We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Grand Marais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

The MacArthur house was wonderful! Breakfast was amazing and you won't go away hungry. Max and Sherri are great hosts and very welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable. A must if in Grand Marais!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieb035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    17
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed at MacArthur House during a weekend in Grand Marais and thoroughly enjoyed this B&B located on a quiet street only 4 blocks from downtown Grand Marais. Max and Sherri were very warm and welcoming. Our room was large, spacious, and clean with a private bathroom. We were able to enjoy a quiet glass of wine in the evening in the large living room, and in the morning were presented with a wonderful breakfast and nice conversation with the other guests. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewie476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

We spent 2 nights here and had fantastic breakfasts both mornings. We stayed on the ground floor in the Birch room which is good-sized and overlooks a small garden area. I did not do the research or make reservation so I don't know if the fact that they only provided 2 small bars of soap as the only toiletry item was mentioned. It worked out fine as we were only there 2 nights but I believe every other B & B where we've stayed does provide other items.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

The whole house was clean and very welcoming. We stayed in 2 rooms over our 4 day stay and both were very comfortable and quiet. The Harbor Suite was spacious and a real treat to stay in. The breakfasts were delicious and so beautifully presented. Max and Sherry treated us like friends and family. They are a wealth of information about the area and helped send us in the right direction for dinners and local events. We are grateful for the beautiful memory of Grand Marias hospitality and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CinderMapleGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

It was our first trip to Grand Marais and MacArthur was a perfect place to stay! The couple who runs this B&B was sweet, helpful and very friendly. The location is only two blocks off the main road and with in walking distance of everything Grand Marais has to offer. Super clean, wonderful brakfast- vegetarian- coffee and tea every morning. Nice deck to enjoy or eat breakfast on. I would recommend to any age couple who wants to enjoy a long weekend or short stay in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank te6506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

This is my favorite place to stay in Grand Marais. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean. The breakfast is always a delight starting with the food, table presentation and guest interaction. Max and Sherri know how to make you feel at ease and at home with their hospitality. If you are lucky like I was, you just might hear Max musically entertaining the evening dinner guests at the Gunflint Tavern.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tendayheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

We enjoyed two nights at this wonderful B&B during our lodge-to-lodge hiking trip. Max and Sherri were the most gracious and warmest of hosts anyone could hope for, and they spoiled us rotten with their delicious gourmet breakfasts. Our room was huge and our bed was as soft as a cloud! We recommend the MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast to anyone staying in Grand Marais!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
18.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast

Property: MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 520 W Second Street . P.O. Box 1270, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing