We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great advice, and CLEAN!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Good value, great advice, and CLEAN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

If you're looking for one of those quaint old houses where you can't turn around without knocking some knick-knack off a shelf, this is NOT your place! The home is newer and designed as a B&B. It's also spotless. There are suites, but we chose the budget option - a single room with attached bathroom - and were quite comfortable. The owners took plenty of time to give us good advice for places to eat and live music locations that night. They also had glasses and a corkscrew on hand when we wanted to enjoy a bottle of wine on the deck. Breakfast was wonderful as well - We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    17
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Marais, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at MacArthur House. It is unusual in that the building was designed as a B&B. It is not a retrofitted old house. The place is spotless, the rooms are large and in some cases immense. The hosts are gracious and welcoming and always there. The breakfasts are first rate and are served to all the guests who sit together at a large table. We plan on returning. Our favorite restaurant in Grand Marais, Chez Jude, is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed in the LaBerta Suite, which is the entire third floor! Had our own private living area, two bedrooms, and big bathroom with tub and double sinks. Spotlessly clean and lovingly maintained. Fabulous breakfast and wonderful hosts. Views of the bay were beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyCheesebrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were made so welcome at this delightful bed and breakfast. Sherri listened to our weekend plans and remembered what we were doing as well as the other 5 couples plans. They really came through for us when we had a flat tire on our car and needed to get to the ferry in less than an hour.

They just handed us their car keys and told us to take their car and keep it as long as needed. We were away the whole day and had a great time thanks to Sherri and Max.

The following day we had the best breakfast ever. Thank you again. We had a great weekend.

Laura and Geoff Bull




They

Room Tip: Tell Sherri what is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Very clean, great atmosphere, wonderful couple, great food in a beautiful town.
If you haven't been to the "North Shore" of Minnesota...GO. And stay here, you will be satisfied, and dare say Blessed.
Mike & Linda Kraemer

Room Tip: check out their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makraemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

Very nice bed and breakfast. Located several block from downtown Grand Marais, it was with easy walking distance of a bunch of good restaurants and bars. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent, and the owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Great hosts, clean, quiet, and very pleasant surroundings, great breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
18.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Property: MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 520 W Second Street . P.O. Box 1270, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing