We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome custard and loved the roof top deck!”

Sydney's Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve Wood Fired Pizza, in addition to our Vienna Hot Dogs, Gyros, Salads, Frozen Custard- milk shakes & malts, our very own Sydnami. We also have an espressso bar and fabulous sundaes! We have vegetarian options. We offer BREAKFAST on Fri, Sat, Sun & Mon from 8am-11am. The rest of our menu 11am- close.
Victoria, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome custard and loved the roof top deck!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We relaxed on the roof top deck overlooking Lake Superior while enjoying fantastic frozen custard. Great flavor choices. My kids loved their chia tea shakes! Delicious, would go back again for sure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    66
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The custard is good. A great selection but a bit pricey especially for kids. Good service. The young girl helping us was very patient and informative. They also have pizza but we didn't try it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaimy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Best!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After a recommendation from a local…we tried the wood fire pizza. It was amazing! Truly some of the best pizza. We sat in the dining area and enjoyed beautiful views of the lake. The custard was dreamy! Great flavor and amazing waffle bowls.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great food. Great atmosphere. Love the new dining room. Get the pizza and custard. You have a beautiful view of Lake Superior from the dining room. Truly a gem in Grand Marais.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jubbin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best wood-fired pizza ever!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Thin crust with the perfect crunch, their pizzas had SO much flavor. I was satisfied with two pieces—after a full day of hiking and sightseeing. Seriously tasty. The can of Bent Paddle beer made in Duluth also really hit the spot. We sat outside at a table in front on a cool evening and enjoyed the ambiance out there. The back of the restaurant cozies up to Lake Superior, so the back dining room and deck have a great view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Sydney's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing