We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B experience, great couple, beautiful setting, beautiful city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Very clean, great atmosphere, wonderful couple, great food in a beautiful town.
If you haven't been to the "North Shore" of Minnesota...GO. And stay here, you will be satisfied, and dare say Blessed.
Mike & Linda Kraemer

Room Tip: check out their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makraemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2010

Very nice bed and breakfast. Located several block from downtown Grand Marais, it was with easy walking distance of a bunch of good restaurants and bars. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent, and the owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Great hosts, clean, quiet, and very pleasant surroundings, great breakfasts.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at the MacArthur House on the first night of a two-week bicycle tour around Lake Superior. The house is situated on a quiet street about two blocks from Highway 61 within Grand Marais. The short walk to downtown dining (we dined at the Crooked Spoon) was nice after a long day of riding. The home is clean, common spaces are comfortable, and the owners were friendly but allowed us our privacy. Our only complaint was that our room - they're all on the second floor, was not air-conditioned. The weather was unusually warm during our brief stay, so it may not be an issue with typically cooler weather in Grand Marais - but it was a bit uncomfortable for us.

Unfortunately, we had to depart early the next morning - before breakfast, but the innkeepers purchased rather fresh bagels and put out fruit and juices to get us on our way. As we prefer B&B's over hotels, we would likely stay at MacArthur house again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26pt2runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The MacArthur house was wonderful! Breakfast was amazing and you won't go away hungry. Max and Sherri are great hosts and very welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. A must if in Grand Marais!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieb035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed at MacArthur House during a weekend in Grand Marais and thoroughly enjoyed this B&B located on a quiet street only 4 blocks from downtown Grand Marais. Max and Sherri were very warm and welcoming. Our room was large, spacious, and clean with a private bathroom. We were able to enjoy a quiet glass of wine in the evening in the large living room, and in the morning were presented with a wonderful breakfast and nice conversation with the other guests. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewie476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We spent 2 nights here and had fantastic breakfasts both mornings. We stayed on the ground floor in the Birch room which is good-sized and overlooks a small garden area. I did not do the research or make reservation so I don't know if the fact that they only provided 2 small bars of soap as the only toiletry item was mentioned. It worked out fine as we were only there 2 nights but I believe every other B & B where we've stayed does provide other items.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
114 reviews
18.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
5.4 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 520 W Second St, Grand Marais, MN 55604-1270
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing