We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long drive for a big disappointment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
grandmahenry
Level Contributor
494 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A long drive for a big disappointment”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived in the evening and after dodging road work which no-one has any control over, checked into our cottage. It was smaller than we expected, but that was fine. What puzzled us was that the light was on and the doors unlocked, but whatever. We settled in and were disappointed to find that despite the DVD player and CD player, there were no DVD's or cd's and there was no radio or TV. Okay, there were games and cards and we brought books. Things then started to deteriorate. We were opening the windows and noticed there were dead bugs stuck to the curtains and conwebs in the corners. Burns on the rug, the formica was raising up from the counter, there were only two forks, the plates in the cupboard were dirty. the old hot water tank was in with the new hot water tank. The shower looked lovely, but we didn't stay long enough to find out and we checked out the next morning. In between was a nightmare; the bed was the noisiest bed we have ever slept in and we travel a lot. We couldn't see the lake except as a blur through the trees, the mosquitos described as mild or few, were awful. As we were exhausted we went to bed and upon turning down the bed, discovered a very long dark hair - I and my husband both have short hair. I woke up at 3:11 AM scratching from bites I got while sleeping. In the morning I said to my husband what's on your hip? It was a woodtick! ANd it was fresh because it wasn't burrowed in and he didn't have it the night before. We then discovered why - the window screen which was on the inside, had a gap almost 1/4" whch doesn't sound like much but was enough to let bugs in! The lodge staff zeroed out our charges and we are now trying to get our money back from Travel Zoo. The end of the bug bite saga was not good. I do not know what bit me, but on Thursday in Thief River Falls I ended up at Sanford Urgent Care, where I received three seperate prescriptions for antihistamines, antibiotics and steroids to get rid of the welts and oozing bites on my arms and foot. Never, never, never again. The staff were friendly but never again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We feel very badly that these guests had a bad experience with us, and we are sorry to have disappointed them.
Responding to their concerns: They did not give us a chance to solve any of their problems, or to upgrade them to something more to their liking.
When guests arrive late, after we close, we always leave the light on and the door unlocked to their cabin so as to make it easy for them to get settled in. As noted in their information booklet in the cabin, we have lots of DVDs and CDs at the lodge (free for their use). All they have to do it stop at the lodge and select what they would like. In their comment card they said they found one bug on the curtain, and either our housekeepers missed it or it flew in while they were moving in. There are a couple of small burn marks in front of the fireplace where sparks landed, but they are very minor. The unit they checked into was set for 2 people, so we stock our silverware for 2 people since it is an efficiency kitchen. We have two hot water heaters in the unit to be sure they always have plenty of hot water and one of them was replaced recently, but I am not sure what we did wrong. They are in a utility closet with a door and not visible unless you go looking.
If there was a long dark hair in the bed, apparently our housekeeper missed it when she put fresh linen on the bed, and we take full responsibility for that. The bed was fairly new and in very good shape and we are still looking into what was noisy about it. As we understand it, wood ticks do not live in cabins, but are brought in on the clothing of guests.
The cabin is set back from the lake by the normal 100', which is code. There are some evergreen trees between the cabin and the lake, so the view is not wide open. For guest enjoyment we have two nice Adirondack chairs right down on the waters edge in front of the cabin.
Regarding her black fly bites, all we can do is speculate, since we are not doctors. When a person scratches the bites aggressively they swell up a bit and our body emits a bit of liquid to seal them up. It sound like she was sensitive to the bites and she got more of a reaction than most people.
We are very sorry they had a disappointing visit with us and we would have solved all their concerns if they had just given us a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    46
    4
    6
    9
See reviews for
73
129
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We originally planned a camping trip to the Boundary Waters Wilderness area and purchased a special package through the Gunflint Outfitters. We arrived to some nasty weather.., cold, wet and very windy. We are not experienced rugged outdoorsmen and I think Bonnie Schudy, recognized this and worked out a plan wherein we lodged in a cabin and were furnished a canoe and transport to nearby lakes. Our package deal price was fully applied and the trip worked out great. Clean cabin, clean lodge and restaurant, friendly and helpful staff, what else could you ask for. We will be back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimy32301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Rented the Pow Wow Lodge for a family reunion. It is the owners previous home and it includes all the amenities, including large kitchen, satellite TV and WiFi- which is always sporadic in this region. The Pow Wow is spacious:5 bedrooms/ 3 Baths which are spread across one floor and is perfect for a large group. Book your pontoon rental in advance (before you arrive) and if the kids (or you) intend to sign up for a daily activity please do so as soon as you arrive. The space is often limited. The Kerfoots and their staff are welcoming and enthusiastic about this beautiful place along the Gunflint. The restaurant has excellent food - Walleye is great! Leave your city time schedule behind and ease into a north woods experience. Only regret was the time went by too fast. I was so busy relaxing and taking in the beauty of just being there that I didn't get to explore the surrounding area as much as I had hoped. Guess I'll do that next time. For summer visitors, bring your mosquito repellant. The little terrors aren't too bad around the lodge or on the water but any exploration in the woods requires DEET. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Look for size you need and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here last weekend and couldn't have felt more welcomed in this cozy, family run resort. We stayed in cabin 20, which was absolutely perfect with a wood burning fireplace, jacuzzi shower and lakefront view. We were truly relaxed and "away from it all" with the gorgeous views of Gunflint lake. We did an hour long horseback ride, and while both of us were beginners, Molly and Elyssa couldn't have been better in teaching us how to properly handle our horses. The hiking was beyond beautiful and we would highly recommend a boat rental to fish the lake and to get to Bridal Falls to hike. The Sunday night BBQ is not to be missed with smoked chicken, ribs and salmon (not to mention the to die for homemade blueberry BBQ sauce)! Our cabin had a kitchenette but the lodge is also an awesome choice with fabulous chef options and a bar with great craft beer selections. We will most definitely be back, and recommending to our friends!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandammeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a nice time despite our rainy, end-of-May weekend. Definitely a great Northwoods getaway. Our cabin w/2 BR was spacious, pleasant, clean, comfortable and secure. I was comfortable as mom and daughter guests. We made use of the kitchen, bringing groceries and only went to restaurant on Sunday for the all-can eat BBQ, which was delicious with great service. The kitchen had limited hot water, so we boiled for dish-washing, though I had plenty for a shower. I noticed this was a comment by some other readers. It didn't bother us. We wanted a camping experience without a tent, so boiling some water up is nothing to complain about. They had the fireplace stocked and ready to go, which we enjoyed on this still cool, rainy weekend. The resort is not meant to be the Ritz, but it is hardly rustic, and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were all very friendly and casual, which we appreciate. The naturalist accommodated us for hiking after the original group canceled and we showed up, forgetting about the sign-up sheet. She was very friendly and informative. They offer a lot of activities, just make sure you ask about schedules, as not all activities in the web site are available the days you are staying and are subject to change, so be a bit flexible. Horseback-riding, we were told for example on the phone reservation, you'd want to see about scheduling a week in advance of your stay to make sure. We had decided not to do this, yet its a nice fyi to plan for. I had read Justine Kerfoot's book years ago, and this resort was on my list to get to, and I was pleased to have stayed while Bruce and Sue were still there to meet, as the lodge is up for sale. There is a lot of history in this resort, and you can see the years of development that are there. It is a family-run resort, so think family when you go! Grounds were well kept, nicely landscaped, boats, canoes, kayaks available for use of guests, and pet friendly. We definitely recommend and would return for more summer boating and the winter activities look fun too. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am glad to hear most things were to your liking. I have followed up on your comment about needing more hot water in the kitchen sink and have taken care of it, so it will not be an issue in the future.
I hope you can work Gunflint into your schedule again in the future.
Thanks, Bruce Kerfoot, your Gunflint Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We didn't stay at Gunflint Lodge, but we enjoyed their horseback riding. Our lady guides were very informative and they know their job. They taught us how to rid, control and treat a horse. The price for an hour rid was very reasonable, considering that there is no other horse stables in the area. The weather was cooperating and trail was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENoohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in one of the Romantic Cabins in May, arriving when there was still ice on the lake. We absolutely loved our long weekend here. The cabin was great, from the pier fireplace and pine panelling to the hot tub to the bed, everything was excellent. Oh, the view from the big windows, through the cedars? The lake entertained us constantly with absolute calm, gentle ripples, gorgeous sunsets. We heard grouse and woodpeckers and so many bird calls. The hiking trails allowed us to exercise our dogs - when they weren't staring out the window at ducks and bluejays and chipmunks. Dinners were delicious and the server was so responsive to any little request. Good wines! This lodge is so well run. They have a naturalist, horseback riding, zip lines, and oh yes, fishing!

Room Tip: We liked having a kitchen in our Romantic Cabin to be self sufficient for breakfast and lunch. But t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaplePine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. The ice has finally cleared the lake and the lake trout and walleye fishing is great. More of our migrating birds have arrived and today our spring order of 4,000 flowers arrive, so we have all hands on board to start with the planting. In a few weeks the whole grounds will have blooming plants everywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
30.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
30.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
30.2 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#13 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
29.5 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters

Property: Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Address: 143 S Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury family accommodations on the Canadian Border in northern Minnesota adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Cabins accommodate 2-10 people. Activities include canoeing, hiking, guided naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the new Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Special programs for "Becoming a Boundary Waters Family." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing