We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Good”

Justine's at the Gunflint Lodge
Ranked #18 of 34 Restaurants in Grand Marais
Cuisines: American
Description: this restaurant is located within the Gunflint Lodge which is located along the Gunflint Trail near Grand Marais, MN
Restaurant details
Description: this restaurant is located within the Gunflint Lodge which is located along the Gunflint Trail near Grand Marais, MN
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fairly Good”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Gunflint Lodge has two resturants within one buildling. The Bistro has awesome food and much more than just bar food. I actually thought that was just as good as the food at Justine's. Justine's is a little more upscale. The service was excellent - Chris was our server and we waited for nothing - he was awesome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ckj57105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Always go here”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My wife and I usually try and eat here once when we are in Cook County every year. Don't have to be a guest to eat here.

Food is excellent and typically priced the same as other Trail establishments. I usually have The Don which is a very large corned beef sandwich. Others I have dined with state their food is excellent as well.

Dining room overlooks Gunflint Lake and Canada a mile distant.

Server was not very cheerful but I can understand having to deal with the demanding one-percenters that stay in the cabins can wear on you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cakehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MN
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great view, but the meal did not match it”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were on the Gunflint for a few days and wanted to see this lodge. It was nice and the restaurant was, too, and has a great view of the lake; white table cloths, too. Had the parmesan crusted walleye and would give it an okay; vegetables with it were nice and crisp, so give them a higher mark. I had the soup, a walleye chowder if I recall correctly, and it was okay, too. So, big hopes for the walleye while on the lake, but did not meet my hopes. Still a nice evening, staff was attentive and knowledgeable but a bit too formal for the location. Meal was $17, which I thought reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horton
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have eaten here before and enjoyed our meal very much. A classic northwoods lodge setting, but a high end dining experience, and we appreciated the knowledgeable staff concerning our daughter's need for a serious gluten-free dinner.

Beautiful presentation of the food, delicious meal, lovely wine, gorgeous setting on Gunflint Lake. Enjoyed our evening greatly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iron River, Michigan
2 reviews
“What a GREAT get away.”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had such a great time. We went with another couple. We drove from the U.P. of Michigan the drive was beautiful. Cabins were very clean and neat. We kayaked,fished,took boat rides,hiked to beautiful waterfalls. Rode horses. Food was fantastic. The staff was so nice,polite and friendly,answered any questions you had. The sunsets were beautiful. I even fed the ducks and there were 20 at one time. There was always something to do and kept you busy. I would highly suggest Gunflint Logde to anyone who just want to get away from it all. Thanks Bruce and Sue. We will be back! ;-)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Justine's at the Gunflint Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Justine's at the Gunflint Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing