We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and quiet”
Review of Cross River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cross River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This vacation was amazing. I am so excited to write a review for this lodge, especially given it was during the heart of winter. I think this will be the first review for this time of year, so I am eager to share our experience. Doug was the lodge-keeper. He was absolutely wonderful. Very accommodating and a great person to sit and chat with. We arrived and he was there to make sure we got in ok. Given the lodge was empty, it was pretty much ours for the next couple of days. His dog Roxy was too cute and full of energy. The suite we stayed in, which was in the lodge was gorgeously decorated. Loved the furniture. Felt rustic and homey. Loved the fireplace and porch overlooking the lake. The bed was comfortable. After a hot shower/bath, my fiancé and I feel sound asleep and woke up to snow fallin each morning. Soon peaceful and quiet. Doug made up breakfast each morning. He makes this incredible egg bake. And it was so yummy and filling, we did not need to eat lunch. He was very accommodating through our stay allowing up to use the phone or help us get out of the slippery steep driveway. We saw a wolf while eating our breakfast. Oh and we decided to walk Gunflint lake for dinner. It took about 20 minutes to walk over on the lake. Then walked it back. It was magical. I could go on and on...but this is an amazing hidden gem. Book it for winter vacation. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Longano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

We just stayed there with my sister and her family over MEA weekend (2012). My sister rented the cabin called Up North and we stayed in the Chippewa Suite in the lodge. This was truly the best cabin experience we have ever had. The owners are fantastic, they have been rennovating the place over the last few years and have done an amazing job. The cabin was beautiful and fully stocked (some cabins we've rented make you bring EVERYTHING including towels from home, not ideal with a family of 6), the breakfast free, hot and yummy, hiking awesome, you can can canoe into the boundary waters from the resort (canoes are free), my husband and son went grouse hunting by just walking into the woods away from the resort, I hear the fishing is great (we didn't try). The lake looks fun to swim in (very rocky, bring water shoes). I cannot rave about the experience enough. We will absolutely be coming here in the summer from now on instead of taking a chance with other places. We have 4 kids and they all unanimously agreed this was the best place we've ever stayed. There was even a makeshift shooting range less than a mile away so you can go and have target practice! You truly cannot go wrong with this one.

Room Tip: The cabin Up North is up a hill away from the lake, so if you want to watch the kids at the lake fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were delighted with our room in the lodge (Cross River Suite) but the best surprise was John and Rose and Doug. They all went above and beyond to provide hospitality in so many ways. We'll definitely be coming back and look forward to chats by fire in the evening!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PastorBillReinhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is one of the best places to stay. The rooms are great but the atmosphere is better. Rose and John; the owners, make you feel like part of the family. Warm and welcoming is how I think of them. Great breakfast is included in the price. You just can't miss with this lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette6611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This lodge is an unbelievable value!! We stayed in the chippewa suite above the lodge and it was very nice . Remodeled and decorated nicely with a kitchen area with everything you may need. You will most likely not be using it for breakfast considering just how wonderful the breakfast that John and Rose put out are. Another business idea for this couple would be catering because their meals were delicious! The hospitality here was incredible also there are kayaks, and canoes free to use which were in great shape. You can rent boats for fishing. There is a trail to hike right down the road. We even caught a weekend when John and Rose had a tailgate party for their college football team and this meant more great food including bbq chicken and ribs with a bunch of sides mmmm. My only disappointment is I didnt see a moose but I may have spent too much time enjoying the lodge to see one. If you are planning a trip next year to the boundry waters you may want to call now I beleive he said July and August are almost completely booked. Take advantage of their low prices compared to others in the area, it is well worth it!!!!

Room Tip: Chippewa was a nice 2 bedroom room with a great view off the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevensadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our cabin was gorgeous and well furnished. The view of the lake was grand. Each room had its own climate control. The kitchen was well stocked. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was more than I had planned.

Room Tip: The Wolf's Den is where we stayed, a little slice of heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

We just stayed here two nights in the Chippewa suite and it was a lovely remodeled room with everything we needed and more. It has a balcony overlooking the lake with a great view. The kitchen had all you needed to cook even though John and Rose feed you enough great food that you probably won't need it.

The hospitality by John, Rose and all the workers was the best we ever had. They not only feed us top notch breakfast, but also made us a great barbeque dinner one night. We were able to use the free kayaks several times and they worked really well. You could not beat the value of this place. We were beyond pleased with our stay and would recommend it to anyone coming to the boundary waters.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kozman888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
31.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
31.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
25.9 mi away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#18 of 32 in Grand Marais
4 reviews
30.5 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross River Lodge

Address: 196 N Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2082 (Formerly Moosehorn Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John and Rose want to welcome you to our wilderness paradise and find some relaxation. We can point you towards whatever it is you are looking to do...or maybe it's a new adventure for your exploration. Sudbury Meteorite Ejecta field very near lodge. No liquor license but BYOB and it is welcome in the lodge. Come sit by our historic fireplace or on our screened porch and relax...We have suites above the lodge and cabins available. We have a "no surprise" pricing policy. Our price plus sales and lodging tax is the price. NO RESORT OR HIDDEN FEES! Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing