We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were well taken care of” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We were well taken care of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I had been wanting to paddle into the BWCA for nearly 50 years, and this summer I finally got my chance. My kids and I, who live on opposite ends of the country, usually meet somewhere for a week of vacation each year. We are all seasoned campers and paddlers, but combining those things with portaging was new to us, so I had lots of questions and needed to rent some additional gear.

Every phone call I made to Tuscarora Outfitters was a pleasant experience. You know how you often get the feeling on the phone that the person you called thinks they have more important things to do than answer yet another of a seemingly endless string of questions? At Tuscarora Outfitters I never got that at all; in fact they always took their time to answer every question in detail, helping me understand exactly the best way to proceed with our planning.

We ended up renting canoes and some other gear as well as spending a night in the bunkhouse and enjoying a nice breakfast the day we headed out into the wild. Andy spent time teaching us where and how to catch each species of fish along our route and even showed my oldest son how to tie a fishing knot he had been wondering about.

All in all it was a wonderful trip. Just the right combination of difficulty, solitude, and adventure, and Sue, Andy, and the kids were the perfect support team.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RottenBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscaroraCanoe, Manager at Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for trusting us with your annual family vacation! We were more than happy to help you plan your long awaited BWCA trip. Please let us know if we can help anytime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just staying at the resort was a fabulous vacation for our two families. One year Grandma and Grandpa even came and hung out. Lady Slippers right outside the door of Cabin 2! A ten-minute hike brought us to a great swimming rock where the kids could just slide into the water. Sue and Andy were always full of ideas for day trips and gave us transportation at times that were most convenient for us. The French toast breakfast was not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscaroraCanoe, Owner at Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad that you and your extended family had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. The pink lady slippers are blooming once again by Cabin 2!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

What's so great about Tuscarora is that it offers all the elements of a remote wilderness adventure even for those of us who aren't into camping. Since most people come for the outfitting, you almost feel like you have the place to yourself when you stay in a cabin. Sue and Andy know just the right day trips to recommend (and help make happen, transporting canoes as needed.) Having grown up in Minnesota, I'm so glad I was able to give my east coast kids this wonderful experience. Well worth the hours in planes and on the road it took to get there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirMarClr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscaroraCanoe, Owner at Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
We are happy to hear your family enjoyed their stay in our little slice of heaven! Thank you for sharing with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Wife and I just returned from a trip to the Boundary Waters with our put-in and stay at Round Lake through Tuscarora Outfitters. They were wonderful in helping us with anything we needed.
We stayed in a bunk house the night before we left and found it to be clean and comfortable. Sue was very kind and let us know anything we might need.
Scott, the other gentleman who helped us was truly amazing, personable and helpful. Can't wait for our next trip back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mathyoomay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscaroraCanoe, Manager at Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us on Round Lake! We are happy to hear that we helped you and your wife have an enjoyable vacation. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have been going to the Boundary Waters since 1970 and during that time have used many outfitters. Over the years I have accumulated most of the gear that I need for a trip. Invariably I need a place to stay and often need one more canoe. Andy is a very helpful and patient host. He has always provided excellent advice on portages, fishing locations and campsites. His bunk houses are clean and reasonable. Tuscarora Canoes are in good shape, with a good selection of Kevlar boats. Located on Round Lake; this is great place to depart right from their beach for destinations either to the South or West. We also stayed in a cabin year when fires prevented a canoe trip. The cabin was as good as any I have stayed in. Andy and his staff are very friendly and attentive to the needs of canoeists.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canoecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscaroraCanoe, Manager at Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Andy and the whole staff are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stays at Tuscarora! We are pleased that we can accommodate your changing needs as you continue to explore and paddle this unique place. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Sue and Andy were great! I've been going to this outfitter for five years and every year they tried their best to make us feel at home. When you get there they give us our bunk house. The bunk houses are pretty good but the beds are every comfy. (Bring a sleeping bag, That's what I did) then in the morning before you leave for the BWCA, we get a great french toast breakfast with coffee. Sue gives us information about where were going and suggestions. Then when were about to leave they give us a canoe and paddles. We load our packs and canoe onto the trailer of the car and go to the launch to leave. They bring our packs and canoe to American point on a motor boat.

Then after the trip we get picked up at American point at a planned time by the motor boat. Then we get back to the lodge and take showers at the lodge. They provide soap and towels for the showers. Right before we leave we went to the trading post to buy souvenirs. I recommend the Tuscarora lodge if your going to the BWCA. FYI I'm 12.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscaroraCanoe, Manager at Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much! Sue, Andy and everyone here at Tuscarora are happy to hear we have helped to make your last 5 trips so much fun. We hope that you can continue to visit us and explore the wilderness until you are 82!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

You will not find a better outfitter for an adventure in the BWCAW. We set up this trip with two families, both with two kids 8 and 12. We wanted to introduce the kids to canoeing and the wilderness, without overwhelming them. Sue set us up with a route, packs and maps that were perfect. The kids got to actually contribute to the portages without struggling too much, camp in a spectacular spot where they could run and swim to their hearts content, and see toads, spiders, birds, and a loon about 4 feet away! All that while the staff set seventy people from a middle school trip out on fully outfitted trips from four different embarkation points. We saw about twenty of them leave from the lake in front of our cabin, but otherwise would not have known they were even there.
Then on the last day, Daniel, Sue and Andy's son, guided the boys on a fishing expedition out of the lodge that got them each two of the biggest walleye they have ever seen! Daniel was the best thing about the trip for the boys. He was patient, clear in his instructions, very knowledgeable about the lake and fishing, and made it fun. More than fun, he made them want to go back. Then he taught them how to clean the fish while he was cleaning them, and gave them to us ready to cook or freeze.
The entire staff is wonderful. They all love the BWCA and the lodge, and it shows. Everything, down to the canoes, is absolutely spotless. The rental gear is clean and perfect. The cabins and bedding are better than home. I travel for work 2-3 times a month and I can't think of a hotel that was as clean and well run as this lodge in the middle of the wilderness. It rates excellent in every category, with cleanliness off the chart above excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C_A_Blabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
32.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
14.7 mi away
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 31 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
32.2 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#13 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
32.0 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
32.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters

Property: Tuscarora Lodge and Canoe Outfitters
Address: 193 Round Lake Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2092
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing