We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
Book now, pay at stay
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyport Lodge(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
US$162
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribou Highlands Lodge(Lutsen)
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
20
4
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoplar lakenew ownersentry pointboundary watersgreat view of the lakebwca tripgunflint trailgranddaughterpermitoutfittersgearbunkhouseadventurecanoerentingdocklinens
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We've stayed at Rockwood Lodge several times in past summers. We love the rustic experience of the cabins and the whole serenity of the place. They do an excellent job of outfitting us for a quality BWCA experience and we've always felt prepared and ready for anything. Staff are friendly and helpful. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Webby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl_madsen, Owner at Rockwood Lodge and Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed in cabin 3 and were greeted by the owners at check in. The cabin itself was dated but charming. I did walk into a cobweb walking into the bathroom which was not pleasant upon first arriving. There is definitely room for updates at this resort but the setting itself on the lake was very pleasant. I hope pride in ownership will come through more in the future at this resort as it relates to lawn maintenance, updates, as well as overall building appeal.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl_madsen, Owner at Rockwood Lodge and Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Thank you for the feedback- We purchased the resort in November 2015 and have a lot of short and long term goals. Pride in ownership is very strong! As you mentioned the setting is amazing, we are on the north shore of Poplar lake, with a gorgeous view towards the south. We have update plans for each of the cabins, including Cabin 3, one of our original 1930 log cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Mike was very helpful in getting our BWCA permit and helping plan the route. The canoe was nice (Kevlar). Food pack was overloaded with goodies, perhaps a bit too much so (I had to carry it). Water purification system was nice, but should include a bottle or jug that meshes with the screw cap connector.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Quist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl_madsen, Owner at Rockwood Lodge and Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Quist17-

We have the bottle adaptors now and new gravity water filtration systems. They are awesome. It's hard to tell how much a person will eat, and it's also hard not to error on giving too much food, but I totally understand on taking only what you need. Those packs can get heavy! We are new owners, Mike and Lin have retired. Give us a call, we'd love to help you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

For the second year we stayed in Cabin 4. We had a full house, my husband and I, our 2 year old and my in-laws. Plenty of sleeping space and relaxation space. Nothing fancy but for a week it is just fine. I wouldn't mind if they got new mattresses and linens, they are pretty worn out, but not the worst and are always clean. Its hard to keep the floor clear since it is carpet and they don't leave a vaccum to keep on top of it. We sweep the entry-way daily but that only does so much. The lake is pristine, and the dock and little swim area off the cabin give is such a private feel. The owners are very sweet, and we always enjoy chatting with them. A highlight is always the moonlight canoe rides for my husband and I. We rented a three seat canoe for the day to head into the BWCA and they got it ready for us just when we needed it. We're booked again for next year!

Room Tip: Review the cabins on their website to find the best one for you.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DLillith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just got back from a week-long stay in Cabin 4 and had a wonderful time. We would highly recommend it for an up-north vacation. Poplar Lake is a wonderful lake to explore and with a canoe provided with the rental, and very reasonable rates for boat rental we got out an explored it. Joe provided great fishing advice, and Mike and Lin are friendly and kind. While the cabin doesn't have the amenities I'd expect in a city vacation rental, it is exactly what I want in an up north cabin...no TV, cell service, and internet are actually a treat when they force you to unplug and unwind for the week. We've already booked our week again for next summer.

Room Tip: Their website has great pictures of the cabins so check them out to decide what you need. They all come with a private dock and canoe rental so you're free to get out and explore.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DLillith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews