We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BWCA Clearwater Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Historic Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clearwater Historic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fox Point, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BWCA Clearwater Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Since 1967 I've returned to the same lake down the road from Clearwater Lodge for an annual fishing trip. This year, as a family trip we decided to rent a cabin on Clearwater. I've been stopping at the lodge for years to grab a soda, get some bait, etc. But save for a paddle through during portage trips, I hadn't spent much time on the lake. We were thoroughly impressed with the experience. From the historic-yet-updated cabins, to the service and atmosphere, we couldn't have had a better time. As an example, one morning while trolling I experienced engine problems with the outboard on the boat we had rented. I was able to limp back to shore under 1/2 power. Upon informing the lodge, within 20 minutes one of the staff was over to retrieve our boat, and provide us with a replacement. Attention to detail and customer service is obviously ingrained in the culture at Clearwater Lodge. My family highly recommends it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmerk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
154
99
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Awesome trip to the BWCA. We entered through Clearwater Lake and rented canoes from Clearwater Lodge. Stayed on Pine Lake and Caribou Lake in early June. We didn't see a single other person for 2 days. Spent my 30th birthday on Pine Lake and saw my first Moose!Staff was great, beautiful area, thanks for all your help!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

A group of us went up to hike the Border Route hiking trail in the BWCAW in May, and despite the lingering ice on the lake we were ferried by boat to our starting point. The end of the trip came more quickly than planned due to bad weather, and the good folks at Clearwater Lodge got us right back into one of the bunkhouses for a hot shower and a dry night's sleep. Great hospitality, and you can't beat the breakfasts!

Room Tip: Some of the bunkhouse rooms have their own bathroom, some don't--ask ahead if it matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radioranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We arrived at Clearwater Lodge on 5/18 to find a good deal of ice still on the lake. It rained and the wind blew for several days. And, we had a splendid time! We hiked (sometimes in almost knee deep water because of the wet weather), fished, canoed (when the weather cleared) and visited nearby Grand Marais. The cabin was very comfortable, and the view couldn't be beat! We would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magnusonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
274 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The revival of this historic gem, by the current owners and staff, is to be commended. They have truly embraced their roll as stewards of this beautiful lodge and surrounding land. This is truly a one of a kind experience. The lodge is nearly 90 years old and their outfitting business began in 1915. If you really want to experience the Gunflint Trail, Clearwater Lodge should be your choice. Whether you stay in the lodge or one of their amazing cabin, or allow them to assist you with your canoeing adventure, your Clearwater experience will be unmatched and unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnTraveler3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Traveled to this lodge during the past summer with my daughter and her husband. We stayed in Cabin 3. The lake was beautiful, I had never been to Minnesota and was amazed at the beauty. We didn't even fish, but we loved being on the lake. I enjoyed spending time in the lodge and hearing some of the old stories, reminded me a bit of back when I was younger. I was a bit disappointed by one thing, I expected to see more wildlife. We only saw 3 bears, some deer and a couple of foxes. I was expecting to see a moose. I asked the owner, and he said moose sightings are becoming rarer. I really enjoyed getting up in the morning and listening to birds and a duck like bird that I was told was called a loon. We did a short hike in the area, a place called honeymoon hill. I have a bad leg and still managed to get up the steps to the top, real pretty view from on top. We took a day and drove around, we were looking for moose and went to a museum that was at the end of the road. The museum was really nice and interesting. We also spent a day and went into Grand Marais and went shopping. I even found a nice quilt store, I bought some fabric and made a small quilt to remember my trip. I live pretty far away and am in my late 80s, so I will probably never get back, but will always remember this lake and the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephineC940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolleson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My family (all 21 of us) really enjoyed our Boundary Water experience at Clearwater Lodge. 9 did the whole experience by canoeing in, but the rest stayed in the cabins. Very nice cabins. Rustic feel, but updated. Supplied with all living items needed to cook with, clean soft towel to shower with. We did this trip in July. We fished, canoed, had camp fire, ate great pastries. I learned how to use leeches to fish with thanks to our outfitters friendly repetitive advise. A very memorable trip and if I didn't live in Arizona this would be an annual vacation spot. Only gave 4 stars on sleep quality because we had cramped space with my huge family. Otherwise it would have been 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4QueeensandaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Marais hotels
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
22.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
22.3 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.1 mi away
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 31 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
22.2 mi away
Aspen Inn
Aspen Inn
#7 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Historic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Historic Lodge

Property: Clearwater Historic Lodge
Address: 774 Clearwater Rd, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Historic Lodge and Canoe Outfitters is oldest resort and outfitter on the Gunflint Trail. The main lodge is listed on the National Historic Registry and has 5 bed and breakfast rooms. The resort also offers 8 lakeside cabins, all with kitchens, bathrooms and private docks. The 5 bunkhouse accommodations for those entering the Boundary Waters Canoe Area provide a great option for the night before a canoe trip. Motorboat, canoe, kayak and paddle board rentals available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing