We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Northwoods - at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Northwoods - at its best”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Good omen: driving down the Gunflint Trail toward the lodge - spotted a wolf trotting down the side of the road - who once the headlights hit him - ducked back into the Superior Forest.

Was a bit nervous in Grand Marais proper - the lawns were brown - no snow. But once on the Gunflint Trail the Jack Pines were frosted (blasted) with snow - and the Aspen and scrub were coated in snow. A winter wonderland indeed.

Check-in was easy. Cabin was toasty warm upon entering the Friday before New Years Eve. Built a nice fire - opened bottle of wine - popped a viddy in the machine. Perfect arrival.

Dinner at the lodge was delicious. Wine menu is nice - and not killer. Dinner and dessert was great - a table in front of lodge fire.

Next day Saturday - hit the nordic ski trails. Big Pine to Lazy Lake View trails. Was picture perfect - pines covered in snow like icing on a wedding cake. Light snow falling. The 2-4" of new snow during previous days allowed trails to be groomed for classic and skating. But nobody out there! Trails to myself! Except one cute friendly red squirrel. No other humans or animals. Fantastic skiing. Gunflint Lodge never disapoints.

Back to cabin for a sauna - long and hot - then back to lodge for lunch of walleye chowder and Sierra Nevada pale ale.

Great birds outside cabin window - Pine Grosbeak, Chickadees, Common Redpolls, Grey and Blue Jays - all competing for the sunflower seeds that I tossed into the pine boughs.

Sunday was a repeat - though took Big Pine to Overlook to West End to Rabbit run - temps dropping to about 5F above - trails still in excellent condition - and bright sun to boot.

Monday - bitter cold - wind chill to minus 20F. Good day inside the cabin 22 for sauna, reading, videos - and some time outside for photography.

New Years eve was quiet. Lodge Bar closed down by 11 PM - I know - because I headed over after photos for a champagne toast. Ah well. No worries.

What a great weekend in the Northwoods.

Thanks to Mandy, Chris, Mark, Rich in the dining room for excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coppersmith_Barbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    46
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
75
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband and I first went here in 2009 for our honeymoon and again in 2010 to celebrate our one year anniversary. We missed going there in 2011 but we went back in October of this year. We were originally going to go in April but I had a high risk pregnancy and my doctor said she did not want me travelling that far away (6 hours) so we called and asked if we could change the dates to after my daughter was here. We were told this was not going to be a problem at all. So we planned to go in late October. They offer a meal delivery service so you can get your meals delivered to your cabin if you have meals included in your package. We used this service so we wouldn't have to wake our 5 month old daughter and bring her to their bistro (trying to be considerate of employees and other guests). After we left we got an email from Bruce (the owner) telling us we were "challenging guests for changing our dates and getting our meals delivered" and that he thinks it would be best if we took our business elsewhere. I will be sure to tell EVERYONE I know how he responded to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank krutz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
We are very sorry to have disappointed this family. We got messed up with the various reservation changes they made which unfortunately led to some gaps in our service standards. It seemed we could not find a way to satisfy them. Under those circumstances we felt it would be best to go our separate ways, and we hope they find another resort more to their liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a fabulous get-away location. We rented one of the cabins and were very pleased with the hot tub and sauna. They are pet friendly which was an added benefit for us. As a warning, there is no cell phone coverage and very limited internet connectivity at the lodge only (which could be a blessing or a curse!). Also, since the cabins come with a full kitchen, be sure to buy your supplies in town as the options available at the lodge are not adequate for cooking meals. As long as you are prepared for these two things, you will have an amazing stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgLawCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Returned to Gunflint for a special weekend. The drive from Chicago is long but worth the trip. People and food were exceptional. Chefs prepared a meal on Saturday night that could compare with Charlie Trotter's restaurant in Chicago. We were accompanied by our 4 English Bulldogs, who enjoyed the trails and walks. Truly a pet friendly resort. The whole staff at Gunflint is so accommodating, and make you feel like one of the family. We will be returning again in the near future. Gunflint Lodge is a very special place, with so much to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyA1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Gunflint Lodge is a wonderful escape from the Cities and from electronics. The cabin for two was comfy-cozy, complete with bedroom, kitchenette, and sitting room w/fireplace. Plenty of hiking trails on the property and nearby. From the dock we watched the night sky - it was so clear and covered with stars, the likes of which I've not seen anywhere else in the U.S. or abroad. We ate at the lodge for breakfast and dinner, which was convenient and yummy.
Assuredly, we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN_Buckeye_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

If you want to get away from your cell phone and comptuer - and relax - head to the North Woods to this beautiful resort. There is a land line and wi-fi in the main lodge if you really need that. The staff are definately very accommodating. The food was awesome in the bistro - and pretty good in the formal dining room. Overall this is definately an excellent rating.
The one and only item that I noticed is there could be a little more attention to maintenance in the cabins - being in property maintenance myself I know this is difficult - however my husband fixed a couple fo windows and cleaned out a drain in the cabin - and the wheels were missing on the bottom rack of the dishwasher so we had to prop it up a bit so the blades could circulate and clean the dishes - surprised nobody noticed that. The cabin was however very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckj57105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

I and my wife spent two nights at the Gunflint Lodge and I can't remember a more restful setting than that we discovered here. A beautiful lodge situated on the shore of Gunflint Lake overlooking the Canadian shore. Breathtaking views, boat rentals, zip lines, a naturalist on staff with informative programs, and a really good restaurant. Fill up your gas tank in Grand Marais, we paid $5.00 per gallon at the local station when gas was $3.64 in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01fatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
30.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
30.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
107 reviews
30.1 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
440 reviews
30.1 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters

Property: Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Address: 143 S Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury cabins in the Minnesota Northwoods on the historic Gunflint Trail bordering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Lakeside cabins with fireplaces accommodate 2-14 people and many have in-room saunas or spa pools. Activities include canoeing, hiking, fishing guides, guided Naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Winter activities include cross country skiing, dog sledding, snowmobiling, snow shoeing and ice fishing. Lakeside patio dining, full-service bar, and massage therapist are available. Featured in "1,000 Places to See Before You Die-U.S. & Canada." Always Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing