We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading Info on website for RV Sites”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nor'Wester Lodge and Canoe Outfitters
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misleading Info on website for RV Sites”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The location is great and the owners are nice and warm. Good hospitality. My issue is with the RV sites. We were told that they have a RV dump site and that was one of the reasons we picked this place in the first place. Due to some environmental issues, they had to shut down their dumping station last year (2013) but they failed to update their information on website and did not tell us when we checked in. I was disappointed. It is misleading or it could be pure laziness - either way that is the reason i gave it 3 stars. Also, NO Laundromats - although not a big deal for us - that is another thing they dont offer now.

Great place otherwise.

Room Tip: We used the RV site on the lake. Had a great time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magiczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed at many places on the Gunflint Trail but have found that Nor'Wester Lodge & Canoe Outfitters to be our favorite place. We've been back over and over for the past 18 years. Dog friendly!

Room Tip: Ask for the red cabin, it's our favorite. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherokee, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

NorWester Lodge is located a half hour inland from Grand Marais, Minnesota, in the Superior National Forest, next to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area and on Poplar Lake -- a lake you can fish and swim in and see the bottom at nearly any depth. It offers fully furnished cabins and four two-level villas. A sand beach for kids, an expansive dock for your boat or one you'd rent (and for sunning), and NO phone in your cabin, NO television nor cell phone tower in range. Some good restaurants not far off and even more back in Grand Marais. It is the place families return for the same reason year after year. A great family place in a wonderful natural setting.

Room Tip: The lake is your swimming pool and trails your fitness center. Leave your necktie at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCfromCherokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Wound up here by accident as I waited too late to book and could only get parto of our stay booked. Luana had two nights free in the CedarHaus #3 Towncabin so we took it. It was just lovely. the cabin is two storey, first floor is the good kitchen, large eating island, cozy parlor and king bedroom all in one open plan design with a bathroom off to the side. Upstairs are 4 more proper beds! One each in two spearate bedrooms and the other two sharing a sort of dorm space, fun for families. there is a second full bathroom upstairs.

They have thought of everything. comfortable chairs with good lamps for reading, planty of recent magazines and books to use, a beautiful deck with a grill, canoes availablel for rent, a playground for the kids.
There were just two of us but we were still charged the full price, so it would be good to share and split the cost.

The best part is that it is on Poplar Lake, the prettiest of all the gunflint Trail lakes. REally gorgeous. We rented kayaks from an outfitter and paddled in paradise with the loons.

This place was much nicer than the other place we stayed on this trip. And the lake is the one to choose!

Room Tip: Try the Cedar Haus, its great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmousee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed for the weekend and having never been to the Northwoods I was taken aback. The scenery was out of this world, flora and fauna that was new to me. The check in was friendly and the cabins are located further up the gunflint trail on the left down a rather steep track. Plenty to do for those with a love of the outdoors.
Rustic, comforatable with everything you need really. I would recommend you stock up first though with food and drink. The sunset and sunrises over the lake were spectacular and the night sky is so clear we played count the satellites, first one to ten wins. There was a fire pit and a smoker to use and a jetty to launch the kayak off. Wish we has stayed for a week.
Enjoy the photos

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiderpig41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Located 30 miles from Grand Marais on Gunflint Trail. The cabin with a deck was right on the lake (Poplar lake) and you had your own dock. Staff very friendly - recommend to let them know your arrival time if after 5pm. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate but you could canoe on the lake and there were many hiking trails along Gunflint Trail. We were even fortunate to see two moose along the road. You are quite a ways from Grand Marais so there are not a lot of places to eat (the cabin did have a kitchen for meal preparation as well as a grill outside). Definitely recommend Swen and Ole's pizza in Grand Marais (gets very crowded) and the Trail Center Lodge restaurant (generous portions at breakfast). Honeymoon Bluff trail was well worth the steep climb. There are numerous state parks and trails on the scenic highway 61 from Duluth all the way to the Canadian border! Would definitely like to go back and spend more time here - a couple of days is not enough!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilohSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
22.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
16.4 mi away
No photo provided
Skyport Lodge
#23 of 32 in Grand Marais
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
22.6 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Grand Marais
84 reviews
21.7 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nor'Wester Lodge and Canoe Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nor'Wester Lodge and Canoe Outfitters

Property: Nor'Wester Lodge and Canoe Outfitters
Address: 7778 Gunflint Trail, Grand Marais, MN
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing