We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”
Review of Mangy Moose Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangy Moose Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here for a week while attending a class at the nearby Art Colony. Close to everything (I was able to walk everywhere), and very comfortable. All furnishings and bathroom fixtures appear to be much newer than the structure itself. All windows open to let the fresh air in. Super nice staff who left me alone. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Cutlerlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    67
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
196
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alvin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Nice, quiet, good location. Spent the night here on the way to Canada. Rooms are small, but comfortable. We would stay here again if our travel plans ever take us near " the moose". The owners were very nice.
Dave & Theresa Blanks
Alvin, Tx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugezeppelinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Mangy Moose is clean, neat and well kept. It is also very reasonably priced. One of the proprietors checked us in and made sure we had everything we needed. The only thing keeping it from 5 stars is the inevitable traffic noise from nearby Highway 61. There's no way to avoid it, and the noise level isn't bad (it did not keep me awake), but it is there. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Mangy Moose in mid August for 2 nights. We were unsure of what to expect as we had never been there before and were thrilled with our experience. Dave and Don were wonderful and gave fantastic restaurant recommendations, the room was beautiful, quaint, and clean. The bed was very comfortable and provided some great nights of sleep. It was a short walk into town and we had a wonderful stay :)

I highly recommend staying at the Mangy Moose anytime you're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allthebits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Its a nice quaint little motel. There is no laundry facility which would have been helpful. We were also surprised there was no air conditioning but it was comfortable enough as it was cool outside. Our room had no tub in it but the couple we were traveling with had a tub so if you have children you might want to request a room with tub/shower. The manager was very friendly and knowledgable about the area. We were pulling a trailer also and they allowed us to park it in their grassy area. It was a pleasant stay for the value and we will stay again on our way through

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very nice affordable motel, very clean and comfortable. Love the beautiful flowers all around the premises. The owners were friendly and welcoming and answered our many questions. We enjoyed our stay - will definitely stay at the Mangy Moose again.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good but we especially liked knowing their were dog friendly rooms but the rest w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Unfortunately, my family and I were only passing through the lovely town of Grand Marais, but Mangy Moose was a wonderful addition to our stay. Comfortable, clean and nicely located and just a short walk from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tpw1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
104 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangy Moose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangy Moose Motel

Property: Mangy Moose Motel
Address: 202 1st Ave E, At Hwy 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mangy Moose Motel is conveniently located just blocks from the harbor and walking distance to the downtown area with its shops, restaurants, bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mangy Moose Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing