to kiss your rear because this is their source of income
5. The view of Lake Powell is incredible from the dining room especially at sunset.
6. The place is air-conditioned!

What more can you ask for? Instead of visiting this area for the "food", visit for the lake, the scenery. Go skiing, float a raft, go visit the Rainbow Bridge on Navajo Land. Food should be on the bottom of your list here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rainbow Room disappoints”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Rainbow Room was touted as the "best" restaurant at the Lake Powell resort. The service was good and our waiter was excellent but the food was marginal. Both my husband and I did not enjoy our meals, they were overcooked and tasteless. We asked for espresso after dinner and were told that the management of the resort refused to buy an espresso machine for the Rainbow Room as there was already one in the Cafe, which closed at 7PM.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason U, General Manager at Rainbow Room, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hello and thanks for providing your feedback both positive and negative. We take the time to review all our comments so we can make improvements on the guest experience. If you have the time I would like to talk in more detail regarding your meals that you mentioned were overcooked and tasteless. Just wanted to know which items they were and what night you ate at our restaurant. Please feel free to call me at 928 645 2433. Thanks again for your comments. Sincerely, Jason Urtubey - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rainbow Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing