We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed in the LaBerta Suite, which is the entire third floor! Had our own private living area, two bedrooms, and big bathroom with tub and double sinks. Spotlessly clean and lovingly maintained. Fabulous breakfast and wonderful hosts. Views of the bay were beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyCheesebrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    17
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
78
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were made so welcome at this delightful bed and breakfast. Sherri listened to our weekend plans and remembered what we were doing as well as the other 5 couples plans. They really came through for us when we had a flat tire on our car and needed to get to the ferry in less than an hour.

They just handed us their car keys and told us to take their car and keep it as long as needed. We were away the whole day and had a great time thanks to Sherri and Max.

The following day we had the best breakfast ever. Thank you again. We had a great weekend.

Laura and Geoff Bull




They

Room Tip: Tell Sherri what is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Very clean, great atmosphere, wonderful couple, great food in a beautiful town.
If you haven't been to the "North Shore" of Minnesota...GO. And stay here, you will be satisfied, and dare say Blessed.
Mike & Linda Kraemer

Room Tip: check out their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makraemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Very nice bed and breakfast. Located several block from downtown Grand Marais, it was with easy walking distance of a bunch of good restaurants and bars. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent, and the owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Great hosts, clean, quiet, and very pleasant surroundings, great breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at the MacArthur House on the first night of a two-week bicycle tour around Lake Superior. The house is situated on a quiet street about two blocks from Highway 61 within Grand Marais. The short walk to downtown dining (we dined at the Crooked Spoon) was nice after a long day of riding. The home is clean, common spaces are comfortable, and the owners were friendly but allowed us our privacy. Our only complaint was that our room - they're all on the second floor, was not air-conditioned. The weather was unusually warm during our brief stay, so it may not be an issue with typically cooler weather in Grand Marais - but it was a bit uncomfortable for us.

Unfortunately, we had to depart early the next morning - before breakfast, but the innkeepers purchased rather fresh bagels and put out fruit and juices to get us on our way. As we prefer B&B's over hotels, we would likely stay at MacArthur house again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26pt2runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The MacArthur house was wonderful! Breakfast was amazing and you won't go away hungry. Max and Sherri are great hosts and very welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. A must if in Grand Marais!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieb035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Property: MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 520 W Second St, Grand Marais, MN 55604-1270
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing