We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Working Vacation at Loon Lake Lodge”
Review of Loon Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loon Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Working Vacation at Loon Lake Lodge”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Needed a quiet getaway for work and relaxation. "The Shack" served that purpose and more. The kind attention from Terry and Tom to every detail including keeping the sloping driveway plowed to enable safe ingress and egress was impressive. This California boy learned a thing or two about how to enjoy the cold upper midwest in the winter. Look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 650ThomasS650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We LOVED The Shack at Loon Lake Lodge. Beautiful, tranquil setting at the edge of Loon Lake. Beautiful view of the lake from the living room and bedroom. Great wood-burning fireplace with plentiful wood right outside your door. Fully stocked kitchen. Love the bird feeder outside the living room window. We probably sat by the fire watching the birds for at least ten hours that weekend. Also cross country skied all the way around the section of loon lake on a perfectly groomed trail. The cabin has complementary snow shoes hanging by the front door too. There really isn't anything about the shack that we didn't love. We will stay here again FOR SURE. would highly recommend staying there. The owners are very friendly and helpful as well. A+++++

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevejost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a long weekend in the "Shack" at Loon Lake Lodge. This cabin was our home away from home! The beds are King sized and you wake up to birds chirping and a beautiful view of the lake. Each morning we started a fire as soon as we woke up and drank coffee while watching the birds have their morning feast. 2 sets of snowshoes are in the cabin, but unfortunately there wasn't enough snow coverage to use them. We hiked down the trail to Crab Lake and ran into the neighbors who were very friendly. This was the ONLY encounter with another human being all weekend. If you are looking for some rest, relaxation and privacy, this is definitely the place to be (and for an additional fee we were able to bring our dog Rix!)! We are hoping to go back this summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enumclaw, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Having never been in this part of Minnesota before, I went by TripAdvisor posts to make the decision to book a cabin at Loon Lake Lodge for two nights. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. The setting is extremely private and peaceful and the location on Loon Lake is perfect for canoeing, kayaking, fishing and/or swimming. Tom and Terry have been operating Loon Lake Lodge for years and it shows--they are wonderful hosts and very comfortable in their roles. Tom has a great sense of humor and is willing and ready to make everyone's stay the best that he can. He is the "chef" for the lodge and daily makes awesome breakfasts to order. Since we had brought our own food which we needed to eat up, we did not have dinner in the lodge, but, the menu looked really really good. I enjoyed talking with Terry and hearing about what the area is like in the middle of winter with the lake frozen over and blanketed in snow...sounded sooo peaceful! Loon Lake Lodge was one of the best places we have ever stayed, and we will make every effort to return some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shack....which was any but a shack!...because that cabin was the only one available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enumclaw1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My sister and I spent Sept 21-24th in Cabin #1 at Loon Lake Lodge. We had a
wonderful time! We found the Cabin to be cute, cozy and clean. Tom and Terry
were great hosts. We Hiked, Kayak and did the zipline tour near by. Tom and Terry
were very helpful and friendly. I did and will suggest anyone to stay at this Lodge, you will not regret it.
we had the greatest sister getaway ever!

Room Tip: one with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillon91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have been coming to Loon Lake Lodge for the past 6 years. Tom and Terry are so wonderful and will do whatever it takes to make your stay great. Tom is also a great cook so I would suggest having dinner at the lodge. We really like cabins 2,3 and 4. But all cabins are great. This is your time to get away, relax, enjoy a book, take a pontoon ride, fish. I am always so relaxed after my stay here.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pitschnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at Loon Lake Lodge this winter. They only have one cabin in the winter and it was amazing. The perfect balance of rustic charm from the 70 year old cabin with the sleeping comforts of a luxury hotel. Owners, Tom and Terry have furnished the bedrooms with exceptional matresses and linens that make you never want to crawl out of bed. But if you do there are plenty of places to go hiking using the snowshoes provided with the cabin. Or if your the type that would prefer staying in reading by the fire this is the place for you. With the firewood pile provided just feet from the front door and a great view of the lake through the picture window (not to mention the active bird house just outside the window) all you need to do is start the coffee and get your book. Personally I think winter is the perfect time to visit Loon Lake Lodge because of having only the one cabin available you feel like there is no one around for miles.Can't wait to make this trip again for a longer visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sobek70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
26.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
26.8 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
277 reviews
26.7 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
249 reviews
25.9 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Grand Marais
91 reviews
26.8 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#13 of 32 in Grand Marais
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loon Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lake Lodge

Property: Loon Lake Lodge
Address: 65 Loon Lake Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derek, Andrea and Dax welcome you, your family, and friends to relax in our original log cabins built in the 1920's and 1930's. We have 8 cabins, all unique in their own way, and a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner. We also offer a pontoon boat, fishing boats, canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards. Come for the fishing, hiking, and general enjoyment that mother nature provides! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loon Lake Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing