We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding breakfasts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We spent 2 nights here and had fantastic breakfasts both mornings. We stayed on the ground floor in the Birch room which is good-sized and overlooks a small garden area. I did not do the research or make reservation so I don't know if the fact that they only provided 2 small bars of soap as the only toiletry item was mentioned. It worked out fine as we were only there 2 nights but I believe every other B & B where we've stayed does provide other items.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

The whole house was clean and very welcoming. We stayed in 2 rooms over our 4 day stay and both were very comfortable and quiet. The Harbor Suite was spacious and a real treat to stay in. The breakfasts were delicious and so beautifully presented. Max and Sherry treated us like friends and family. They are a wealth of information about the area and helped send us in the right direction for dinners and local events. We are grateful for the beautiful memory of Grand Marias hospitality and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinderMapleGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

It was our first trip to Grand Marais and MacArthur was a perfect place to stay! The couple who runs this B&B was sweet, helpful and very friendly. The location is only two blocks off the main road and with in walking distance of everything Grand Marais has to offer. Super clean, wonderful brakfast- vegetarian- coffee and tea every morning. Nice deck to enjoy or eat breakfast on. I would recommend to any age couple who wants to enjoy a long weekend or short stay in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank te6506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This is my favorite place to stay in Grand Marais. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean. The breakfast is always a delight starting with the food, table presentation and guest interaction. Max and Sherri know how to make you feel at ease and at home with their hospitality. If you are lucky like I was, you just might hear Max musically entertaining the evening dinner guests at the Gunflint Tavern.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tendayheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We enjoyed two nights at this wonderful B&B during our lodge-to-lodge hiking trip. Max and Sherri were the most gracious and warmest of hosts anyone could hope for, and they spoiled us rotten with their delicious gourmet breakfasts. Our room was huge and our bed was as soft as a cloud! We recommend the MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast to anyone staying in Grand Marais!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My girlfriend and I recently spent two nights at the MacArthur house and had a wonderful time. Owners Max and Sheri were extremely kind and down-to-earth. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, the Birch Room, which was still very spacious and had its own bathroom. The place was spotless, food was incredible. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enchantedape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We have stayed with Sherri & Max before & it is always such a pleasure. They are friendly & welcoming to all their guests and are extremly gracious hosts. The rooms are very clean & comfortable & the breakfast is excellent. ( The peach french toast is to live for! ) We enjoy staying here because they love their town and enjoy a great reputation among the locals! Max is a great musician and plays his violin at some of the local restaurants- we were lucky enough to be invited to a "private" concert as Max & Sherri invited some of their friends for a get together on their deck- it was a great time & I would recommend this place for any one who isn't a loner or curmudgeon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antiquecherub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
114 reviews
18.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
5.4 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 520 W Second St, Grand Marais, MN 55604-1270
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range: £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing