We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hungry Jack Lodge & Campground
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Grand Marais
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feather Nest Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
46
5
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
5
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalleye sandwichmoderate pricingexceptional staffbassboundary watersforrestsaunanorthwoodsfishinglakesboatbuddycampinglodgedogshikingsnowmobiling
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for one week last summer. Cabins average. Very steep decent to dock to get boats down each day. Then of course up again at end of the day. No locks on cabins is a bit of a problem as you launch for a whole day gone, leaving your valuables in the cabin. Lots of long portages if you want to go to more than hungry Jack Lake. Two younger people running the place and you can tell by the adding of more ATV trails and less quiet ambiance. I will say the fish dinner was very good and the bar with wifi was nice as well. I would not return to this spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BMcC004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed at Hungry Jack Lodge this past weekend. Very nice place on a beautiful lake. Smallmouth fishing excellent with decent walleye results. The cabin was very nice with all the necessities and the main lodge is beautiful. The food was very good and the staff is very helpful especially Mike who took time to answer questions about the lake and area around it. Very nice guy. Had a really good time and felt it was a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

As it turns out, the only public boat launch on Hungry Jack (off the Gunflint Trail) is at the Hungry Jack lodge. Its a reasonable fee to launch and park ($10.). However, due to a little misinformation, we understood it would be $5. The lady at the desk corrected me to say $10. (again, no big deal...fair price). I paused long enough just to say, " I must have misunderstood, thought it was $5..."
She was curt and perfunctory to finish the transaction...totally missing the opportunity to have kindly suggested we look around the very beautiful lodge and grounds and consider staying with them in the future....so we could use all their other facilities...including the boat launch.
But we won't likely be back...it didn't seem like a very friendly place !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a well run, fun place to get a cabin. We had the big 4 bedroom Deer cabin for a family reunion. My only comment would be that it is no secluded. Next time we will get the smaller cabins on the lake.
The restaurant had great burgers, etc, and it was a treat to skip the cooking and just head in there one night. The pontoon rental is lovely and spacious. The kids enjoyed fishing for bass and sun fish right off the dock, and caught and released a lot of fish. The swim and play area, including the paddle boat, were also big hits.
Not a deep wilderness experience despite being so close to the BWCA, but it was lovely for a 4 day get away with family.

Room Tip: There was no private space for a bon fire, and little privacy with the big Deer cabin. Go for the smaller, more rustic cabins right on the water.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glofrey842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed at HJL campground in a travel trailer, 3rd week of June for 8 nights. Very nice folks. Forrest, Ericka and the SUPER CREW work diligently at keeping the place running smoothly. So did Buddy & Remington (canines). Common shower area is very clean and kept tidy. Overall condition of property is near excellent.
Some upgrading construction going on on a building off to the side of campground area but wasn't loud or a disturbance. The fella running 1001 errands daily on the ATV was super nice and accommodating when I asked him to help me move the heavy picnic table on my site. The 4-wheeler wasn't loud or invasive either. I was greeted with smiles, friendliness and engaged in conversation when they were able to do so. Minnesota nice served up generously. Beautiful bar downstairs. Has a cool juke box!

Highly Recommend.

Mike (Ohio)

Room Tip: Sandy soil in campground. Bring a rug to wipe off footwear.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews