We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn in the Wilderness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Voyageur Canoe Outfitters
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Autumn in the Wilderness”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We enjoyed our two night stay in the Angler unit in the main lodge; the whirlpool tub was welcome after a day of hiking and exploring. We arrived after the peak tourist season so we enjoyed a peaceful respite. Owner Sue Prom and staffer Kristie made us a great pancake breakfast each morning. We canoed for only a short time as the wind was very strong and we aren't skilled in canoeing; but it was fun. We fished from the docks without success but enjoyed the opportunity to try; next trip we'll hire a guide. The aspen and birch were golden and the few maples were blaze red. The '97 Ham Lake fire damage was still evident, yet did not detract from the wild beauty. One rare treat was the daily visit of a fox to the resort; I've never been that close before -- within 15 feet. We'll come back to Voyageur's Outfitters again...a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The Angler is at the farside of the lodge, a bit more secluded. The Paddler is adjacent to the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee9H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
We're so happy you enjoyed your time in Angler at Voyageur. It's so nice to hear positive comments about our place and our services, it's what keeps us going. Glad you enjoyed your pancakes and our fox. We have 4 foxes that have been hanging around the neighborhood since then, I think they are waiting for you to come back., I know we are!

Thanks again,

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I've done many trips to the Boundary Waters (and was a trail guide myself for several years) and Voyageur Canoe Outfitters takes the cake... great outfit, run by great people and all at a reasonable price. We lucked onto them due to prize I had won, but we'll be going back for more in future years! The trip preparation was the most organized and detailed I've ever encountered, with 1st hand knowledge of the best sites (not just "camp on this lake or this lake). Our equipment was in great shape and well packed and organized... a great trip was made even better by an excellent outfitter! Can't wait til next year! --Matthew Feeney

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewFeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
We're so happy to be named a First Rate Outfitter, thank you Matthew! It's because of our First Rate Crew and First Rate Guests that make it so fun to help people with their canoe camping trips into the BWCA. It's easy to be good when you're having fun and enjoy what you do. We really appreciate the positive comments and having guests like you. We can't wait to see you again at Voyageur.

Sincerely,

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was my first trip to the BWCA and I would highly recommend using a reputable outfitter such as Voyageur Canoe outfitters. They provided us with everything we needed from quality gear, ample food/snacks to make our trip memorable and enjoyable. I had a lot of questions prior to our trip and all staff members were great about answering those questions. I couldn't even imagine trying to plan such a trip on my own. Let Voyageur canoe outfitters do the work for you. They definitely know what they are doing! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackoabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We're so happy your first experience into the BWCA was a good one and hope you'll take future trips so you can continue to reap the benefits of time in the wilderness. We're glad we made it easy for you to take your canoe camping trip, that's what we're here for whether it's your first trip or your twentieth trip. We'll do the work for you every time and can't wait for you to return.

Sincerely,

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had been to the BWCA several times before and complete outfitting is the way to go. We stayed in the bunkhouse the night before (our first wildlife was a mouse!) and had a big pancake breakfast before we got our fully loaded packs and canoes. We had great advice on possible campsites and routes. We had no trouble finding our way, finding the most beautiful site EVER and setting up. One of the stoves didn't work but luckily we had a second option since both couples had a complete kitchen set up. It will especially nice when we came back to drop off the muddy mess and walk away without have to clean up from camping. I don't know if I'd be back just because I like other parts of the BWCA better. Saganaga seems really busy with lots of motored boats and traffic and it takes alot of canoeing to get to a more wilderness feel. A 3 day trip just wasn't enough time to get away from the traffic unless you are more ambitious that we were. If you feel more comfortable being close to help and other people, this would be fine. We had 9 campsites within hollering distance but I loved the site we had. (and no, I won't tell you which one it was because it has enough traffic already!)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippinJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share your Boundary Waters experience. We're glad you found a campsite you loved on Saganaga Lake. It is a very large and beautiful island studded lake with lots of campsites. We're glad you tried the area out and hope you'll come paddle with Voyageur again. We have lots of route options on the Gunflint Trail and can outfit to all of them. We apologize for the stove and our host mouse who greeted you. Just one of the extras we provie at Voyageur.

Thanks again,

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Mountain, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Voyageur Canoe Outfitters took such great care of us! We were late arrivals- so we appreciated the welcome sign and directions to our bunk house! They even left the lights on for us! The next morning we got an early start and enjoyed their infamous pancake breakfast. Tessa did a wonderful job going over our route with us. The gear was all in great condition. John was a great help in the morning loading the canoe and very friendly! The trip itself was amazing! If we were to do it again we would do without a lot of the gear and only bring food that does not require cooking! But it was a great first experience in the Boundary Waters and we look forward to many more trips! Victor's welcoming face was great to see at the pick-up site too! He took care of it all!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondWannabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Happiness is hearing positive reviews from our guests of Voyageur Canoe Outfitters. We are so glad you enjoyed your first trip to the Boundary Waters and that we could be a part of it. Our Voyageur Crew is amazing and we thank you for acknowledging them

I'm with you on the no-cooking in the wilderness. When I go out I usually do not bring anything that needs to be cooked. Let's just say I eat lots of gorp, jerky and pb! We'll pack your food however you'd like us too even if it's not on the menu, just let us know how you want it.

We look forward to your return and can't wait to be a part of your 2nd BWCA trip.

Sue Prom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Relaxed, helpful staff and a very detailed web site made our last minute canoe trip so easy and fun. Pancakes and bunkhouse the night before were great. Mike gave us a great tip on a canoe site with a beach. Excellent gear, choose lighter option gear if portaging.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jechevow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
We are happy you felt we took great care of you at Voyageur. We love what we do and our staff does too so that makes it very easy to help people experience the Boundary Waters. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and hope you'll return to Voyageur again. We appreciate your business!

Sincerely,

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The staff were all that we needed and more. From giving us a tip where to get a bite to eat close to the reosrt to giving us air for a slow leak in a tire. They were pleasant and oh so helpfull. Equipment was excellent and food delicious and plentifull. Their packing and listing scheme made everything easy and staight forward. I will recommend them to anyone looking for a top notch wilderness experience. All of this was done with genuine smiles and pleasantness which I think comes from people who are enjoying what they are doing. Thanks again for a great trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjornesbror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
We're so happy it is apparent that we love what we do at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters. We enjoy introducing people to canoe camping in the BWCA. It's such a wonderful experience we want everyone to be able to have. We strive to offer the best there is because vacations don't come around often enough to not have a great one.

Thank you for recommending us to others interested in canoeing the Boundary Waters. We appreciate your business and your friendship. We hope to see you back for some more Minnesota Nice at Voyageur.

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.0 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.0 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Moose Track Adventures
0.0 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#3 of 32 in Grand Marais
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Canoe Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Canoe Outfitters

Property: Voyageur Canoe Outfitters
Address: 189 Sag Lake Trl, Gunflint Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the Gunflint Trail adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and surrounded by the Superior National Forest. Leave your cell phones and worries at home and relax at Voyageur.Comfortable cabins with direct access to the BWCA for canoeing, fishing and camping. Hiking trails & the Chik-Wauk Museum and Nature Center nearby. Moose seen regularly, loons heard frequently and solitude found always. We invite you to Voyageur, Where the Trail Ends Your Voyage Begins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing