We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Superior Inn(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
US$158
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shoreline Inn(Grand Marais)
US$122
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangy Moose Motel(Grand Marais)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
205
51
4
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
51
4
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingromantic cabinwalleye chowderzip linewolf howlingdog sleddingnight hikeclassic cabinmeal planhigh cliffsfeed the duckshot tubsunday bbqcandle makingnever felt unsafesoap makingsledding hill
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Spent the weekend at the Gunflint Lodge in Grand Marais, MN and did not want to leave. Perfect place to get away from it all. Cabins are well-appointed, food at Lodge is absolutely delicious and amenities at resort are plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNRobin1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Gunflint Lodge located on the Gunflint Trail is a secludid and beautiflul Lodge overlooking Gunflint Lake. It is owned by Bruce and Sue Kerfoot. The food at the Lodge dinning room is excellent and the choices would tempt any pallet. There is the Bistro which has great fair also but less formal meals.The accomodations are way above average with nice bedrooms w/hot tubs or saunas and some with jetted tubs with showers full kitchens with dining area a living room w/fireplace Our cabin slept 14 . Ther is a washer and dryer. A BBQ is provided along with bricketts for your use and a deck to enjoy the lake and the surroundings
Activities are various including canoeing ,crafts ,guided hikes and very interesting evening talks on various subjects which are included with your package
Horsebackriding is also available Many lakes in the area for visiting & fishing.
Grea tplace to rest . No cell phone service

Thank grassskirtlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We just returned from visiting the Gunflint Lodge for a family reunion. I cannot say enough about their wonderful staff. They bent over backwards to make our stay a memorable one. Dave and Sheryl were especially helpful in getting our group out on canoes, but everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that we ran out of hot water in one cabin after only 2 showers, but this was fixed quickly. We also didn't think the barbeque was worth the money, but that was a minimal complaint. This place is great for families. We had sixteen people and 2 dogs in 2 cabins but really didn't feel too claustrophobic. We did some great hikes and canoeing. Overall, a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

I loved it here. I loved the fact that my kids were enthralled with nature. The chipmunks that ate out of our hands were the highlight!! Fishing was pretty good! We had a great time and will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We have been going to Gunflint Lodge for the past 8.5 years. By our recent recollection we think we just had our 14th visit to Gunflint this past week. We have spent a week each March for the past 8 years. We have also spent Thanksgiving, a week in early Sept., a week in Jan., and a week in June. We originally discovered and chose to go to Gunflint because it is a dog friendly resort. With each visit we are once again so thankful that our dog helped us find Gunflint. Over the past 8+ years we have seen many changes and fluctuations at Gunflint, but continue to have a wonderful time at each visit. We no sooner leave than we start discussing our plans for next year. Most of our stays have been in the Lake Homes or Romantic Cottages. We have stayed in the traditional cabins on two occasions. All of the accommodations are very large. The bedrooms have plenty of space with nice bathrooms. Most cabins have saunas and many have hot tubs. Full size kitchens and large living rooms round out the well appointed cabins. The staff is wonderful. Many are the same year after year. Over time the dining room has changed. There is now a Bistro and the fine dining of Justine's. The food is good, but currently is unable to live up to the amazing meals previously prepared by Chef Ron Berg. There is no shortage of activities which varies depending on the season. If you want a awesome northwoods experience you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milesdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews