We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a must-stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Voyageur Canoe Outfitters
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a must-stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

From the second we were on Gunflint Trail I knew I would love this place. And they didn't let me down. There wasn't a single person on the staff that wasn't friendly and helpful the entire time we were there. We stayed in Riverside cabin, and I honestly do not have any complaints. There are 2 canoes that you can take out when it's convenient for you, there's a personal dock, a campfire space and picnic table close to the river. The cabin itself was extremely clean and neat. I loved writing my experience (and reading others) in the journal left on the coffee table. If we needed anything, all we had to do was ask. I can't stress enough how great this place is. I hope I can return every year for this experience! And I would like to do a canoe trip also, since I've heard nothing but good things about those trips!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in our Riverside Cabin at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters. It is a great cabin and other guests seem to enjoy the private deck, dock and campfire area too. We hope you will make it an annual vacation and try a canoe trip into the wilderness too. We'd love to see you back at Voyageur.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate it very much.

Sue Prom
Voyageur Canoe Outfitters- Where the Trail Ends and Your Voyage Begins...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I just went on a trip with my husband and son (age 6). Both of them had never been to the BWCA and we went with voyageur's canoe outfitters. The meals were packed nicely. The gear was just right. We used all of their gear that was packed for us(we used two of our own sleeping bags because they were extremely lightweight and we don't get to use them as much as we'd like.) We brought our hammock which was awesome to sit in and look at the water and wildlife with besides just a nap. My only suggestion would to make sure you have a map carrying case. My husband bought one at the outfitters and it worked great. You can rent exactly what you need.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaynamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We're so happy to have been a part of your canoe trip. Thanks so much for using Voyageur Canoe Outfitters and for writing such a wonderful review for us. We're glad you had a good trip and hope you'll all be back again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Voyager has been our Outfitter for partial outfitting since the early 1990s. I took an 9 year break in the middle (no not to another outfitterl just a break) and when we came back they were the same helpfull, friendly and top notch outfitter as always. You won't go wrong using Voyuager Canoe Outfitters. Mike, Sue and the gang are the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1NM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We are happy you have returned to Voyageur and the canoe country wilderness. We're thrilled you are still pleased with our services. Some people can get burned out of outfitting but I believe our love of the wilderness and passion about paddling keeps us energized. Our seasonal crew does an awesome job with our guests too. Thanks for the review and can't wait for your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

They were great in letting us know pre-trip the deadlines for menus, etc. Everything worked well with the vouchers we purchased, and the check-in was easy. They were very accommodating for us using some of our own gear even on a fully outfitted trip. All the gear was great, the food was plenty, and nothing broke. Weather hindered our original canoeing route, but that is nothing they can control. It was an easy check back to the outfitters as well. I wish they would have mentioned we could not paddle back to the outfitters from EP54 and that we HAD to call, but that was partially the maps being misleading as well. Overall an amazing experience. I will definitely use them again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bench06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We love to hear such positive words about our guest's outfitting experience. Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We're happy you had a nice Boundary Waters trip and look forward to your return. Some people paddle back to our place via portaging at the Trail's End Campground while others give us a call to avoid that last portage. We'll definitely keep that in the front of our minds when sending folks that way through the BWCA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We wanted for NOTHING. Our Scout group of 12 had the best time of our lives and it all started with VCO. Even though we had used another outfitter down the road for the 15 years prior and never had a bad experience with them, we decided just mix it up a little and try someone different. This could have backfired on us but, to our relief, was a fantastic move. The staff, food, equipment, lodging, hospitality, and planning were all top-notch. Thank you again for everything. We'll be seeing you in the future! Boy Scout Troop 175, Blue Springs, MO.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We're so happy your Boy Scout Troop had such a wonderful outfitting experience with us. We love to outfit Boy Scouts and other groups as it is so satisfying to get kids into the woods. We pride ourselves on providing the best there is in outfitting including our awesome crew. We look forward to having you outfit with us again. Thanks for the kind words, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

The folks that work at Voyageur are some of the nicest, most knowledgeable people on their craft. We didn't have much of a plan when we got there, just that we needed 2 canoes, paddles, and a map. We arrived after close and much to our delight there was a nice sign with our Name on it letting us know which bunk house we were going to be sleeping in for the night (Highly recommended and well worth the price). We woke up in the am, went to the lodge and had a big breakfast (the pancakes were great). After we stuffed ourselves we checked in downstairs, picked up some maps. The crew member working at the counter asked us where we were going and with the deer in the headlights look we responded "The BWAC?" After a little discussion on what we wanted to do the crew member suggested a few sites that we would want to see, a few great spots for fishing, and which campsites along the way were the best for what we wanted to do. After getting advice on everything from what kind of lure to use to the best areas to look for berries (they were just getting ripe) & which portage trails were easier, we went down to the dock, loaded the canoes and we were off on our adventure. Shortly after we left we realized why a lot of people take the tow across Sag. If your leaving on a windy day, expect the trip across Sag to take twice as long or get the tow so you can get dropped off at the point. The canoes were great, the paddles were perfect it was the wind that hindered our first day.
After 6 days out in the BWAC we returned to the dock, unloaded our canoes, walked up to the lodge and before we could say Hi we were handed our Car keys and a towel for each of us. We each took a shower (this was one of those great perks of getting a bunk house package, a place a sleep, breakfast before you go out and a hot shower when you get back) got dressed in clean clothes and stepped back in to settle up our bill. I just couldn't leave the shop before picking up a nice ballcap and a t-shirt. We had a great time and I thought the service provided for out group of 6 was excellent. Voyageur made my trip and I'm still constantly reading Sue's blog to keep up on what's going on in the area. She was also great in answering all my e-mail questions before we got up there.
I love Voyageur Outfitters and I'd use them again and would highly recommend them to anyone planning a trip in the BWAC.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
Nothing makes us happier than providing our guests with exceptional service for their Boundary Waters Canoe Camping trip. Our Voyageur Crew is amazing and their love of the wilderness and helping guests enjoy their time here is evident. We are so thankul for the wonderful people who come to Voyageur and especially for those who write great reviews. Thank you so much and we can't wait to see you at Voyageur again.

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We enjoyed our two night stay in the Angler unit in the main lodge; the whirlpool tub was welcome after a day of hiking and exploring. We arrived after the peak tourist season so we enjoyed a peaceful respite. Owner Sue Prom and staffer Kristie made us a great pancake breakfast each morning. We canoed for only a short time as the wind was very strong and we aren't skilled in canoeing; but it was fun. We fished from the docks without success but enjoyed the opportunity to try; next trip we'll hire a guide. The aspen and birch were golden and the few maples were blaze red. The '97 Ham Lake fire damage was still evident, yet did not detract from the wild beauty. One rare treat was the daily visit of a fox to the resort; I've never been that close before -- within 15 feet. We'll come back to Voyageur's Outfitters again...a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The Angler is at the farside of the lodge, a bit more secluded. The Paddler is adjacent to the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee9H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddling_hiking_Gal, Owner at Voyageur Canoe Outfitters, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
We're so happy you enjoyed your time in Angler at Voyageur. It's so nice to hear positive comments about our place and our services, it's what keeps us going. Glad you enjoyed your pancakes and our fox. We have 4 foxes that have been hanging around the neighborhood since then, I think they are waiting for you to come back., I know we are!

Thanks again,

Sue Prom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
31.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.4 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
31.1 mi away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
31.2 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
31.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyageur Canoe Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyageur Canoe Outfitters

Property: Voyageur Canoe Outfitters
Address: 189 Sag Lake Trl, Gunflint Trail, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the Gunflint Trail adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness and surrounded by the Superior National Forest. Leave your cell phones and worries at home and relax at Voyageur.Comfortable cabins with direct access to the BWCA for canoeing, fishing and camping. Hiking trails & the Chik-Wauk Museum and Nature Center nearby. Moose seen regularly, loons heard frequently and solitude found always. We invite you to Voyageur, Where the Trail Ends Your Voyage Begins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing