We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cross River Lodge - the most hospitable place we've ever been to!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cross River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cross River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cross River Lodge - the most hospitable place we've ever been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband & I vacation 3 times a year to places all over the U.S. We've gone back to the Gunflint Trail area several times because we love the scenery. This is the first time we've stayed at Cross River Lodge and it definitely will NOT be our last! John & Rose are fantastic hosts. They made us so comfortable we felt like family & their lodge was our home - from the moment we arrived to the moment we left!!

If you vacation up North, don't miss out on the wonderful personal service. John & Rose are 2 people you will be thankful you've met, hopeful you remain in touch & and will want to come back soon to see!!

We loved every minute of it!! Thank you John & Rose!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Up North" cabin but anywhere on the property would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
44
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chisago City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have stayed in dumps to 5 star hotels all across the nation and even overseas. I have never had a more accommodating experience than this. John and Rose were by far the nicest people I have met in a very long time. They were quick to assist with any issues and ask every time they saw you if there was anything they could do. With Rose's cooking and John's knowledge of the lake you get the best of both worlds. John was able to give us a guided tour of the lake and provide us with an insightful history of everything about the lake. Rose has the best egg-bake I've ever tasted and their continental breakfast tops that of the Hilton. The fishing was great, weather beautiful, the scenery a sight to see, but most of all the Cross River Lodge and John and Rose made it what it is. I won't stay at another place on the boundary waters as long as I continue to visit there!

Room Tip: The wolf den was perfect for 3 people. The lake provides the swimming pool and the great trails pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

What words do you use to describe excellence? John and Rose have found perfection in Customer Service. We were treated like royalty from the moment we stepped out of the truck and for the following 5 days we were shown what True Customer Service Really is. The Lodge was exceptionally clean and our suite(Cross River) had an excellent view of the lake. It was like going to a family reunion with no bad family members. We also met another couple(Mark and Jodi) who have the same sentiments as us. Great fishing, great wildlife viewing, and the Greatest host and hostess in the world. We cannot thank you enough for our 5 days in paradise. Hope to see them in 2013.

Room Tip: All rooms and cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We just returned from a Memorial weekend trip. Lodge suite had a beautiful deck view of the lake, and was remodeled with a nice kitchenette. The best part of the trip was the personal service from John and Rose; we felt like we were staying at their home. They even helped arrange an impromptu birthday celebration for our daughter. Heard wolves baying at night; saw loons, eagles, a beaver, and even a small black bear!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My guy and I had a superb weekend at Cross River Lodge mid March! Doug was great company and so was his dog Roxie! The lodge has been beautifully constructed and we loved every bit of it! Thank you for the great hospitality and comfortable atmosphere...we hope to visit again! Denise and Corey

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 985DeniseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We spent a month at Cross River Lodge last summer (2011) and stayed in one of the cabins. It was no doubt the best vacation of our lives! We're going again this summer (2012) and are counting the days. John, Rose, Paula, and Doug are fantastic hosts. It wasn't long before we thought of them as family. My husband loves to fish and I love to hike We both love berry picking. There are canoes available free--first come, first serve, and also pontoon boats to rent. There are so many advantages to staying at Cross River. We checked out ALL the area cabins and lodges as far away as Grand Marais and CR was by far the best choice in every category. All the comforts of home in the Minnesota "wilderness." And a great break from the oppressive heat of Southeast Kansas!

Room Tip: If you want to bring pets, let them know ahead of time--they are very pet friendly. They allow pets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Really beautiful and friendly place with the best continental breakfast we ever had! We stayed in a very clean two bedroom cottage/effiency with pot bellied stove and deck overlooking quiet lake. Offered many free activities to guest: paddle boats, canoe etc. beautiful lodge for guests to visit/watch tv/read. The owners/hosts were fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
31.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
31.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
31.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 31 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
31.3 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#13 of 31 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
30.6 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross River Lodge

Property: Cross River Lodge
Address: 196 N Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2082 (Formerly Moosehorn Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John and Rose want to welcome you to our wilderness paradise and find some relaxation. We can point you towards whatever it is you are looking to do...or maybe it's a new adventure for your exploration. Sudbury Meteorite Ejecta field very near lodge. No liquor license but BYOB and it is welcome in the lodge. Come sit by our historic fireplace or on our screened porch and relax...We have suites above the lodge and cabins available. We have a "no surprise" pricing policy. Our price plus sales and lodging tax is the price. NO RESORT OR HIDDEN FEES! Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing