We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Peaceful Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cross River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cross River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Peaceful Getaway”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My family and I just returned from a wonderful vacation spent at the Cross River Lodge. Words cannot express what an awesome experience it was! We stayed at the Jack Pine and were amazed at the quality of workmanship and the rustic decor so beautifully displayed. The lodge and our cabin were so clean and well kept, quite a tribute to John and Rose, the owners, and their staff. They were also so accommodating-willing to give tips on great hiking trails or hot fishing spots. They even took us by boat to one of the scenic waterfalls, Bridal Veil Falls. The free continental breakfast was nothing like we had experienced before, from a scrumptious egg bake, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit (including wild blueberries!), to yogurt and pastries, wow! Plus the daily fresh batch of chocolate cookies and lemonade were something to definitely indulge in. John and Rose were the perfect hosts and made us feel like a part of the family. Thanks so much for such a relaxing and peaceful getaway. I will miss walking out onto the deck overlooking Gunflint Lake - what a beautiful view! We can't wait to start planning our next trip to Cross River Lodge!

Room Tip: We toured all the cabins and rooms and all were quiet, clean, and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
44
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I just returned from a seven day stay at Cross River Lodge and I don't think that I have had better hosts in my life. John and his wife Rose made us feel right at home from the moment we walked in the door and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and more. I really felt like Cross River was a home away from home. The lodging was great, as was the fishing, wildlife viewing, and scenery. If I am ever in the area again, there is no question that I will be staying with John and Rose.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband & I vacation 3 times a year to places all over the U.S. We've gone back to the Gunflint Trail area several times because we love the scenery. This is the first time we've stayed at Cross River Lodge and it definitely will NOT be our last! John & Rose are fantastic hosts. They made us so comfortable we felt like family & their lodge was our home - from the moment we arrived to the moment we left!!

If you vacation up North, don't miss out on the wonderful personal service. John & Rose are 2 people you will be thankful you've met, hopeful you remain in touch & and will want to come back soon to see!!

We loved every minute of it!! Thank you John & Rose!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Up North" cabin but anywhere on the property would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisago City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have stayed in dumps to 5 star hotels all across the nation and even overseas. I have never had a more accommodating experience than this. John and Rose were by far the nicest people I have met in a very long time. They were quick to assist with any issues and ask every time they saw you if there was anything they could do. With Rose's cooking and John's knowledge of the lake you get the best of both worlds. John was able to give us a guided tour of the lake and provide us with an insightful history of everything about the lake. Rose has the best egg-bake I've ever tasted and their continental breakfast tops that of the Hilton. The fishing was great, weather beautiful, the scenery a sight to see, but most of all the Cross River Lodge and John and Rose made it what it is. I won't stay at another place on the boundary waters as long as I continue to visit there!

Room Tip: The wolf den was perfect for 3 people. The lake provides the swimming pool and the great trails pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

What words do you use to describe excellence? John and Rose have found perfection in Customer Service. We were treated like royalty from the moment we stepped out of the truck and for the following 5 days we were shown what True Customer Service Really is. The Lodge was exceptionally clean and our suite(Cross River) had an excellent view of the lake. It was like going to a family reunion with no bad family members. We also met another couple(Mark and Jodi) who have the same sentiments as us. Great fishing, great wildlife viewing, and the Greatest host and hostess in the world. We cannot thank you enough for our 5 days in paradise. Hope to see them in 2013.

Room Tip: All rooms and cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We just returned from a Memorial weekend trip. Lodge suite had a beautiful deck view of the lake, and was remodeled with a nice kitchenette. The best part of the trip was the personal service from John and Rose; we felt like we were staying at their home. They even helped arrange an impromptu birthday celebration for our daughter. Heard wolves baying at night; saw loons, eagles, a beaver, and even a small black bear!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My guy and I had a superb weekend at Cross River Lodge mid March! Doug was great company and so was his dog Roxie! The lodge has been beautifully constructed and we loved every bit of it! Thank you for the great hospitality and comfortable atmosphere...we hope to visit again! Denise and Corey

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 985DeniseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
31.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
31.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
265 reviews
31.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
146 reviews
31.3 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#12 of 31 in Grand Marais
53 reviews
31.2 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross River Lodge

Property: Cross River Lodge
Address: 196 N Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2082 (Formerly Moosehorn Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John and Rose want to welcome you to our wilderness paradise and find some relaxation. We can point you towards whatever it is you are looking to do...or maybe it's a new adventure for your exploration. Sudbury Meteorite Ejecta field very near lodge. No liquor license but BYOB and it is welcome in the lodge. Come sit by our historic fireplace or on our screened porch and relax...We have suites above the lodge and cabins available. We have a "no surprise" pricing policy. Our price plus sales and lodging tax is the price. NO RESORT OR HIDDEN FEES! Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing