We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best”
Review of Cross River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cross River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Back again after a year and am still convinced this is the best place to stay in the north woods. The made to order breakfast was a nice touch this year and I must say the seafood omlet was the best breakfast I'd had in quite a while. John has really mastered the art of breakfast making. What really makes the trip for our family is the friendly faces we see each time up. Such wonderful people run this establishment as well as guests who stay here. I think it is extremely rare to form the kind of friendships we have made at Cross River over the last 2 years considering we are only here for a week at a time. This bond is certainly one of many reasons we will be back again next year and for years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamGauslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

I've been coming to Cross River (formerly Moosehorn) for about 12 years. It has always been a great place right on Gunflint Lake and now it is just fabulous! Since John and Rose took over a few years ago they have made wonderful upgrades to the cabins, suites and to the main lodge. More importantly, they treat you like family and most of the guests coming this season are repeat visitors like me. I stay at Cross River about 3 times a year. I bring my somewhat well behaved dogs (Daisy and Buddy) and John and Rose treat my hounds as family as well. They advertise a continental breakfast but when I was last there they were frying up bacon and making french toast and......This is simply a fabulous place to come to and become a part of the Cross River family. I hesitate to write this review because I want to keep Cross River all for myself but John and Rose are such brilliant hosts and I guess everyone deserves to have their continental breakfast turn into a surprise feast. Also great boat and pontoon rentals, area information, and tame ducks, rabbits and chipmunks. Heaven!

Room Tip: You can't make a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Once again we had a wonderful stay at Cross River Lodge! The fishing was great, the breakfasts were amazing (cooked to order by John), and the hospitality was more than anyone could ask for!
Our newly remodeled cabin-Bear Paw- was beautiful, clean, and oh so comfortable! Our hosts were so accommodating; catering to whatever we may have needed. The celebration on the fourth of July was spectacular-food, drink, entertainment, and fellowship! Who could ask for anything more?! We were treated to some unique sights in nature that just enhanced our stay-a bull moose, a cow moose, and her calf, eagles, loons, otters, foxes, deer, and a multitude of baby ducks! Needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Thanks again, John and Rose!

Room Tip: We have stayed in both Jack Pine and Bear Paw and have had wonderful experiences with both cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We could not be more pleased or impressed with Cross River. Beautiful location, very nice and newly renovated cabins, and even better hosts. We are well traveled and have never had hosts anywhere that compare to John, Rose, Linda, and Doug. We feel like we made new friends and can't wait to go back. From the great hosts, travel tips, and excellent breakfasts, we were very well taken care of. You certainly can't go wrong with Cross River Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

You've found your Gunflint location. John and Rose are fabulous hosts. Right on the lake and peaceful as you can imagine. They have canoes, kayaks, boats, plenty of wildlife to feed, etc. John fixes breakfast for guests and you simply can't beat it. Beautiful newly remodeled cabins with updated kitchens and baths. Make this place your destination as we had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Once more, we had an amazing stay. The renovations they've made to the lodge are outdone by the hospitality shown to each and every guest that shows up at their doorstep. They have a sign in front of the lodge that says, "Sorry, we're open". Believe me, you will only be sorry if they are closed. Beautiful hosts, beautiful views, great breakfasts and great fishing. What more could you ask for when vacationing. Oh, maybe a peanut butter filled pretzel if you're Jazmine the dog! We already have our reservations made for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midgerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Another week at the CR Lodge with John & Rose. We've died and went to heaven... again!! The memories get better and better with each stay. I can't say enough about the way that John and "Dear Sweet Rose" run their business. Clean accommodations, excellent customer service, all at a great value. From the minute you arrive, to the painful time you have to say goodbye, you know you've made the right choice for a vacation. If you didn't bring it, and John or Rose can't get it, you don't need it. We always meet so many nice people during our stays, and it is really hard to leave. One thing to watch for is a wayward pickle with your breakfast. The chef can be somewhat creative with his culinary skills:-). Contrary to what some might say, there are a few fish in the lake, however fishing is always secondary to the atmosphere and the experience of being a guest at the Cross River Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JazztheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
31.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
986 reviews
31.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
25.9 mi away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#17 of 32 in Grand Marais
4 reviews
30.5 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross River Lodge

Address: 196 N Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2082 (Formerly Moosehorn Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John and Rose want to welcome you to our wilderness paradise and find some relaxation. We can point you towards whatever it is you are looking to do...or maybe it's a new adventure for your exploration. Sudbury Meteorite Ejecta field very near lodge. No liquor license but BYOB and it is welcome in the lodge. Come sit by our historic fireplace or on our screened porch and relax...We have suites above the lodge and cabins available. We have a "no surprise" pricing policy. Our price plus sales and lodging tax is the price. NO RESORT OR HIDDEN FEES! Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing