We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Voyageur Canoe Outfitters
Reviewed 22 January 2012

They were great in letting us know pre-trip the deadlines for menus, etc. Everything worked well with the vouchers we purchased, and the check-in was easy. They were very accommodating for us using some of our own gear even on a fully outfitted trip. All the gear was great, the food was plenty, and nothing broke. Weather hindered our original canoeing route, but that is nothing they can control. It was an easy check back to the outfitters as well. I wish they would have mentioned we could not paddle back to the outfitters from EP54 and that we HAD to call, but that was partially the maps being misleading as well. Overall an amazing experience. I will definitely use them again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bench06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We love to hear such positive words about our guest's outfitting experience. Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We're happy you had a nice Boundary Waters trip and look forward to your return. Some people paddle back to our place via portaging at the Trail's End Campground while others give us a call to avoid that last portage. We'll definitely keep that in the front of our minds when sending folks that way through the BWCA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

We wanted for NOTHING. Our Scout group of 12 had the best time of our lives and it all started with VCO. Even though we had used another outfitter down the road for the 15 years prior and never had a bad experience with them, we decided just mix it up a little and try someone different. This could have backfired on us but, to our relief, was a fantastic move. The staff, food, equipment, lodging, hospitality, and planning were all top-notch. Thank you again for everything. We'll be seeing you in the future! Boy Scout Troop 175, Blue Springs, MO.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

We're so happy your Boy Scout Troop had such a wonderful outfitting experience with us. We love to outfit Boy Scouts and other groups as it is so satisfying to get kids into the woods. We pride ourselves on providing the best there is in outfitting including our awesome crew. We look forward to having you outfit with us again. Thanks for the kind words, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The folks that work at Voyageur are some of the nicest, most knowledgeable people on their craft. We didn't have much of a plan when we got there, just that we needed 2 canoes, paddles, and a map. We arrived after close and much to our delight there was a nice sign with our Name on it letting us know which bunk house we were going to be sleeping in for the night (Highly recommended and well worth the price). We woke up in the am, went to the lodge and had a big breakfast (the pancakes were great). After we stuffed ourselves we checked in downstairs, picked up some maps. The crew member working at the counter asked us where we were going and with the deer in the headlights look we responded "The BWAC?" After a little discussion on what we wanted to do the crew member suggested a few sites that we would want to see, a few great spots for fishing, and which campsites along the way were the best for what we wanted to do. After getting advice on everything from what kind of lure to use to the best areas to look for berries (they were just getting ripe) & which portage trails were easier, we went down to the dock, loaded the canoes and we were off on our adventure. Shortly after we left we realized why a lot of people take the tow across Sag. If your leaving on a windy day, expect the trip across Sag to take twice as long or get the tow so you can get dropped off at the point. The canoes were great, the paddles were perfect it was the wind that hindered our first day.
After 6 days out in the BWAC we returned to the dock, unloaded our canoes, walked up to the lodge and before we could say Hi we were handed our Car keys and a towel for each of us. We each took a shower (this was one of those great perks of getting a bunk house package, a place a sleep, breakfast before you go out and a hot shower when you get back) got dressed in clean clothes and stepped back in to settle up our bill. I just couldn't leave the shop before picking up a nice ballcap and a t-shirt. We had a great time and I thought the service provided for out group of 6 was excellent. Voyageur made my trip and I'm still constantly reading Sue's blog to keep up on what's going on in the area. She was also great in answering all my e-mail questions before we got up there.
I love Voyageur Outfitters and I'd use them again and would highly recommend them to anyone planning a trip in the BWAC.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

Nothing makes us happier than providing our guests with exceptional service for their Boundary Waters Canoe Camping trip. Our Voyageur Crew is amazing and their love of the wilderness and helping guests enjoy their time here is evident. We are so thankul for the wonderful people who come to Voyageur and especially for those who write great reviews. Thank you so much and we can't wait to see you at Voyageur again.

Sue Prom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We enjoyed our two night stay in the Angler unit in the main lodge; the whirlpool tub was welcome after a day of hiking and exploring. We arrived after the peak tourist season so we enjoyed a peaceful respite. Owner Sue Prom and staffer Kristie made us a great pancake breakfast each morning. We canoed for only a short time as the wind was very strong and we aren't skilled in canoeing; but it was fun. We fished from the docks without success but enjoyed the opportunity to try; next trip we'll hire a guide. The aspen and birch were golden and the few maples were blaze red. The '97 Ham Lake fire damage was still evident, yet did not detract from the wild beauty. One rare treat was the daily visit of a fox to the resort; I've never been that close before -- within 15 feet. We'll come back to Voyageur's Outfitters again...a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The Angler is at the farside of the lodge, a bit more secluded. The Paddler is adjacent to the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee9H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

We're so happy you enjoyed your time in Angler at Voyageur. It's so nice to hear positive comments about our place and our services, it's what keeps us going. Glad you enjoyed your pancakes and our fox. We have 4 foxes that have been hanging around the neighborhood since then, I think they are waiting for you to come back., I know we are!

Thanks again,

Sue Prom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I've done many trips to the Boundary Waters (and was a trail guide myself for several years) and Voyageur Canoe Outfitters takes the cake... great outfit, run by great people and all at a reasonable price. We lucked onto them due to prize I had won, but we'll be going back for more in future years! The trip preparation was the most organized and detailed I've ever encountered, with 1st hand knowledge of the best sites (not just "camp on this lake or this lake). Our equipment was in great shape and well packed and organized... a great trip was made even better by an excellent outfitter! Can't wait til next year! --Matthew Feeney

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatthewFeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

We're so happy to be named a First Rate Outfitter, thank you Matthew! It's because of our First Rate Crew and First Rate Guests that make it so fun to help people with their canoe camping trips into the BWCA. It's easy to be good when you're having fun and enjoy what you do. We really appreciate the positive comments and having guests like you. We can't wait to see you again at Voyageur.

Sincerely,

Sue Prom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was my first trip to the BWCA and I would highly recommend using a reputable outfitter such as Voyageur Canoe outfitters. They provided us with everything we needed from quality gear, ample food/snacks to make our trip memorable and enjoyable. I had a lot of questions prior to our trip and all staff members were great about answering those questions. I couldn't even imagine trying to plan such a trip on my own. Let Voyageur canoe outfitters do the work for you. They definitely know what they are doing! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackoabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

Thank you, thank you, thank you. We're so happy your first experience into the BWCA was a good one and hope you'll take future trips so you can continue to reap the benefits of time in the wilderness. We're glad we made it easy for you to take your canoe camping trip, that's what we're here for whether it's your first trip or your twentieth trip. We'll do the work for you every time and can't wait for you to return.

Sincerely,

Sue Prom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had been to the BWCA several times before and complete outfitting is the way to go. We stayed in the bunkhouse the night before (our first wildlife was a mouse!) and had a big pancake breakfast before we got our fully loaded packs and canoes. We had great advice on possible campsites and routes. We had no trouble finding our way, finding the most beautiful site EVER and setting up. One of the stoves didn't work but luckily we had a second option since both couples had a complete kitchen set up. It will especially nice when we came back to drop off the muddy mess and walk away without have to clean up from camping. I don't know if I'd be back just because I like other parts of the BWCA better. Saganaga seems really busy with lots of motored boats and traffic and it takes alot of canoeing to get to a more wilderness feel. A 3 day trip just wasn't enough time to get away from the traffic unless you are more ambitious that we were. If you feel more comfortable being close to help and other people, this would be fine. We had 9 campsites within hollering distance but I loved the site we had. (and no, I won't tell you which one it was because it has enough traffic already!)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippinJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

Thanks for taking the time to share your Boundary Waters experience. We're glad you found a campsite you loved on Saganaga Lake. It is a very large and beautiful island studded lake with lots of campsites. We're glad you tried the area out and hope you'll come paddle with Voyageur again. We have lots of route options on the Gunflint Trail and can outfit to all of them. We apologize for the stove and our host mouse who greeted you. Just one of the extras we provie at Voyageur.

Thanks again,

Sue Prom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
39 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
38.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
70 reviews
39 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
159 reviews
39 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
116 reviews
8.8 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#3 of 32 in Grand Marais
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Canoe Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Canoe Outfitters

Address: 189 Sag Lake Trl, Gunflint Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: £36 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the Gunflint Trail adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and surrounded by the Superior National Forest. Leave your cell phones and worries at home and relax at Voyageur.Comfortable cabins with direct access to the BWCA for canoeing, fishing and camping. Hiking trails & the Chik-Wauk Museum and Nature Center nearby. Moose seen regularly, loons heard frequently and solitude found always. We invite you to Voyageur, Where the Trail Ends Your Voyage Begins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing