We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of this World - Love It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bearskin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bearskin Lodge
Welch, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Out of this World - Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

I tell my family that words cannot describe the experience of staying at Bearskin Lodge. It's a feeling. We have stayed here July 09 and July 10 for one week. The cabins are VERY clean as are the grounds. The resort is VERY quiet, and each cabin is secluded...you can't see the other cabins from your own, eventhough they are not far away from one another. Just alot of lush forest. It is so relaxing here, it is like the forest sort of takes you in and wraps its arms around you for the length of your stay...and you respect one another. Visitors do not come here to party and get loud. This is not the place for that. It is very serene but yet children-friendly. Even the owners try to keep any noise to a miniumum on the property or inside the dimly-lit beautiful lodge. There is a whole list of activities offered by the lodge for every day of the week. Attendance is encouraged for kids and adults of all ages! These include nature hikes, book mark making, canoe trips across the lake and various crafts. Do as many or as few as you would like. Dining is limited, but it is good. The staff is absolutely awesome. I could go on and on. My family of four, including teen and toddler can't get enough of the place, and have secured our reservation for 2011. We call it the "gem", and I've heard the same term mentioned by those staying in the other cabins. If you want a quieter north woods experience without having to "rough it", this is the place! And, if you want to rough it for a day, they can arrange that for you, too! Take a day trip into the BWCAW!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoriB263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We recently returned from a North Shore/Gunflint trip to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Spent the last three days at the Bearskin Lodge, and really enjoyed the surroundings. The lodge is beautiful, cabin #2 was so cozy, grounds were absolutely beautiful, and the location halfway up the Gunflint trail was perfect. Lots of fun hiking and canoeing in the area. We would highly recommend this resort, and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

The scenery and wildlife was like no other. The staff was very nice and the resort is really, really nice! All cabins are off in their own part of the woods with their own docks for your boat/boats. The fishing was alright, due to the hot summer the lake was down 2 feet, so the walleyes were really hiding. Overall it was a great trip and we would go back for sure!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEI1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

We took my parents to Bearskin for their 50th wedding anniversay. My wife, teen daughter, future son-in-law, and two tween nieces spent a week in one of the lodge units. Bob and staff were very accomodating. Anna (naturalist) spent a great deal of time with the girls on some wonderful activities. Ryan (chef and all around helper) taught canoeing and kayaking.

The facitility is as beautiful (if not more so) than the pictures. The experience was peaceful and relaxing. I would (and have) recommend Bearskin to anyone wanting a peaceful, relaxing and inspiring vacation in the North Woods.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank akadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We booked a trip to Bearskin for the kids' spring break, hoping to get in on some end of winter x-country skiing. Unfortunately with the warm temps, the skiing fizzled out, but we were not dissapointed. The lodge staff were very friendly and helped us come up with plenty of other activities to enjoy the last of winter. We discovered some awesome hiking trails. It was so quiet and peaceful and, best of all- NO BUGS! The stars at night were gorgeous. We stayed in Otter Lodge 4. Our unit was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and everything was in perfect working order. There is a huge fireplace area in the lodge where you can rest and relax, with games and puzzles for the kids. It really does not get much better than this. We are looking forward to booking another trip for next winter, as the ski trails looked fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkelch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We were looking for a quiet place "up north" to go cross country skiing, and had stumbled upon the Bearskin Lodge the last time we were up in Grand Marais. We bought a day pass then and thought the trails were wonderful, and were anxious to get back and actually stay in a cabin because the place had such character. Having now done that, we can recommend Bearskin Lodge to anyone who wants a true Minnesota winter experience. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The lodge and cabins are open year round. There is a sauna and hot tub. We were in cabin #7, which had one bedroom with a double bed and a second with two twins. Although it was just my husband and myself, it would be a great place for a family. Other cabins on site accommodate 6-8 people. A restaurant from Grand Marais offers fine dining on Friday and Saturday nights, and we had a wonderful meal. Other than that, the management provides only minimal food service and housekeeping, but we like it that way. The kitchen was well stocked, with ample counters, not the narrow galley you see in newer condos. The living room was comfortable, and the best thing were the large windows (we enjoyed the wildlife: pine grosbeaks, pine martens, canada jays that came right up to the feeders). The xc trail system is extensive, very well groomed for skate and classic skiing, and the short night loop was serene. We loved it and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freebiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Bearskin Lodge provides a really wonderful setting for enjoying the beauty of the Minnesota Northwoods. Our cabin was really comfortable and provided a beautiful view overlooking the lake. The cross-country ski trails are accessible right on the property and provide many miles of enjoyment through a variety of terrain. It is hard to describe how beautiful it is there. A nice snow fell during our visit, and upon taking to the ski trails after that, it was one fabulous picture-postcard scene after another. I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tagless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
20.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
20.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
20.0 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.0 mi away
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 31 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#13 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearskin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearskin Lodge

Property: Bearskin Lodge
Address: 124 E Bearskin Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3003
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming lakeside accommodation that's big on cross-country skiing and hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bearskin Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing