We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncompromising Beauty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bearskin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bearskin Lodge
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Uncompromising Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

My (new) fiance and I just returned from a 4 day trip to Bearskin Lodge. We had an amazing time--and we got engaged! We stayed in Cabin #5 and it was perfect--cozy and warm and we had a fire going the entire time we spent in the cabin. The interior is very warmly decorated and has a great rustic feel. Also, as a Northwoods cabin should be, there is no TV, no cell service and only limited internet connectivity (fine for e-mail and Facebook) at the main lodge. The views of bearskin lake and the surrounding forest is breathtaking, and there is quietness there I can only describe as "pitch black" and absolute. The beauty is too much to describe so I would only say, go experience it for yourself! We also enjoyed the fact that the hot tub really is private as time slots are reserved throughout the day (incidentally, most were open so it wasn't a problem getting a time at all). As far as hiking goes, nearby Honeymoon bluff is a short, fairly easy ascent to a spectacular view. Just a couple of miles further is the Caribou Rock trail, which is difficult to very difficult in spots but offers an amazing hiking experience with extremely rewarding photo opportunities. About 1 hour and 15 minutes into this hike, however, we came across a yet unidentified animal that we heard give a loud, low growl-ish sound. The animal had big lungs because of the resonant quality of it, and the guy back at the the lodge thought it was probably a moose. Either way--moose, bear or Sasquatch--it ended our hike post haste! We didn't get a chance to eat at the lodge, so I can't speak to the quality of food. The staff were nice, but not particularly outgoing or friendly which did surprise me a little bit. I expected a hearty handshake and a vibrant "welcome!" as well as a "we hope you had a great time, come stay with us again!" but instead received pretty subdued versions of both. My fiance and I both felt a neutrality of our presence there which was a little disappointing. However, our overall impression was very positive and we will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

It had been seven years since my last visit to Bearskin, and the ownership had just changed. It was good to see that the new owners have kept everything good about this escape, and made investments to improve the overall quality of the property. I stayed, alone, in one of the smaller cabins. The place was immaculate, with plenty of firewood and a well stocked kitchen. While the resort was about half-full during my stay, it was absolutely quiet and peaceful. The staff was very attentive to my needs, comforts and questions. I was looking for a few days by myself to unwind, and that's exactly what I found here.

Room Tip: When deciding how large of a cabin you require, subtract two from the number of people the website i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelvisGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have now been to Bearskin Lodge five times, and all have been excellent experiences. It is located on the Gunflint Trail which in itself provides a great deal of hikes and sights, and the town of Grand Marais is about 25 minutes away for good restaurants and a rainy day option.

The Lodge has a mix of 11 private cabins or 4 "lodge" units that are similar to vacation condos. Each cabin or unit has a private dock. We have never found our cabin to be any other than clean and well-stocked. Staff have always been great to us both for the little things but also for important advice on exploring the rugged and beautiful territory around this area.

What we love is that you can be a little unplugged when at this lodge. You won't have a TV or phone in your cabin, but it will be clean with a modern kitchens and bathrooms, etc. We also like that you can be as public as you want, enjoying the beach, lodge, or numerous resort activities, or have a completely quiet and private vacation if you so choose. This is a quiet setting -- not a party spot -- much more of a place where people go for a nice, peaceful vacation or to have an active vacation exploring the area.

The number of repeat visitors speaks volumes. Every year when we go, most of the other people are repeat guests, some who we even recognize from prior years. We have been to several of the resorts in Minnesota, but this is the one we try to make it to every single year.

Room Tip: All cabins have different character. Many are booked a year or more in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazelmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This resort knows that the word 'authentic' has been diluted beyond recognition. We were thrilled to settle in to our cabin, because it was clean and had every amenity expected. We really appreciated the service at every turn, for our impeccably clean and fully-functional cabin that had every necessary amenity. Our expectations were exceeded in every respect, and our future vacation planning will include consideration of Bearskin! Wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenevaSorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

A lifelong friend invited me to Bearskin with him in late January of 2009. We stayed in one of the snug cabins nestled in by the frozen and beautiful snowcovered East Bearskin Lake. I was so impressed with the everything from the accomodations to the warm hospitality of the owners and staff that, since then, I have returned three more times. Bearskin has the unique advantage of offering many fun activities in a picturesque setting all within a very family friendly environment. I highly recommend a visit to Bearskin Lodge whether it's a weekend gettaway from the nearby "Cities" or a week long escape from as far away as sunny South Carolina. Two thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

A friend and I went to Bearskin the week after the fourth of July to get away and we had the most enjoyable week ever. We checked in and were show to a beautiful cabin with our own private dock. We were invited to a dinner the first night to meet other guests and had a great time. The cabin was clean and comfortable and included everything we needed. The owner, Sue was most welcoming and helped us plan a few different outings in order to enjoy the best the beautiful north shore had to offer. We will be back!! Thanks Sue!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at Bearskin for the first time a few weeks ago. We brought a large family group that ranged in ages from about 2 to 60 years old. Everyone had a blast and hopes to return at some point or another. The accommodations are nice, clean and comfortable. The location is out of this world and their great staff is the icing on the cake! They were full of great advice, extremely friendly and probably very tolerant of our group (did I mention we brought two two-year-olds?). Top notch. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 43323Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
20.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
20.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
20.0 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.0 mi away
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 31 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#12 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge

Property: Bearskin Lodge
Address: 124 E Bearskin Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3003
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming lakeside accommodation that's big on cross-country skiing and hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing