We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a chain motel”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Page
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked a suite here but in reality this is simply a run of the mill motel chain.
At $210 usd the price was simply too much for the quality of the accommodation.

The room was reasonable and situated within walking distance of shops etc. the air conditions through the night is too load, and even if it is turned off the sound of the fridge motor kicks in.

A fast serve buffet is included in the cost of the room, but it is reasonably basic. A real turn off was the provision of all cups and plates were thin plastic, and the plastic knives and forks were child side. A very poor image for the brand.

Room Tip: Look around, there must be a better motel in Page
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dencal1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Dencal1945,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. It is good to know you like our location. It was regrettable to see the breakfast service and loud room amenities were not quite what you were expecting from our hotel. Your feedback will be addressed with the appropriate department to ensure we are providing the best stay for guests at all times. If your travel brings you to the area in the future, we hope you give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Welcome committee was absent when we asked about checking in at 1:30. Room was not available and we were given the standard line to come back at 3 - no problem. Our room was finally ready at 4:30 and the late afternoon staff was very nice and professional. We asked about a restaurant recommendation for lunch where we could find vegan offerings. We were told there were none which was confirmed later by the tourist information center. Desk clerk recommended we try Dam Bar and Grill since they serve salads so we did. Accommodating once they got past the idea that we really didn't want meat or cheese on our salads. Our suite was spacious, opened into the breakfast room which was interesting but not a problem, but is sadly in need of a complete update.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Mathtravel,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Despite the surly receptionist who checked us in, we enjoyed our stay here. We opted for a king bed suite and were pleasantly surprised by its size and layout. The suite was nicely decorated and very comfortable, with almost everything you need in a well appointed kitchen. (bring your own corkscrew!).
The breakfast is standard HIE, with the usual choices. It was busy on our second morning and the staff were a little slow to replenish the dishes.
The pool area is small, but a great place to relax after a day exploring the area.
You can easily walk to a number of restaurants from the hotel and it is only a short drive to Lake Powell. I would certainly stay here again if I came back to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Im a frequent traveller and alternate between HIE and Hamptons quite a bit, usually finding them quite interchangable. But this one was the runt of the litter. Bad beds (im not sure if HIE mandates the same beds across all the chains like Hampton), sucky pillows (thats pretty standard for HIE) and a disorganized and chaotic breakfast area. The clerk who checked us in was perfunctory if not disinterested. While not a horrible stay (there is some guarantee of quality at HIE), not what i expect from a national chain. Oh yeah and our AC didnt work right, so we all slept poorly. Thats not their fault specifically, but better maintenance would have avoided it.

Room Tip: Make sure your AC works before you settle in. avoid the street side as there are several restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Tony H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation on our bed, pillows, breakfast experience and the air conditioning. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Good location - you can walk to restaurants, etc. but the hotel was average. It definitely gets a lot of use and it shows. Perfect for our one night stopover on our way to the Grand Canyon. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was what you would expect. The tables weren't always cleaned but not awful.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank TallyGator90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear TallyGator90,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are pleased you liked our location and found our staff helpful. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice place and customer service was outstanding!! This is how a hotel stay is supposed to be. Nice Check in was quick and done with ease. The room was clean, quiet and roomy. We asked for a queen suite and were surprised by a spacious two room suite. Two queen beds in one room and a sofa bed and chair in another with a walk through bathroom. Traveling with children can sometimes be difficult but when they have their own room and TV it makes things a bit easier to deal with. Breakfast was standard fare but good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel was very easy to find (right at an intersection before you enter the town). There was plenty of free parking available. The staff at check-in was very friendly (I was recognized as a Platinum member immediately and received a welcome bag). Our room was located a bit weird - right in the middle of the breakfast area on the ground floor. But as we entered our suite it was very spacious with two flatscreen tvs, a huge kitchen with everything you need and even a washer/dryer. The bathroom was pretty small compared to the rest of the suite and also looked pretty old - but it was clean and that's the most important thing.
The a/c was pretty loud, so we had to open up the windows to get some fresh air (it was May, so during the night it wasn't as hot and we had a second a/c in the living room that we used most of the time). And in the middle of the night you could hear the guests walking around in the room located above (so I guess the ceiling was pretty thin).
Our bed was comfortable so we cought some good sleep despite the noise issues.
Breakfast next morning was good (standard HI express), but the tables were not cleaned regularly by the breakfast ladies.
All in all a good stay - if they could do something against the noisy a/c and the thin ceiling this would have been five points !
Additional note: internet was very fast in our room!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the highest floor to avoid noises from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Page hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
0.6 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Page Lake Powell
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 751 South Navajo Drive, Page, AZ 86040 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell)
Region: United States > Arizona > Page
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Page
Price Range: £47 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the heart of beautiful Lake Powell Country and the Navajo Indian Reservation. This beautiful and scenic area has been the backdrop for such famous movies as the 1967 'Planet of the Apes'; 'Maverick' with Mel Gibson, and most recently, the remake of 'Planet of the Apes' and a Steven Spielberg movie called 'Evolution'. Lake Powell National Monument is a world renown recreation area. This man-made lake has over 1500 miles of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell Hotel Page
Holiday Inn Page
Page Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing