We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Germ-phobe says this is a great stay!!”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Page
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Germ-phobe says this is a great stay!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We hadn't planned to stay here, but a questionable body hair in the bedding of a local motel sent me running to the local Holiday Inn Express (we really like this chain). Since our booking was last minute, we only paid half price! While, as other reviewers have mentioned, this particular building is outdated and older (the 1992 decor is ghastly), don't rule it out. I'm one of those crazy clean people who inspect bedding (and bring my own pillow and sheets just in case), and in my opinion, this room was very clean. Even the carpet where it met the door frames was clean, and that impresses me. So yes, the hotel is outdated, but I slept so comfortably and when I closed my eyes I couldn't see the tacky decor, haha. Breakfast was usual free fare, but warm and plentiful. Overall, I would totally stay here again, though if they need some decor advice, I'm here to help, lol.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emgailm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    262
    196
    80
    43
See reviews for
193
286
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

our drive is long from tucson AZ, and dont know where we'd end up to stay the night.. picked this one from guest reviews and their affordable price, and we made the right choice! room is very clean! slept soundly and comfortably. and breakfast is GREAT! wide selection of food that surely will fill anyone's belly! got no complain!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guenevere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our pit stop between the Grand Canyon and on our way to Zion National Park. Horseshoe Bend and both of the Antelope Canyon tours were within 15 minutes from the hotel. Although it may seem a bit dated, the room is exactly what we needed. It was spacious enough for just the two of us. The beds were comfortable. Standard breakfast but there was enough options. The hotel was close to restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiniGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed for one night between Christmas and New Years. After a long day in Zion and two hours on the road, it was nice to pull into a warm hotel on a dark, cold evening. Gal at front desk was friendly and check-in was a breeze.

This was a rewards stay and I had called ahead and requested any suite but the one backing up to the breakfast area. As promised, I got suite 200.

Finding the room posed the first challenge because vending machines were placed right up to the door frame, blocking the room number sign. Once inside, the room was definitely a suite - very spacious. Nice kitchen, not high-end appliances by any means, but functional. Furniture was cheap and looked worn or dirty. Beds were comfortable, linen clean. Heating worked well, even when it was freezing outside.

But the bathroom was disappointing. This has to be the lowest counter ever! I'm 6'2 and it seemed like the counter was just barely above my knees. The toilet was evenly tiny and not anchored well so it would rock whenever you sat down. Grout was missing between floor tiles and there were several loose ones. Carpet backing up to the bathroom was worn down entirely and should have been replaced long ago. Bathroom ceiling fan came on when you turned on the light and was so loud you could not hear anyone talking to you from outside the bathroom. Shower rod was falling off the wall, causing the shower curtain to constantly slip open, spilling water on the floor. Lighting was horrible, unflattering neon ... and so forth. It felt like a cheap, budget motel.

We were looking forward to breakfast the next morning, but this was yet another disappointment: Arrived at 9, 30 minutes before closing, only to find most items gone and an inferno of guests rummaging through the remains. All there was to choose from was biscuits, some gravy, junky cinnamon rolls, and bread. The breakfast hostess was nowhere to be seen so I went to the kitchen and asked if there might be more eggs and milk. Some time later she showed up with a little of each, but not nearly enough to feed everyone there. She spent time on cleaning up in the kitchen while the breakfast area was ignored until 9.30 - then she eagerly started cleaning up. This was the worst breakfast I've ever come across at a Holiday Inn / Express, and disappointing because I expected a hot breakfast when staying at such a property.

Went to front desk to ask for change for a tip to the maid. Another friendly gal there, but she did not care to ask about my stay. Overall, there was a severe lack of attention to detail - both in service and room upkeep.

Left hungry and disappointed, much less inclined to look for a Holiday Inn on our next road trip.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before unpacking and make sure everything works, especially in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank propete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear propete,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay. It was regrettable to see the accommodations and breakfast were not up to the standards you have come to expect as an IHG Rewards Club member. We were pleased to see the staff did accommodate your request for a suite. We would like to address this with you further and have sent you an email to the address on your reservation.

Thank you again for your feedback and continued loyalty. We look forward to the next opportunity to be of service to you.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was a great stop, walking distance to restaurants, clean room, very reasonable price with winter rates. Breakfast was same quality expected from holiday Inn Express. Good stop for our day of hiking and photo shoots.

Room Tip: Top floors are always quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandDeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midway, Utah
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

a nice 2 night stay. staff was friendly and helpful. The Wifi worked well. Breakfast was OK and set up early enough for a 6:30 AM fishing departure. Found an excellent Chinese Buffet (Mandarin) that we ate at for 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drift A Dry -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

What you come to expect in the US hotel chains, nice clean rooms in a double & single bed set up, food is good with a typical American breakie, bacon, scrambled egg, pancakes etc.
Staff are welcoming and there is a pool to cool of in the evenings after you've seen monument valley and antelope canyon, which you have to.

essentially, imagine a UK premier inn, in the dessert with an outdoor pool and US food

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter, get a room in the east of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack_Da_Lad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Page hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 24 in Page
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Page - Lake Powell Area
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 751 South Navajo Drive, Page, AZ 86040 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Page
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Page
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the heart of beautiful Lake Powell Country and the Navajo Indian Reservation. This beautiful and scenic area has been the backdrop for such famous movies as the 1967 'Planet of the Apes'; 'Maverick' with Mel Gibson, and most recently, the remake of 'Planet of the Apes' and a Steven Spielberg movie called 'Evolution'. Lake Powell National Monument is a world renown recreation area. This man-made lake has over 1500 miles of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell Hotel Page
Holiday Inn Page
Page Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing