We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a motel I'd avoid”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Page
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“a motel I'd avoid”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I booked (and paid) three nights in this particular motel. Having read all the average and below average reviews on tripadvisor I was pretty satisfied at first glance. The property was clean, even though during chek-in the staff wasn't friendly at all. The motel was completely booked, there was noch vacancy at all. Consequently ist was very busy.

The room was large and we had a fridge and a microwave. So nothing to complain about. What set us up was the moldy smell in the room. Having entered the bathroom we instantly knew where it came from. There were huge spots of mould. We tried to let some air in and kept the AC running in hopes to dry the air. No chance.

So we requested a different room. The problem was basically the same. After either one of us took a a shower the humidity didn't get out of the entire room. Despite fresh air and AC.

During hours in the room my allergies popped up and made a further stay impossible.

Even though we were not refunded for it, we left one day early. My health was more important the wasted money.

In the past I made very good experiences with HI Express. This was the absolute opposite. And due to the prices in Page during the summer, an expensive experience...

Room Tip: The further up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan_Hikelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Jan_deJay,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    265
    196
    80
    44
See reviews for
195
287
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gila River, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Well we arrived at our final destination of the day only because we were running out of daylight. Other hotels were completely booked and luckily we found the Holiday Inn Express; took the last room, a 3 bed room. More than what I wanted to spend but had no other choice. Our room was nice and adequate for our stay. Breakfast was good; I thought the ladies attending to the breakfast area were rude. One yelled at a few patrons who didn't know how to work pancake maker and others for spilling juice. Overall it was a nice overnight stay, beds were comfortable and close walk to a few restaurants. Didn't use pool so can't comment on that, front desk staff were friendly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PimaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear PimaGirl,

Thank you so much for the feedback provided after your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you appreciate the room accommodations you received and enjoyed the breakfast that was served. However, I am sorry if some aspects of our staff service fell below your expectation. I appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our services by providing crucial feedback.

Again, thank you for your comments. We will look forward to having you back with us the next time that you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Having stayed a numerous Holiday Inn Express Hotels over the years I was surprised with my overall experience in Page. Although the lobby was very bright and cheery and the front desk people more than willing to help with any questions I was disappointed to find the the carpeting in the room very outdated and worn leaving one feeling a little uneasy feeling and withdrawn, although the bed was comfortable. Additionally 1 of the 2 washers and1 of the 2 dryers were broken, the toaster in the morning breakfast room barely worked, and the coffee was very week. My biggest disappointment was with the pricing of the rooms I understand business is business but I feel the exceptionally high pricing of the rooms was a price gouge due to the remote location of Page and the lack of other options. Given the overall quality of this hotel and cost I would take take my business elsewhere for the price but not because of the people working at this hotel, but due to pricing.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Kim A,

Thank you for your stay with us and reviewing our property

I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on room condition particularly with the carpeting. Additionally, I am truly sorry that you found our rates to be higher than what you have expected. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Nothing special, just a convenient stop for the night. Price was better than other stops but still WAY more expensive than I expected. Room for 2 was $222 dollars for the night. There was breakfast available but I did not try it. Room was clean, staff was very friendly and helpful and everything in the room we used worked. No scenic views.. I would not have a problem staying here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It is a decent hotel. Even though nothing very exciting about it, still I think it was a good choice considering location, cleanliness and comfort of the hotel. Breakfast was typical kind of breakfast for HI express chain. We stayed there for 2 nights on the second floor. Room was spacious, clean and quiet. Service was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikefr0mNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here one night, thank god!

Ground floor carpet, looks like it's not been cleaned/steamed in years
Rooms nice and clean
We were on the ground floor and could here everything upstairs it's was like elephants were jogging, didn't sleep well due to this but the bed was comfortable.

Good parking and lovely lady doing the breakfast did the coffee early which was great as elephants got up early!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear BrianT1970,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to read you found the bed comfortable. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the level of noise created by other guests during your stay. We hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are a family of six, and stayed three nights.

Pros: friendly staff, great location, comfortable beds, spacious suite (rm 200) for family of six, great air conditioning, flat screen TVs, kitchenette with stove, balcony, good breakfasts, boat parking

Con's:cockroaches (we killed at least 4), horrible smell coming from kitchen garbage disposal (we covered the drain and that seemed to stop the smell), cracked tiles in bathroom, old plumbing --the shower faucet would not stop running on our last day, the bathroom is old and shabby, door handle from bedroom to bathroom was also broken, mini fridge also not very cold.

I understand that Holiday Inn is building a new hotel in Page, and that this hotel one will become a Clarion. I hope the staff goes to the new hotel, they were great and addressed the room problems quickly. However, room 200 has problem after problem. I will not stay in the room again unless it has been updated and the bugs and smells eliminated. It's a pity, because it is really a fun place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 200.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zephanjavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear zephanjavh,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about your stay. We are glad that you found our beds to be comfortable and staff friendly. However, it is disappointing to read that the maintenance levels on site were a disappointment. We have taken note of the points you have raised and this will be addressed with management to consider for enhancements needed.

We all hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Page hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 24 in Page
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Page - Lake Powell Area
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 751 South Navajo Drive, Page, AZ 86040 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Page
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Page
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in the heart of beautiful Lake Powell Country and the Navajo Indian Reservation. This beautiful and scenic area has been the backdrop for such famous movies as the 1967 'Planet of the Apes'; 'Maverick' with Mel Gibson, and most recently, the remake of 'Planet of the Apes' and a Steven Spielberg movie called 'Evolution'. Lake Powell National Monument is a world renown recreation area. This man-made lake has over 1500 miles of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Page-Lake Powell Hotel Page
Holiday Inn Page
Page Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing