We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clearwater Historic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richfileld, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite place”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is our families "cabin in the woods" which we have visited for 23 years. The place is ideal for your first or 23rd visit to the BWCA. The new owners have kept the history and traditions of the lodge, and have put in lots of hard work and money into the up kept of the boats, cabins and lodge. They are knowledgeable, helpful and all about serving their guests. We loved every minute of our week!

Room Tip: Every room and cabin has a beautiful view, privacy and excellent amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieGRichfileld_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
154
99
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I have been using Clearwater as my base for years in the Boundary Waters. Great historic location and great service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The owners are friendly and outgoing; obviously they like people and take pride in the historic, charming resort. The breakfast was delicious and satisfying, leaving us with a feeling of well-being as we headed into the BWCA.

Room Tip: The bunkhouse provided a comfortable, inexpensive shelter for six of us staying one night..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed overnite in one of the lodge's cozy bunkhouses, on our way into the Boundary Waters. The owners and staff were so accommodating and friendly. Our huge breakfast of homemade buttermilk pancakes, plus fruit, scones and sausage was delicious. We recommend you try Clearwater Lodge, with its beautiful historic lodge and lovely site. The new owners have worked hard to improve the property.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

If you want a true historical and rewarding get away, check out Clearwater Lodge. It is suitable for couples, groups and families too! The lodge itself is a historical site set on the pristine waters of Clearwater lake. The area provides some of the most peaceful and beautiful scenery seen anywhere. The accomodations range from bunkhouses to wonderful rooms in the lodge to fully outfitted single cabins. The grounds are secluded at the head of the lake with options for swimming, paddling or just lazing around. We went out for a week long canoe trip outfitted by the superb staff and enjoyed a warm shower, great meal and soft bed upon the return. A highly recommended place to enjoy getting away from it all!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My family and I have been traveling to Grand Marais for the last 6 years, staying at different lodges and private rentals every year looking for the right combination of remoteness, comfort and family friendly amenities. We have finally found that place in Clearwater Lodge. The location half way up the trail is ideal for trips to town, yet you are isolated in nature being set back 5 miles from the Gunflint Trail. Cabin 3 is literally on the water with a great dock, updated bath, kitchen and classic log cabin architecture. The lake itself is a beautiful and a great size for boating and paddling. The new owners are very helpful and resourceful. For the first time since we have been "trekking north" we will be staying at the same place two years in a row. If you like quality accommodations, privacy and spectacular scenery this is the location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CQuinn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were 2 teens and 2 adults. The staff was great with referrals and advice. Good accommodations and great access to the boundary waters. We had both trail and canoe adventures available and the outfitters part of the lodge was extremely helpful. A good place to start for nubies or families or a place to challenge for those looking for a way to grow. Very recommended. Especially since this is a new owner. Give 'em a try, you'll be happy with the result.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamalegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
22.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
102 reviews
22.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
146 reviews
22.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
58 reviews
22.3 mi away
Cobblestone Cove Villas
Cobblestone Cove Villas
#12 of 31 in Grand Marais
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Historic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Historic Lodge

Property: Clearwater Historic Lodge
Address: 774 Clearwater Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters is oldest resort and outfitter on the Gunflint Trail. The main lodge is listed on the National Historic Registry and has 5 bed and breakfast rooms. The resort also offers 8 lakeside cabins, all with kitchens, bathrooms and private docks. The 5 bunkhouse accommodations for those entering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area provide a great option for the night before a canoe trip. Motorboat, canoe, kayak and paddle board rentals available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing