We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cross River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Superior Inn(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
US$158
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangy Moose Motel(Grand Marais)(Great Value!)
US$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
150
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgunflint lakemade to order breakfastwolf denfrench toastjohn makesjohn cooksbring bug sprayevery guestincredible breakfastwildlife viewingyear after yearremote locationcomfortable accommodationsfabulous hostsgas stoveboundary watersevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We could not be more pleased or impressed with Cross River. Beautiful location, very nice and newly renovated cabins, and even better hosts. We are well traveled and have never had hosts anywhere that compare to John, Rose, Linda, and Doug. We feel like we made new friends and can't wait to go back. From the great hosts, travel tips, and excellent breakfasts, we were very well taken care of. You certainly can't go wrong with Cross River Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

You've found your Gunflint location. John and Rose are fabulous hosts. Right on the lake and peaceful as you can imagine. They have canoes, kayaks, boats, plenty of wildlife to feed, etc. John fixes breakfast for guests and you simply can't beat it. Beautiful newly remodeled cabins with updated kitchens and baths. Make this place your destination as we had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Once more, we had an amazing stay. The renovations they've made to the lodge are outdone by the hospitality shown to each and every guest that shows up at their doorstep. They have a sign in front of the lodge that says, "Sorry, we're open". Believe me, you will only be sorry if they are closed. Beautiful hosts, beautiful views, great breakfasts and great fishing. What more could you ask for when vacationing. Oh, maybe a peanut butter filled pretzel if you're Jazmine the dog! We already have our reservations made for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midgerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Another week at the CR Lodge with John & Rose. We've died and went to heaven... again!! The memories get better and better with each stay. I can't say enough about the way that John and "Dear Sweet Rose" run their business. Clean accommodations, excellent customer service, all at a great value. From the minute you arrive, to the painful time you have to say goodbye, you know you've made the right choice for a vacation. If you didn't bring it, and John or Rose can't get it, you don't need it. We always meet so many nice people during our stays, and it is really hard to leave. One thing to watch for is a wayward pickle with your breakfast. The chef can be somewhat creative with his culinary skills:-). Contrary to what some might say, there are a few fish in the lake, however fishing is always secondary to the atmosphere and the experience of being a guest at the Cross River Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JazztheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I spent an unforgettable getaway, for the first time ever, on the Gunflint Trail at the Cross River Lodge. We had an incredible visit. The Lodge was clean and beautifully decorated and fairly priced. Our room above the lodge (Chippewa) was well stocked with cooking utensils (we did our own cooking in the kitchenette unit - except for breakfast) and featured a fantastic view of Gunflint Lake. John and Rose are the best hosts - ever!! They were super friendly and gracious! The breakfasts were something special and something we looked forward to every morning. The property is small compared to other resorts/lodges on the Trail but this really allows you the opportunity to get to know some of the other guests at the Lodge on a more personal level. They do no advertising because they don't have to...the recommendation of their guests is the best advertising money can buy!! We will definitely be back because we already booked our reservation for next year!
If you like resorts with water parks, spas, horseback riding, swimming pools and mini golf, this is not the place for you. If you like impromptu sunset pontoon boat rides, a personal guided boat ride and hike to a beautiful waterfall, personal recommendations about the best hikes to take and enjoy, and a place where you are treated like family, then I would HIGHLY recommend the Cross River Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews