We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food, Large portions, Quick Friendly Service & Decent Price”
Review of Trail Center Lodge

Trail Center Lodge
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
216 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Large portions, Quick Friendly Service & Decent Price”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed on Gunflint Trail & ate dinner twice at Trail Center. Both times the waitresses were friendly & the food appeared very quickly! The dinner salads with our meals were huge & the salad dressings were excellent. I had the 1/2 rack of BBQ ribs in their special sauce (meat soo tender, it fell off the bones) & broiled shrimp combo & he had their Chicken Parmesan ( a huge breast of chicken ) with garlic toast & house salad. Our next meal, we both had the prime rib
( 14oz.- a thick hunk of meat served with a small container of "au jus". YUM! ) He had soup - homemade potato bacon soup - I had salad ( WONDERFUL house creamy Italian parmesan dressing) DO TRY THIS HOUSE SALAD DRESSING!!! Prices were very fair for the quantity & quality of food! Try it & you'll know why they are so busy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatureLover99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    58
    15
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very interesting tavern and restaurant. The food was well prepared and good service. I enjoyed all the pictures and memorabilia on the walls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeWinnieNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat on the trail”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Always a good meal at a reasonable price. The only problem is everybody else knows this too, so sometimes you need to wait for a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minus800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've lived in Grand Marais since 1985 and travel quite a bit for my business. When I fly into a new city I have no idea where to eat so I consult Tripadvisor but more importantly, I talk with as many hotel employees as I can and ask where they like to eat...the locals always know where the best food is! The longer they've lived there, the more hidden gems they know about. Well, after living for nearly 30 years in Grand Marais, I can share with you that Trail Center is that gem in Grand Marais and is well worth the scenic 30 mile drive up the Gunflint Trail. North woods scratch-made food at it's best and the same owners since the day it opened. In fact, they've have the same waitresses for the last 10+ years...why? It's a great place to eat and work! BBQ ribs to die for, eclectic burgers and sandwiches you won't find anywhere else, all served in a log cabin setting. Did I mention the cool country store in the waiting area with tons of local homemade canned goods? Outdoor bar and dining in the summer with a view of the lake...it's right on Poplar Lake! If you're planning a trip to Grand Marais, you MUST stop here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcopostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were staying at the Clearwater Lodge and came here for lunch and dinners that were not provided at our lodge. The food here was great. My wife is a pretty picky eater and she was very satisfied with the selection here. They also have some pretty good beers. Lastly, we purchased some great dried foods for backpacking here as well. They have a nice last minute shop for some supplies.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trail Center Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Trail Center Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing