We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hikers like Clearwater Lodge, too!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clearwater Historic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A group of us went up to hike the Border Route hiking trail in the BWCAW in May, and despite the lingering ice on the lake we were ferried by boat to our starting point. The end of the trip came more quickly than planned due to bad weather, and the good folks at Clearwater Lodge got us right back into one of the bunkhouses for a hot shower and a dry night's sleep. Great hospitality, and you can't beat the breakfasts!

Room Tip: Some of the bunkhouse rooms have their own bathroom, some don't--ask ahead if it matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radioranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We arrived at Clearwater Lodge on 5/18 to find a good deal of ice still on the lake. It rained and the wind blew for several days. And, we had a splendid time! We hiked (sometimes in almost knee deep water because of the wet weather), fished, canoed (when the weather cleared) and visited nearby Grand Marais. The cabin was very comfortable, and the view couldn't be beat! We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnusonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The revival of this historic gem, by the current owners and staff, is to be commended. They have truly embraced their roll as stewards of this beautiful lodge and surrounding land. This is truly a one of a kind experience. The lodge is nearly 90 years old and their outfitting business began in 1915. If you really want to experience the Gunflint Trail, Clearwater Lodge should be your choice. Whether you stay in the lodge or one of their amazing cabin, or allow them to assist you with your canoeing adventure, your Clearwater experience will be unmatched and unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnTraveler3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Traveled to this lodge during the past summer with my daughter and her husband. We stayed in Cabin 3. The lake was beautiful, I had never been to Minnesota and was amazed at the beauty. We didn't even fish, but we loved being on the lake. I enjoyed spending time in the lodge and hearing some of the old stories, reminded me a bit of back when I was younger. I was a bit disappointed by one thing, I expected to see more wildlife. We only saw 3 bears, some deer and a couple of foxes. I was expecting to see a moose. I asked the owner, and he said moose sightings are becoming rarer. I really enjoyed getting up in the morning and listening to birds and a duck like bird that I was told was called a loon. We did a short hike in the area, a place called honeymoon hill. I have a bad leg and still managed to get up the steps to the top, real pretty view from on top. We took a day and drove around, we were looking for moose and went to a museum that was at the end of the road. The museum was really nice and interesting. We also spent a day and went into Grand Marais and went shopping. I even found a nice quilt store, I bought some fabric and made a small quilt to remember my trip. I live pretty far away and am in my late 80s, so I will probably never get back, but will always remember this lake and the lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephineC940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My family (all 21 of us) really enjoyed our Boundary Water experience at Clearwater Lodge. 9 did the whole experience by canoeing in, but the rest stayed in the cabins. Very nice cabins. Rustic feel, but updated. Supplied with all living items needed to cook with, clean soft towel to shower with. We did this trip in July. We fished, canoed, had camp fire, ate great pastries. I learned how to use leeches to fish with thanks to our outfitters friendly repetitive advise. A very memorable trip and if I didn't live in Arizona this would be an annual vacation spot. Only gave 4 stars on sleep quality because we had cramped space with my huge family. Otherwise it would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4QueeensandaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Long overdue: Our group of three men took Room A from July 2 - July 5. This was our first visit the boundary waters area.

We saw a Moose. We ate pie. We ate one of those big flat fish that are popular up there — and look on a plate like a flayed tennis racket. We paddled about in chilly water. We motor boated to the end of Clearwater Lake. We [tried] to read some tattered paper backs. We climbed a bluff. We played the Game of Life. We met a large group who'd been coming to this lodge for three generations — and approved of the "present management."

The truth is, Casey and Adam know what they are doing and they know how to treat guests.
Now, Adam, I could have done without kiddy time on the porch in the later afternoons having put up with their rambunctiousness all morning long, but, hey, this is a family place and all are welcome. But point me to a hammock by the lake next time that allows me escape.

On a Diversity Note, "we" were a long married gay couple and a very light in the heels traveling companion whose outer limits of "roughing it" were that porch, the mosquitos and no Central AC. Still, we all loved it. We felt comfortable and welcome at all times.

The Secret Weapon of Clearwater Lodge? What distinguishes this place from the other Stuffed Moose Head infested lodges of the Gunflint Trail. Her name is Gloria. This long time local gal can cook mean mixed berry pie and slap down some delicious eggs and french toast.

Oh — and did I say we saw a moose? We saw a moose. Adam says siting them is rare nowadays. But we got a hazy photo. She/he looked like a nine foot tall alien. Or Susquatch. On four very, very long legs. Score one for the gay boys. Go team!

Room Tip: Don't give up. This place is at the end of a long well packed unpaved road. During hot months in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PorterWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamVT, Owner at Clearwater Historic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thanks Todd for your review. It was a pleasure visiting with you and your companions at the lodge. And I will make sure to pass on your compliments to Gloria, she loves hearing that people love her food. Thanks again for taking the time to write us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Our family spent the first week of September in cabin 8, beautiful location and very comfortable accommodations. The cabin has recent modifications to the bathroom, has many new appliances, is well supplied with dishes, utensils, etc, is very nicely furnished, and is wonderfully private. The service is very good as well. We ate breakfast at the lodge one morning, awesome pancakes. The boats and canoes are quite new and all the equipment is in very good condition. Terrific advice from the resident outfitter for day trips or extended outages. The lodge offers many items of historic interest, is a great place to get a meal or some homemade bread or pie, or to simply sit out on the covered porch and read a good book. It was a fantastic week of outdoor activities and R&R with the family. The location offers very convenient access for a pristine wilderness experience.

Room Tip: We got to check out all the cabins and they are all great. Cabin 7 is the most modern and largest bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamVT, Owner at Clearwater Historic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to spend a week with us at Clearwater Lodge. It is a pleasure knowing that you and your family enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you again sometime in the Northwoods!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
978 reviews
22.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
282 reviews
22.0 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
Gunflint Lodge & Outfitters
#5 of 32 in Grand Marais
261 reviews
24.2 mi away
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
Thomsonite Beach Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Grand Marais
99 reviews
16.8 mi away
Skyport Lodge
Skyport Lodge
#18 of 32 in Grand Marais
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Historic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Historic Lodge

Address: 774 Clearwater Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3031
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: £61 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters is oldest resort and outfitter on the Gunflint Trail. The main lodge is listed on the National Historic Registry and has 5 bed and breakfast rooms. The resort also offers 8 lakeside cabins, all with kitchens, bathrooms and private docks. The 5 bunkhouse accommodations for those entering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area provide a great option for the night before a canoe trip. Motorboat, canoe, kayak and paddle board rentals available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing