We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Mangy Moose Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mangy Moose Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in #3 and found it to very suitable for our needs. The rooms are a little dated but had everything we needed.We didn't have to spend a fortune to have a good nights sleep. The guy that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and large and the facility was quiet. The Mangy Moose provided a great deal of value in a good location. We were planning to arrive outside of the normal office hours and Dave was very accommodating to our needs. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Mangy Moose is a great place to stay if you are visiting Grand Marais. The place is spotlessly clean, and a great bargain compared to the other motel prices in the area. The towels are thick and the mattress was firm, The room was nicely decorated but not overdone. The owners are helpful and also give good advice on local restaurants. The motel is not right on the water, but there is a picnic table and some leisure chairs out front from which you have a nice lake view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpringPeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were in number 1. Could get a glimpse of the lake. Beautiful. Close enough to walk to most things. We liked the price as we were just there at night busy site seeing during the day. Our favorite was the artist point walk and angry trout resturant.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Nice and clean with added nice touches such as a hair dryer, fridge, microwave and LG flat screen tv. Bath soap also provided and clean, fluffy towels. Friendly owners. Very reasonable price for the season and area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were there 2 years ago and loved our stay and decided to return to the Mangy Moose for our 6 night stay. Clean, comfortable, caring staff-Dave & Don very helpful and friendly. the price is right. Easy to walk into town. Our bed was very comfortable, and the shower pressure was great. When we go to Grand Marais, this is our Mangy Moose Place, and by the way the first week in June we had 10 moose sightings up the Gunflint Trail, including a Momma Moose and her twins.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Cost was ideal. Check in was quick since I made reservations on line. Room was super clean and comfortable. Would stay again without hesitation. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Hoping we will be staying again in August with my sister and her kids.

Room Tip: Make reservations early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
282 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
115 reviews
30.1 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangy Moose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangy Moose Motel

Address: 202 1st Ave E, At Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range: £60 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mangy Moose Motel is conveniently located just blocks from the harbor and walking distance to the downtown area with its shops, restaurants, bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mangy Moose Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing